News & Blog

"How to optimize your e-commerce SEO with PIM"

Excerpt: Search engines and marketplaces define their own ranking factors, algorithms and product data feeds that determine the visibility of products. We show how a PIM system can help to optimize various ranking factors automatically - for every relevant output channel.

In today’s online retail business, customers and prospects (in both B2C and B2B sectors) expect detailed information about the products they are buying – right from the start of their customer journey. For most prospects, this begins with a search engine inquiry. In Europe, this is mostly Google, with a market share of over 93% (source: indexlift.com. 2020). As customers have more and more specific requirements for a product, their search queries also become more specific. According to a recent study by SEO-Suedwest, most search queries therefore contain five or more words (so-called long-tail keywords).

Customers want to see the relevant product information displayed directly in the search results so that they can make an informed purchase decision more quickly. This applies both to search results in search engines and to search results in marketplaces such as Amazon, ebay and co. Manufacturers and retailers who sell their products online should ensure that their products are prominently visible on the relevant online platforms in response to relevant search queries.

"Complete and correct product data is also a service feature that customers appreciate. People who know what they are buying are more satisfied. For 81 % of the suppliers, product data is one of the most important levers for reducing returns."

Source: Dezzain, SEO Research 2020

Better visibility with e-commerce SEO

"Search engine optimization (SEO) is the application of techniques to improve the qualitative traffic to websites. SEO analyzes the characteristics and intent of search queries to produce the most relevant search results and an improved user experience.''

Source: Gartner Glossary, Definition of Search Engine Optimization (SEO).

E-commerce SEO helps online retailers to improve the visibility of their products in search engines and marketplaces by optimizing the relevant ranking factors. How many ranking factors there are for search engines and what weighting each factor has cannot be answered across the board. However, according to Matt Cutts, a former software developer at Google, there are over 200 content and technical factors that influence the ranking of a website/product page in search engines. The most important and well-known factors include:

Onpage factors:

  • Content quality and relevance
  • Mobile appearance
  • Page structure
  • Consideration of keywords
  • Media mix (images, videos, virtual reality, etc.)
  • Metatags
  • URL path
  • Sitemap

Offpage factors:

  • Domain Authority
  • Number of backlinks
  • Social media shares
  • Consideration of ratings

Technical factors:

  • Pagespeed / loading times
  • Structured data (Schema.org)
  • Indexing
  • SSL encryption

On marketplaces, on the other hand, fewer ranking factors are used for ranking (approx. 15-30 factors, depending on the marketplace). These focus primarily on the optimization of product content and catalogs. Each marketplace has its own algorithm to evaluate the ranking factors. The most important factors that evaluate a search query include:

Direct (influenceable) factors:

  • Correct product categories
  • Meaningful titles
  • Meaningful product descriptions
  • Appropriate product attributes (manufacturers, dimensions, colors, etc.)
  • Use of multimedia (product images, product videos, 360-degree visualizations, etc.)

Indirect factors (user behavior):

  • Click rate
  • Dwell time
  • Conversion rate

Performance factors:

  • Price
  • Payment options
  • Deliverability
  • Shipping options
  • Number of negative/positive reviews
  • Return policy
  • Retailer rating
  • Rate of returns

"In a survey conducted among search engine optimization (SEO) professionals worldwide in 2021, 24.6 percent of respondents said that the depth and accuracy of product information are among the most important factors affecting search rankings."

Source: Statista, Leading SEO Factors for Search Rankings Worldwide, 2021.

Implementing an SEO strategy is very complex due to the numerous factors involved, regardless of whether merchants sell on just one marketplace or on several. Optimizing ranking factors on your own is hardly feasible, as search engines and marketplaces have their own algorithms and continuously add new factors. So how can a PIM system help improve e-commerce SEO?

Enhanced SEO with PIM

In a PIM system, companies can bundle all product-relevant information from various source systems (ERP, CMS, DAM, etc.). In this “single source of truth”, they record, manage and add product data as well as digital media such as images and videos. A PIM system structures, classifies and translates all product data. In this way, it optimally prepares them for the shop system and for the various output channels.

