News & Blog

"ROI in PIM projects"

Excerpt: Due to the increasing requirements for product data, PIM systems are becoming more and more popular. Since, in addition to benefit arguments, economic arguments are also relevant for project managers before introducing a PIM system, the return on investment of PIM systems will be examined in more detail below.

What impact can a PIM system have on a company's success?

The number of companies realizing the benefits and advantages of PIM solutions is increasing day by day:

“The global PIM market size is expected to grow from USD 9.0 billion in 2020 to USD 16.0 billion by 2025, at a Compound Annual Growth Rate (CAGR) of 12.2% the forecast period. The major factors driving the growth of the PIM industry include rising demand for PIM solution from flourishing eCommerce industry and increasing need to offering enhanced customer services.”

Source: MarketsandMarkets: PIM Market Research, 2020

Before implementing a new PIM project in the company, managers nevertheless ask themselves the most important question: “What return of investment can we expect?”. In this context, we take a look at how companies can benefit in the medium to long term by investing in PIM software.

PIM ROI #1: Improved conversion rates

Manufacturers and retailers who have a PIM system are able to provide their customers and prospects with up-to-date, complete and correct product information on the various communication and sales channels. In this way, they simplify the information and purchase decision process for their target groups. This is enormously important, especially in times of almost perfect market transparency, in which it is becoming increasingly difficult to differentiate solely on the basis of price or quality. Today, a low price or a high quality are no longer sufficient to retain existing customers and to acquire new ones. All-encompassing product information can therefore deliver a significant competitive advantage.

“Over 74% of buyers purchase from the retailer that offers them value first.”

Source: IDG Communications Inc, 2018

The better the product information in the customer journey, the more likely a lead is to make an informed purchase decision and converts to a customer. At the same time, good product information speeds up the purchase decision process.

PIM ROI #2: Low return rates

Unfortunately, many companies, especially in retail, still think too opportunistically. For them, short-term success is what counts, which puts the focus solely on sales. But what happens after a product is purchased? What if customers are not satisfied with a product or if they received a completely different product than they expected due to incorrect and irrelevant product information in the product descriptions? To some extent, the return rate reflects the reliability of product information in product communication. If customers are not satisfied with a product, they will return it and may even share their bad experience with other potential buyers, which has a negative impact on branding and sales. After all, we all know that people are up to 7 times more likely to share negative experiences with their peers than positive experiences. In many cases, it’s obvious that return rates can be minimized if companies communicate relevant product information to their customers at the right time, in the right place. According to a survey on the motivations for e-commerce returns, over 26% of returns occur due to incorrect image descriptions. Over 22% of returns occur due to incorrect feature descriptions.

Source: Statista “Survey on returns in e-commerce in Germany”, 2019

PIM ROI #3: Time savings in day-to-day business

Time is money. The time savings realized by a PIM system in marketing, sales and administration by automatically collecting, enriching, checking and distributing product information to the relevant channels are correspondingly valuable. The following questions demonstrate the enormous potential for time savings through a PIM system and for which typical tasks in day-to-day business this potential can be exploited:

  • How much time is spent on adding new products?
  • How much time is needed to keep existing product information up to date? Think about activities such as mutations of product properties, expired items, specification of multiple languages, and relationships between products.
  • How much time do you spend maintaining accompanying media data from suppliers?
  • How much time is spent on entering customer-specific information?
  • How much time and cost is associated with translating product information?
  • How much time does the back office spend on answering questions about product information?
  • How much time do you spend keeping your online offering (website, onlineshop, marketplaces, etc.) up to date?
  • What are the production costs for the catalog (data handling, layout, proofing time, corrections) and what is the lead time for creating the catalog?
  • What is the time required to correctly provide information to customers and external data pools?

According to an expert survey, the time and effort required for the general maintenance of product data can be reduced by approximately 50% using a PIM system. In addition, up to 70% time savings are realized in translating product information and up to 100% less email traffic for approving and capturing media data.

Quelle: Data Talks, “How PIM & MDM Boosts eCommerce KPIs,” 2020.

