News & Blog

"Successfully entering the digital transformation with a PIM system "

Excerpt: A Product Information Management System (PIM) makes the digitization of product data much easier and frees up space for other projects. A daring thesis? Yes! We know how it really works and explain in this article how the transformation succeeds. Digital transformation means, especially for manufacturing companies, the right handling of product information. With a PIM system, workflows are simplified and information is available centrally.

PIM creates an overview in the data jungle

A key factor in the jungle of digital transformation is the handling of product information. 

Product data is master data that is often scattered throughout the company. Managing this data can be a challenge and, in the worst case, lead to data loss, because different systems are often in use and the data needs to be bundled in one place. Then, if consolidation doesn’t work properly, some information is gone. A real problem, especially when different data formats, from suppliers, have to be bundled. A process that can cost a lot of money, time and nerves. 

So there are some hurdles to overcome. Excel spreadsheets are only of limited help, the error rate is high and employees are frustrated because the workload is enormous and the result rather sobering. Who enjoys doing redundant tasks?

So a suitable solution is needed: A PIM system brings order to chaos and transfers all data to a central storage location, in a neutral and system-independent format. The best data quality (golden record) is the goal.

a "PIM is only as powerful as its connections to the ecosystem, and the same is true of PIM vendors." "

Source: Forrester

Placing customer information correctly

Customers want added value instead of features, as we have already reported in this article. So the challenge is to create a product data management system that takes the customer’s wishes into account. This brings us to the main task of a PIM system: All information must be made available centrally and accessible to all parties involved, so that the various sales channels can be served from here. Of course, the data must be up-to-date and synchronized in all places, especially if product details are updated frequently. 

 

So free your data from existing possible silos like:

 

  • ERP system
  • Media server
  • Content management system
  • Agencies
  • Manufacturer
  • External sources

 

Sounds difficult? It is, because customers expect the information relevant to them at every desired touchpoint. 

So how is it possible to prepare the data in a way that is appropriate for the channel and then make it available without losses and along the customer journey?

Exactly: a PIM system makes it child’s play.

Here are just a few reasons why, and in this post we’ll explain how you can master the complex product data cycles with a PIM.

Single point of truth as data source

All data from external or internal sources flow together in one place in the PIM and can then be processed. This is called a “single point of truth,” which means that a PIM serves as a trusted data source.

The preparation of the information for the output channels takes place in the system. In addition, there are, for example, modules for translations, interfaces to marketplaces or the web store, and much more. 

 

And these are possible output channels:

  • Online store
  • Platforms such as Amazon or eBay
  • Mobile apps
  • Print catalogs or data sheets
  • Point of sale

 

As you can see, there are a lot of input and output options. The challenge is to provide the data in a timely and omnichannel manner. The next step is to engage customers with detailed and informative product descriptions. That’s why we’ve put together some tips to help find the right words.

If the product data is now at its best (“golden record”), it’s a breeze to transform it and deliver it to all touchpoints.

ERP vs. PIM

If an ERP system is already in use, a PIM system is the optimal complement to it. The reason is quite simple: the communication to the end customer is completely different than to the data management of an ERP.

In this article, we explain the differences between the systems

"Completely different requirements are placed on an end customer communication than on the data management of a merchandise management system, because article numbers, internal abbreviations or logistics information are more important there."

Source: blog.salesmachine.biz

Conclusion:

If you are just starting to think about the introduction of a PIM, you are well advised to consider the current workflows and establish a growth model. Digitizing product information facilitates an overview and creates structure. Companies no longer have to worry about updates and hosting. We take care of that. 

 

We will be happy to show, based on your specific case and independent of the industry, how prodexa Cloud can also be used in your company. Contact us for a non-binding and free appointment. The first step towards digitalization is done.

More articles:

Process optimization between suppliers and retailers using PIM

Manually collecting product data from numerous suppliers and manufacturers can result in very time-consuming and error-prone processes for retailers. We show how retailers can use intelligent supplier onboarding to transfer product data quickly and securely, thereby ensuring scalable workflows.

The leading marketplaces and how to sell successfully on them

Due to their enormous reach, online marketplaces are increasingly being taken into account in B2B and
B2C when designing their own e-commerce strategy. We show which online marketplaces are leading in
Germany and give you tips on how to market your products successfully on them.

How Digital Asset Management can revolutionize your video marketing

More and more companies are turning to video marketing as part of their digital marketing strategy. With good reason, as it turns out. But how can the increasing demands on multimedia content be mastered successfully? And how can the increasing amounts of data be managed efficiently?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

What is the return of experience?

In addition to ROI (Return of Investment), ROX (Return of Experience) is a metric that should play a big role in e-commerce. Customer experience determines up-selling or cross-selling and also post-purchase reviews. The direct link between customer perception, customer experience and actual behavioral changes is quantified by ROX. The engagement of the employees in the service departments of the companies is also included in the consideration of the ROX. A PIM helps deliver the best quality data across all touchpoints.