Making product data analyzable:

Product information of a webshop has to be readable for search engines. Metadata (title, description) are important information for correctly displaying the preview in the search results pages (snippets). In a PIM system, it is possible to define which data should be read by the search engine as meta information. Automated workflows ensure that all products or product variants are provided with the unique and correct meta information. In addition, keywords can be created almost automatically with a PIM system by structuring product data hierarchically and inheriting keywords across categories, master products and product variants. In this way, each product receives many keywords, which improves the ranking in search results.

Making media assets analyzable:

Images, videos and other digital assets are very important for users in the purchase decision process. Therefore, they are also very relevant for search engines – as long as they can be processed and interpreted properly. Since the relationship between products and digital assets is managed in the PIM system, the relevant meta information (tags, title, description, lang) for the media files is automatically set. The information thus appears directly SEO-optimized in the webshop and can be correctly indexed by search engines.

Automatic generation and transmission of feeds:

For online stores with a large product portfolio, it makes sense to communicate assortment changes to search engines and marketplaces via product data feeds in order to ensure a high degree of actuality. These product feeds are usually exchanged via XML data. Here, the correct product attributes are mapped in numerous data fields. Search engines and marketplaces each have different requirements for their feeds and query different product fields. Manual feed management is therefore hardly feasible and is also very error-prone. A PIM system offers a high degree of automation here. For example, all the information required for a feed can be output to an XML with one fingertip. Finally, the improved evaluation of feeds opens up new sales opportunities for online retailers. For example, the cleansed feeds allow for a “long-tail keyword strategy,” making products more likely to be included in search results for more precise queries.

Discover the advantages of PIM for your industry

A PIM system makes it easier, especially for online retailers with an omnichannel strategy and a large, growing product range, to implement important e-commerce SEO factors. Product data and digital media are converted into interpretable content – and with the highest possible degree of automation. 

We will be happy to demonstrate to you in a free online demo how you can use PIM to significantly improve the rankings of your products in search engines and marketplaces and also significantly reduce the manual effort required in product data management.

More articles:

How Digital Asset Management can revolutionize your video marketing

More and more companies are turning to video marketing as part of their digital marketing strategy. With good reason, as it turns out. But how can the increasing demands on multimedia content be mastered successfully? And how can the increasing amounts of data be managed efficiently?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

What is the return of experience?

In addition to ROI (Return of Investment), ROX (Return of Experience) is a metric that should play a big role in e-commerce. Customer experience determines up-selling or cross-selling and also post-purchase reviews. The direct link between customer perception, customer experience and actual behavioral changes is quantified by ROX. The engagement of the employees in the service departments of the companies is also included in the consideration of the ROX. A PIM helps deliver the best quality data across all touchpoints.

Successfully entering the digital transformation with a PIM system 

A Product Information Management System (PIM) makes the digitization of product data much easier and frees up space for other projects. A daring thesis? Yes! We know how it really works and explain in this article how the transformation succeeds.
Digital transformation means, especially for manufacturing companies, the right handling of product information. With a PIM system, workflows are simplified and information is available centrally.

Higher rankings through Product Listing Optimization

We all know that SEO is essential for the success of a product. But Product Listing Optimization (PLO) also makes a significant contribution to the marketing success of a product. It makes it possible to adapt the product content to the algorithm of the various channels in order to achieve sustainably better rankings.

Quick Commerce – the new trend for online commerce

After e-commerce comes Q-commerce. Quick Commerce (Q-Commerce) is all about speed and delivering the best customer experience. And doing so within the shortest possible time. The market is growing rapidly, right now it’s mostly groceries, but pharmaceuticals are the next quick commerce segment.

Experience the benefits live

Find out more about prodexa Cloud for your industry in a non-binding and individual product tour.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Automotive & Vehicles” – download now for free (German version).

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM with marketplace features” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud – “PIM for technical wholesale” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Tools & DIY” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Mechanical Engineering & Technology” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Construction Materials, Sanitary & HVAC” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Commerce & B2B” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Electronics & Cables” – download now for free (German version).