PIM ROI #4: Reducing Time-To-Market

Most manufacturers and distributors operate in a dynamic market where both development and customers move quickly. Therefore, time-to-market is a key competitive parameter. Once the new product has made the leap into production and is finally about to be launched, the corresponding marketing and sales operations must be implemented quickly. Across all industries, it takes an average of six to eight weeks to market a new product without a PIM system (depending on the number of sales channels), as a high level of personnel effort is required. For companies that operate in many international markets, the marketing ans sales efforts increase even more.

A PIM system optimizes time-to-market by streamlining the path from development to production to marketing and sales. In a PIM system, several departments work simultaneously on a product. For example, marketing can begin to produce catalogs or create landing pages even though not all product data are known yet. When product management updates important information in the master database, this information is also updated in the draft of the target medium. At the same time, a PIM system also automates translation management of product information, for example, through seamless collaboration with translation agencies or via seamless integration of translation tools.

“In retail, a PIM system accelerates the rollout of a new product by up to 400%.”

Source: Data Talks, “How PIM & MDM Boosts eCommerce KPIs,” 2020.

Likewise, a PIM system helps retailers constantly expand their product line by providing a protected and intuitive environment for suppliers to manage product data and price lists on their own. This makes new product information available to retailers more quickly, which they can then automatically consider in their product catalogs. By defining quality criteria, it is easy to control the maintenance and quality assurance of product data at the supplier’s site without having to fear a loss of quality. Automated catalog entry via simple import and mapping workflows reduces the time required for catalog production by up to 75%, as the manual effort required for data maintenance, layout, corrections, etc. is reduced.

Conclusion

The requirements for product information are increasing dramatically with the number of channels to be served, shorter product life cycles and internationalization. Especially in e-commerce, the management and distribution of product data can become a real stumbling block. If you analyze the time and cost savings in data processing in more detail, it quickly becomes clear that the introduction of a PIM system is already worthwhile for manufacturers and larger retailers in the short to medium term. Our experts will be happy to demonstrate to you in a non-binding online demo, based on practical examples with a similar requirement profile, how the investment in a PIM system will pay off for your business model.

More articles:

How Digital Asset Management can revolutionize your video marketing

More and more companies are turning to video marketing as part of their digital marketing strategy. With good reason, as it turns out. But how can the increasing demands on multimedia content be mastered successfully? And how can the increasing amounts of data be managed efficiently?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

What is the return of experience?

In addition to ROI (Return of Investment), ROX (Return of Experience) is a metric that should play a big role in e-commerce. Customer experience determines up-selling or cross-selling and also post-purchase reviews. The direct link between customer perception, customer experience and actual behavioral changes is quantified by ROX. The engagement of the employees in the service departments of the companies is also included in the consideration of the ROX. A PIM helps deliver the best quality data across all touchpoints.

Successfully entering the digital transformation with a PIM system 

A Product Information Management System (PIM) makes the digitization of product data much easier and frees up space for other projects. A daring thesis? Yes! We know how it really works and explain in this article how the transformation succeeds.
Digital transformation means, especially for manufacturing companies, the right handling of product information. With a PIM system, workflows are simplified and information is available centrally.

Higher rankings through Product Listing Optimization

We all know that SEO is essential for the success of a product. But Product Listing Optimization (PLO) also makes a significant contribution to the marketing success of a product. It makes it possible to adapt the product content to the algorithm of the various channels in order to achieve sustainably better rankings.

Quick Commerce – the new trend for online commerce

After e-commerce comes Q-commerce. Quick Commerce (Q-Commerce) is all about speed and delivering the best customer experience. And doing so within the shortest possible time. The market is growing rapidly, right now it’s mostly groceries, but pharmaceuticals are the next quick commerce segment.

Experience the benefits live

Find out more about prodexa Cloud for your industry in a non-binding and individual product tour.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Automotive & Vehicles” – download now for free (German version).

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM with marketplace features” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud – “PIM for technical wholesale” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Tools & DIY” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Mechanical Engineering & Technology” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Construction Materials, Sanitary & HVAC” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Commerce & B2B” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Electronics & Cables” – download now for free (German version).