Experience the benefits live

Find out more about prodexa Cloud for your industry in a non-binding and individual product tour.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Automotive & Vehicles” – download now for free (German version).

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM with marketplace features” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud – “PIM for technical wholesale” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Tools & DIY” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Mechanical Engineering & Technology” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Construction Materials, Sanitary & HVAC” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Commerce & B2B” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Electronics & Cables” – download now for free (German version).

News & Blog

"Mit einem PIM-System erfolgreich in die digitale Transformation "

Einführung: Ein Product Information Management System (PIM) erleichtert die Digitalisierung von Produktdaten enorm und schafft Platz für andere Projekte. Eine gewagte These? Ja! Wir wissen, wie es wirklich geht und erklären in diesem Beitrag wie die Transformation gelingt. Digitaler Wandel bedeutet, insbesondere für herstellende Unternehmen, den richtige Umgang mit Produktinformationen. Mit einem PIM-System werden Arbeitsabläufe vereinfacht und Informationen stehen zentral zur Verfügung.

PIM schafft Übersicht im Datendschungel

Ein Schlüsselfaktor im Dschungel des digitalen Wandels ist der Umgang mit Produktinformationen. 

Produktdaten sind Stammdaten, die oft im Unternehmen verstreut liegen. Die Verwaltung dieser Daten kann zu einer Herausforderung und schlimmstenfalls zum Datenverlust führen, denn oft sind unterschiedliche Systeme im Einsatz und die Daten müssen an einer Stelle gebündelt werden. Wenn dann die Konsolidierung nicht richtig funktioniert, sind manche Informationen futsch. Ein echtes Problem, insbesondere wenn unterschiedliche Datenformate, von Lieferanten, gebündelt werden müssen. Ein Prozess, der viel Geld, Zeit und Nerven kosten kann. 

Es gibt also einige Hürden, die zu bewältigen sind. Excel-Tabellen sind dabei nur bedingt hilfreich, die Fehleranfälligkeit ist hoch und die Mitarbeiter sind frustriert, weil der Arbeitsaufwand enorm und das Ergebnis eher ernüchternd ist. Wer hat schon Spaß daran, redundante Aufgaben zu erledigen?

Eine passende Lösung muss also her: Ein PIM-System bringt Ordnung ins Chaos und überträgt alle Daten an einen zentralen Speicherort, in einem neutralen und systemunabhängigen Format. Die beste Datenqualität (Golden Record) ist das Ziel.

"A PIM is only as powerful as its connections to the ecosystem, and the same is true of PIM vendors.”

Quelle: Forrester

Kundeninformationen richtig platzieren

Kunden wollen Mehrwerte statt Merkmale, darüber haben wir in diesem Beitrag bereits berichtet. Die Herausforderung ist also ein Produktdatenmanagement, dass die Wünsche der Kunden berücksichtigt. Damit sind wir auch schon bei der Hauptaufgabe eines PIM-Systems: Alle Informationen müssen zentral und für alle Beteiligten zugänglich bereitgestellt werden, um dann von hier aus die unterschiedlichsten Vertriebskanäle zu bedienen. Selbstverständlich müssen die Daten aktuell und synchron an allen Stellen vorhanden sein, besonders wenn Produktdetails häufig aktualisiert werden.
Befreien Sie also ihre Daten aus den vorhandenen möglichen Silos wie:

  • ERP-System
  • Mediaserver
  • Content-Management-System
  • Agenturen
  • Hersteller
  • Externe Quellen

Hört sich schwierig an? Ist es auch, denn Kunden erwarten an jedem gewünschten Touchpoint die für sie relevanten Informationen. 

Wie ist es also möglich, die Daten kanal gerecht aufzubereiten und dann ohne Verluste und entlang der Customer Journey bereitzustellen?

Genau: Mit einem PIM-System wird es kinderleicht.
Hier sind nur einige Gründe, die dafür sprechen und in diesem Beitrag erläutern wir, wie Sie die komplexen Produktdatenzyklen mit einem PIM meistern.

Single Point of Truth als Datenquelle

Alle Daten aus externen oder internen Quellen fließen an einer Stelle im PIM zusammen und können dann bearbeitet werden. Das nennt man “Single Point of Truth”, was bedeutet, dass ein PIM als vertrauenswürdige Datenquelle dient.
Die Aufbereitung der Informationen für die Ausgabekanäle findet im System statt. Zusätzlich gibt es beispielsweise Module für Übersetzungen, Schnittstellen zu Marktplätzen oder dem Webshop und vieles mehr. 
Und das sind mögliche Ausgabekanäle:

  • Online-Shop
  • Plattformen wie Amazon oder eBay
  • Mobile Apps
  • Printkataloge oder Datenblätter
  • Point of Sale

Wie man sieht, gibt es eine Menge Eingabe- und Ausgabemöglichkeiten. Die Herausforderung ist es, die Daten zeitnah und omnichannelgerecht zur Verfügung zu stellen. Der nächste Schritt ist es, die Kunden mit ausführlichen und informativen Produktbeschreibungen zu begeistern. Darum haben wir hier einige Tipps zusammengestellt, die helfen, die richtigen Worte zu finden.