News & Blog

"Wie Sie mit PIM Ihre E-Commerce SEO optimieren"

Einführung: Suchmaschinen und Marktplätze definieren ihre eigenen Rankingfaktoren, Algorithmen und Produktdatenfeeds, welche die Sichtbarkeit von Produkten bestimmen. Wir zeigen auf, wir ein PIM-System Abhilfe leistet, diverse Rankingfaktoren automatisiert zu optimieren – und das für jeden relevanten Ausgabekanal.

Im heutigen Online-Handel erwarten Kunden und Interessenten (sowohl im B2C- als auch im B2B-Umfeld) detaillierte Informationen über die Produkte, die sie kaufen – und das bereits zu Beginn ihrer Customer Journey. Diese beginnt für die meisten potenziellen Käufer mit einer Recherche über Suchmaschinen. In Europa ist dies meistens Google, mit einem Marktanteil von über 93% (Quelle: indexlift.com. 2020). Da Kunden immer konkretere Anforderungen an ein Produkt haben, werden auch Ihre Suchanfragen immer konkreter. Laut einer aktuellen Studie von SEO-Suedwest beinhalten die meisten Suchanfragen daher Fünf oder mehr Wörter (sogenannte Longtail-Keywords). 

Kunden wollen die relevanten Produktinformationen direkt in den Suchergebnissen dargestellt bekommen, um schneller eine fundierte Kaufentscheidung zu treffen. Dies gilt sowohl für die Suchergebnisse in den Suchmaschinen, als auch für die Suchergebnisse in den Marktplätzen wie Amazon, ebay und co. Hersteller und Händler, die ihre Produkte online vertreiben, sollten dafür sorgen, dass ihre Produkte bei entsprechenden Suchanfragen auf den relevanten Online-Plattformen prominent sichtbar sind. 

„89 % der Online-Käufer nutzen die Ergebnisseiten von Suchmaschinen (SERPs), um eine Kaufentscheidung zu treffen.“

Quelle: Dezzain, SEO Research 2020

Bessere Sichtbarkeit mittels E-Commerce SEO

„Suchmaschinenoptimierung (SEO) ist die Anwendung von Techniken zur Verbesserung des qualitativen Traffics auf Webseiten. SEO analysiert die Eigenschaften und Absichten von Suchanfragen, um möglichst relevante Suchergebnisse und ein verbessertes Nutzererlebnis zu erzielen.''

Quelle: Gartner Glossary, Definition von Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

E-Commerce SEO hilft Online-Händler, die Sichtbarkeit Ihrer Produkte in Suchmaschinen und Marktplätzen zu verbessern, indem es die relevanten Rankingfaktoren optimiert. Wie viele Rankingfaktoren es für Suchmaschinen gibt und welche Gewichtung die einzelnen Faktoren haben, kann nicht pauschal beantwortet werden. Laut Matt Cutts, einem ehemaligen Softwareentwickler von Google, gibt es jedoch über 200 inhaltliche und technische Faktoren, die das Ranking einer Webseite/Produktseite in den Suchmaschinen beeinflussen. Zu den wichtigsten und bekanntesten Faktoren zählen unter anderem:

Onpage-Faktoren:

  • Qualität und Relevanz von Inhalten
  • Mobile Darstellung
  • Seitenstruktur
  • Berücksichtigung von Keywords
  • Medien-Mix (Bilder, Videos, Virtual Reality, etc.)
  • Metatags
  • URL-Pfad
  • Sitemap

Offpage-Faktoren:

  • Domain Authority
  • Anzahl Backlinks
  • Social Media Shares
  • Berücksichtigung von Bewertungen

Technische Faktoren:

  • Pagespeed / Ladezeiten
  • Strukturierte Daten (Schema.org)
  • Indexierung
  • SSL-Verschlüsselung

Auf Marktplätzen hingegen werden für das Ranking weniger Rankingfaktoren herangezogen (je nach Marktplatz ca. 15- 30 Faktoren). Diese fokussieren vor allem die Optimierung von Produktinhalten und Katalogen. Jeder Marktplatz hat seinen eigenen Algorithmus, um die Rankingfaktoren zu bewerten. Zu den wichtigsten Faktoren, die eine Suchanfrage bewerten, zählen:

Direkte (beeinflussbare) Faktoren:

  • Korrekte Produktkategorien
  • Aussagekräftige Artikelbezeichnungen
  • Aussagekräftige Produktbeschreibungen
  • Passende Produktmerkmale (Herstelle, Maße, Farben, etc.)
  • Einsatz von Multimedia (Produktbilder, Produktvideos, 360-Grad Visualisierungen, etc.)