News & Blog

"ROI in PIM-Projekten"

Einführung: Aufgrund der zunehmenden Anforderungen an Produktdaten werden PIM-Systeme immer beliebter. Da für Projektverantwortliche vor der Einführung eines PIM-Systems neben Nutzenargumenten vor allem auch betriebswirtschaftliche Argumente relevant sind, soll im Folgenden der Return on Investment von PIM-Systemen näher betrachtet werden.

Welchen Beitrag kann ein PIM-System zum Unternehmenserfolg leisten?

Die Zahl der Unternehmen, die den Nutzen und die Vorteile von PIM-Lösungen erkennen, steigt von Tag zu Tag an:

“The global PIM market size is expected to grow from USD 9.0 billion in 2020 to USD 16.0 billion by 2025, at a Compound Annual Growth Rate (CAGR) of 12.2% the forecast period. The major factors driving the growth of the PIM industry include rising demand for PIM solution from flourishing eCommerce industry and increasing need to offering enhanced customer services.”

Source: MarketsandMarkets: PIM Market Research, 2020

Bevor ein neues PIM-Projekt im Unternehmen umgesetzt wird, stellen sich Budgetverantwortliche dennoch die wichtigste Frage: “Mit welchem Return of Investment können wir rechnen?”. In diesem Zusammenhang werfen wir einen Blick darauf, wie Unternehmen mittel- bis langfristig durch die Investition in eine PIM-Software profitieren können.

PIM ROI #1: Verbesserte Konversionsraten

Hersteller und Händler, die über ein PIM-System verfügen, sind in der Lage, ihre Kunden und Interessenten auf den unterschiedlichen Kommunikations- und Vertriebskanälen mit aktuellen, vollständigen und korrekten Produktinformationen zu versorgen. Dadurch erleichtern sie ihrer Zielgruppe den Informations- und Kaufentscheidungsprozess. Dies ist vor allem in Zeiten einer nahezu vollkommenen Markttransparenz, in der eine Differenzierung ausschließlich über den Preis oder die Qualität immer schwieriger wird, enorm wichtig. Ein günstiger Preis und eine hohe Qualität reichen heute nicht mehr aus, um bestehende Kunden zu binden und neue Kunden zu akquirieren. Allumfassende Produktinformationen können daher einen signifikanten Wettbewerbsvorteil liefern.

„Über 74% der Einkäufer kaufen bei dem Händler ein, der ihnen zuerst einen Mehrwert bietet“.

Quelle: IDG Communications Inc., 2018

Je besser die Produktinformationen in der Customer Journey sind, desto höher ist die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass ein Interessent eine fundierte Kaufentscheidung treffen kann und zum Kunden konvertiert. Gleichzeitig verkürzen gute Produktinformationen den Kaufentscheidungsprozess.

PIM ROI #2: Niedrige Retourenquoten

Leider denken viele Unternehmen, speziell im Handel, immer noch zu opportunistisch. Für sie zählt der kurzfristige Erfolg, wodurch der Fokus ausschließlich auf dem Umsatz liegt. Was aber passiert nach dem Kauf eines Produktes? Was ist, wenn Kunden mit einem Produkt nicht zufrieden sind oder wenn sie aufgrund falscher und irrelevanter Produktinformationen in den Produktbeschreibungen ein völlig anderes Produkt erhalten haben, als sie erwartet hatten? Die Retourenquote spiegelt in gewisser Weise die Zuverlässigkeit der Produktinformationen in der Produktkommunikation wider. Wenn Kunden nicht zufrieden mit einem Produkt sind, werden sie dieses zurückgeben und ihre schlechten Erfahrungen ggf. sogar mit anderen potentiellen Käufern teilen, was sich negativ auf das Branding und den Umsatz auswirkt. Schließlich wissen wir alle, dass Menschen negative Erfahrungen bis zu 7-mal häufiger mit ihren Mitmenschen teilen, als positive Erfahrungen. In vielen Fällen ist es offensichtlich, dass sich die Retourenquote minimieren lässt, wenn Unternehmen ihren Kunden die relevanten Produktinformationen zur richtigen Zeit, am richtigen Ort übermitteln.