Wenn die Produkdaten jetzt auf dem besten Stand (“Golden Record”) sind, ist es kinderleicht sie zu transformieren und an alle Touchpoints bereitzustellen.

ERP vs. PIM

Wenn bereits ein ERP-System im Einsatz ist, ist ein PIM-System die optimale Ergänzung dazu. Der Grund ist ganz einfach: Die Kommunikation an den Endkunden ist eine ganz andere, als an die Datenhaltung einer Warenwirtschaft.

In diesem Beitrag erklären wir die Unterschiede zwischen den Systemen.

„An eine Endkundenkommunikation werden ganz andere Anforderungen gestellt als an die Datenhaltung einer Warenwirtschaft, denn dort sind eher Artikelnummern, interne Kürzel oder Logistikinformationen wichtig.“

Quelle: blog.salesmachine.biz

ERP vs. PIM

Wenn Sie gerade anfangen, sich über die Einführung eines PIM Gedanken zu machen sind Sie gut beraten , die aktuellen Arbeitsabläufe zu berücksichtigen und ein Wachstumsmodell zu etablieren. Die Digitalisierung von Produktinformationen erleichtert den Überblick und schafft Struktur. Um Updates und Hosting müssen sich Unternehmen keine Sorgen mehr machen. Das übernehmen wir. 

Wir zeigen gern, an Ihrem speziellen Fall und branchenunabhängig, wie prodexa Cloud auch in Ihrem Unternehmen einsetzbar ist. Kontaktieren Sie uns für einen unverbindlichen und kostenfreien Termin. Der erste Schritt in Richtung Digitalisierung ist damit getan. 

Weitere Beiträge:

Wie Digital Asset Management Ihr Video-Marketing revolutioniert

Immer mehr Unternehmen setzen auf Videomarketing als Teil ihrer digitalen Marketingstrategie. Zurecht, wie sich zeigt. Doch wie lassen sich die zunehmenden Anforderungen an multimedialen Inhalten erfolgreich meistern? Und wie können die zunehmenden Datenmengen erfolgreich verwaltet werden?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Was ist der Return of Experience? Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Neben dem ROI (Return of Investment), ist der ROX (Return of Experience) eine Kennzahl, die im E-Commerce eine große Rolle spielen sollte. Die Customer Experience entscheidet über Up- oder Cross-Selling und auch über die Bewertungen nach dem Kauf. Die direkte Verknüpfung zwischen der Kundenwahrnehmung, dem Kundenerlebnis und den tatsächlichen Verhaltensänderungen wird durch den ROX quantifiziert. Das Engagement der Mitarbeiter in den Serviceabteilungen der Unternehmen fließt ebenso in die Betrachtung des ROX ein. Ein PIM hilft dabei, die beste Datenqualität an allen Touchpoints zu liefern.

Höhere Rankings mittels Product Listing Optimization

Wir alle wissen, dass SEO für den Erfolg eines Produkts unerlässlich ist. Aber auch die Product Listing Optimization (PLO) trägt maßgeblich zum Vermarktungserfolg eines Produkts bei. Sie ermöglicht es, den Produktinhalt an den Algorithmus der verschiedenen Kanäle anzupassen, um nachhaltig bessere Platzierungen zu erzielen.

Quick Commerce – der neue Trend für den Online-Handel

Nach E-Commerce kommt Q-Commerce. Bei Quick-Commerce (Q-Commerce) dreht sich alles um die Geschwindigkeit und darum, das beste Kundenerlebnis zu liefern. Und das innerhalb kürzester Zeit. Der Markt wächst rasant, momentan sind es hauptsächlich Lebensmittel, Medikamente sind jedoch das nächste Quick-Commerce-Segment.

Omnichannel Commerce

PIM als Kernelement im Product Content Lifecycle Management

Produktdaten effizient zu verwalten und so auszugeben, dass sie den gängigen Anforderungen der einzelnen Marketing- und Vertriebskanäle gerecht werden, wird für Händler und Hersteller zu einer immer größeren Herausforderung. Wir zeigen auf, wie Sie die komplexen Produktdatenzyklen mittels moderner PIM-Software verstehen und meistern.

Jetzt Vorteile live erleben

Lernen Sie prodexa Cloud für Ihre Branche in einer unverbindlichen und individuellen Produkttour kennen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Automobil und Fahrzeuge” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM mit Marktplatzfunktionen” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für den “Technischen Großhandel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Werkzeuge und DIY” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Maschinenbau und Technik” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Baustoffe und SHK” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Handel und B2B” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Elektronik und Kabel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.