Indirekte Faktoren (Nutzerverhalten):

  • Klickrate
  • Verweildauer
  • Conversionrate

Performance-Faktoren:

  • Preis
  • Zahlungsoptionen
  • Lieferbarkeit
  • Versandmöglichkeiten
  • Anzahl negativer/positiver Bewertungen
  • Rückgaberecht
  • Händlerbewertung
  • Retourenquote

„In einer Umfrage, die 2021 unter Fachleuten für Suchmaschinenoptimierung (SEO) weltweit durchgeführt wurde, gaben 24,6 Prozent der Befragten an, dass die Tiefe und Genauigkeit von Produktinformationen zu den wichtigsten Faktoren zählen, die sich auf die Platzierung in den Suchergebnissen auswirken.“

Quelle: Statista, Führende SEO-Faktoren für Suchrankings weltweit, 2021

Die Umsetzung einer SEO-Strategie ist aufgrund der zahlreichen Faktoren sehr komplex, ganz gleich, ob Händler nur auf einem einzigen Marktplatz verkaufen oder auf mehreren. Die Optimierung von Rankingfaktoren auf eigene Faust ist kaum zu bewerkstelligen, da Suchmaschinen und Marktplätze ihre eigenen Algorithmen haben und kontinuierlich neue Faktoren ergänzen. Wie also kann ein PIM-System Abhilfe leisten, die E-Commerce-SEO zu verbessern?

Enhanced SEO mit PIM

In einem PIM-System können Unternehmen alle produktrelevanten Informationen aus verschiedenen Quellsystemen (ERP, CMS, DAM, etc.) bündeln. In dieser „Single Source of Truth“ erfassen, verwalten und ergänzen sie Produktdaten sowie digitale Medien wie Bilder und Videos. Ein PIM-System strukturiert, klassifiziert und übersetzt alle Produktdaten. Dadurch bereitet es diese für das Shopsystem und für die unterschiedlichen Ausgabekanäle optimal vor.

Produktdaten interpretierbar machen:

Produktinformationen eines Online-Shops müssen für Suchmaschinen lesbar sein. So bilden Metadaten (Title, Description) wichtige Informationen, um die Voransicht in den Suchergebnisseiten (Snippets) korrekt darzustellen. In einem PIM-System kann definiert werden, welche Daten von der Suchmaschine als Metainformationen ausgelesen werden sollen. Automatisierte Workflows stellen sicher, dass alle Produkte bzw. Produktvarianten mit den eindeutigen und korrekten Meta-Informationen versehen werden. Darüber hinaus lassen sich mit einem PIM-System Keywords weitgehend automatisch erstellen, indem die Produktdatenpflege hierarchisch aufgebaut wird und Keywords über Kategorien, Masterprodukte und Produktvarianten vererbt werden. Auf diese Weise erhält jedes Produkt viele Keywords, wodurch das Ranking in den Suchergebnissen verbessert wird.

Medien interpretierbar machen:

Bilder, Videos und weitere digitale Inhalte (Digitale Assets) sind für User im Kaufentscheidungsprozess sehr wichtig. Daher sind sie auch für Suchmaschinen sehr relevant – sofern diese auch sauber verarbeitet und interpretiert werden können. Da im PIM-System der Zusammenhang zwischen Produkten und digitalen Medien gepflegt wird, werden die relevanten Meta-Informationen (Tags, Title, Description, lang) für die Medien-Dateien automatisch gesetzt und ausgegeben. Die Informationen erscheinen somit direkt SEO-optimiert im Webshop und können von den Suchmaschinen korrekt indiziert werden.

Automatische Erstellung und Übermittlung von Feeds:

Für Online-Shops mit einem großen Produktportfolio ist es sinnvoll, Suchmaschinen und Marktplätzen Sortimentsänderungen über Produktdatenfeeds mitzuteilen, um eine hohe Aktualität zu gewährleisten. Diese Produktfeeds werden i.d.R. via XML-Daten ausgetauscht. Hier werden in zahlreichen Datenfeldern die korrekten Produktattribute abgebildet. Suchmaschinen und Marktplätze haben jeweils unterschiedliche Anforderungen an ihre Feeds und Fragen unterschiedliche Produktfelder ab. Eine manuelle Pflege der Feeds ist daher kaum zu bewältigen und zudem sehr fehleranfällig. Ein PIM-System bietet hier einen hohen Automatisierungsgrad. So lassen sich alle Informationen, die für einen Feed benötigt werden, auf Knopfdruck in ein XML ausgeben und sogar zeitgesteuert automatisch in den entsprechenden Ausgabekanälen hochladen. Durch die bessere Bewertung der Feeds ergeben sich schließlich für Online-Händler neue Möglichkeiten im Vertrieb. Zum Beispiel erlauben die sauberen Feeds eine „Longtail-Keyword Strategie“, wodurch Produkte bei präziseren Suchanfragen eher in den Suchergebnissen berücksichtigt werden.

Fazit:

Ein PIM-System erleichtert vor allem Online-Händlern mit einer Omnichannel-Strategie und einem großen, wachsenden Produktsortiment die Umsetzung von wichtigen E-Commerce-SEO-Kriterien. Produktdaten und digitale Medien werden in interpretierbare Inhalte gewandelt – und das mit einem möglichst hohen Automatisierungsgrad.

Gerne demonstrieren wir Ihnen in einer kostenlosen Online-Demo, wie Sie mittels PIM die Rankings Ihrer Produkte in den Suchmaschinen und Marktplätzen signifikant verbessern und zudem den manuellen Aufwand in der Produktdatenverwaltung erheblich reduzieren.

Weitere Beiträge:

PIM für KMU – worauf ist zu achten?

Professioneller Omnichannel Commerce ist längst nicht mehr eine Disziplin, die ausschließlich große Unternehmen und Konzerne betrifft. Der boomende Markt an digitalen Lösungsanbietern öffnet auch kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen die Türen zu einem zeitgemäßen Produktdaten-Management. Wir zeigen auf, wieso ein PIM-System auch für KMUs von Vorteil ist und worauf sie bei der Auswahl achten sollten.

Omnichannel – The new normal für Händler

Omnichannel als “The New Normal”. Die Omnichannel Excellence Study 2022 von Google, zeigt, wie gut deutsche Retailer auf die Bedürfnisse der Kund:innen reagieren. Wie ein PIM-System Sie in Ihrer Omnichannel-Strategie sinnvoll unterstützt, lesen Sie hier.

5 Produktfilter, die Kunden beim Online-Shopping voraussetzen

Der Einsatz von Produktfiltern im E-Commerce ist von entscheidender Bedeutung, um Kunden die Navigation durch Ihre Produkte und schließlich die Kaufentscheidung zu erleichtern. In diesem Beitrag zeigen wir auf, welche Filter Sie für ein intelligentes und effektives Filtersystem benötigen.

PIM vs. ERP

PIM vs. ERP – Was ist der Unterschied?

ERP oder PIM, welches ist das führende System? Diese Frage wird oft in Unternehmen gestellt. Vorweg: Eine pauschale Antwort gibt es nicht. Wir erklären in diesem Beitrag, was bei der Beurteilung beider Systeme wichtig ist.

Jetzt Vorteile live erleben

Lernen Sie prodexa Cloud für Ihre Branche in einer unverbindlichen und individuellen Produkttour kennen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Automobil und Fahrzeuge” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM mit Marktplatzfunktionen” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für den “Technischen Großhandel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Werkzeuge und DIY” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Maschinenbau und Technik” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Baustoffe und SHK” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Handel und B2B” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Elektronik und Kabel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.