Einer Umfrage zu den Beweggründen für die Retouren im E-Commerce zufolge, erfolgen über 26% der Retouren aufgrund fehlerhafter Bildbeschreibungen. Über 22% der Retouren erfolgen aufgrund nicht korrekter Funktionsbeschreibungen.

Quelle: Statista „Umfrage zu Retouren im E-Commerce in Deutschland“ 2020

PIM ROI #3: Zeitersparnisse im Tagesgeschäft

Zeit ist Geld. Entsprechend wertvoll sind die Zeitersparnisse, die ein PIM-System im Marketing, Vertrieb und in der Administration realisiert, indem es Produktinformationen automatisiert sammelt, anreichert, überprüft und an die relevanten Kanäle verteilt. Die nachfolgenden Fragestellungen demonstrieren das enorme Potenzial für Zeitersparnisse durch ein PIM-System und bei welchen typischen Aufgabenstellungen im Tagesgeschäft dieses Potenzial ausgeschöpft werden kann:

  • Wie viel Zeit wird für das Hinzufügen neuer Produkte aufgewendet?
  • Wie viel Zeit wird benötigt, um die bestehenden Produktinformationen auf dem aktuellen Stand zu halten? Denken Sie dabei an Aktivitäten wie Mutationen von Produkteigenschaften, abgelaufene Artikel, Angabe mehrerer Sprachen und Beziehungen zwischen Produkten.
  • Wie viel Zeit wenden Sie für die Pflege begleitender Mediendaten von Lieferanten auf?
  • Wie viel Zeit wird für die Eingabe von kundenspezifischen Informationen benötigt?
  • Wie viel Zeit und Kosten sind mit der Übersetzung der Produktinformationen verbunden?
  • Wie viel Zeit verbringt das Backoffice mit der Beantwortung von Fragen zu Produktinformationen?
  • Wie viel Zeit verbringen Sie damit, Ihr Online-Angebot (Website, Onlineshop, Marktplätze, etc.) aktuell zu halten?
  • Wie hoch sind die Produktionskosten für den Katalog (Datenpflege, Layout, Kontrollzeit, Korrekturen) und wie hoch ist die Vorlaufzeit für die Erstellung des Katalogs?
  • Wie hoch ist der Zeitaufwand für die korrekte Bereitstellung von Informationen an Kunden und externe Datenpools?

Laut einer Expertenbefragung kann der Aufwand für die allgemeine Pflege von Produktdaten mittels PIM-System um ca. 50% reduziert werden. Zudem werden bis zu 70 % Zeitersparnis bei der Übersetzung von Produktinformationen und bis zu bis 100 % weniger Email-Verkehr zur Freigabe und Erfassung von Mediendaten realisiert.

Quelle: Data-Talks, „How PIM & MDM Boosts eCommerce KPIs”, 2020

PIM ROI #4: Verkürzung Time-To-Market

Die meisten Hersteller und Händler sind auf einem dynamischen Markt tätig, auf dem sich sowohl die Entwicklung als auch die Kunden schnell bewegen. Daher ist die Markteinführungszeit ein entscheidender Wettbewerbsparameter. Hat das neue Produkt den Sprung in die Produktion geschafft und steht endlich kurz vor der Markteinführung, müssen alle Register im Marketing und Vertrieb gezogen werden – und das schnell. Branchenübergreifend dauert die Vermarktung eines neuen Produktes ohne ein PIM-System (abhängig von der Anzahl der Vertriebskanäle) durchschnittlich sechs bis acht Wochen, da ein hoher personeller Aufwand von Nöten ist. Bei Unternehmen, die auf vielen internationalen Märkten agieren, steigt der Aufwand für die Vermarktung zusätzlich an.

Ein PIM-System optimiert die Markteinführungszeit, indem es den Weg von der Entwicklung über die Produktion bis hin zu Marketing und Vertrieb rationalisiert. In einem PIM-System arbeiten mehrere Abteilungen gleichzeitig an einem Produkt. So kann das Marketing z.B. mit der Katalogproduktion oder der Erstellung von Landingpages beginnen, obwohl noch nicht alle Produktdetails bekannt sind. Wenn das Produktmanagement wichtige Informationen in der zentralen Datenbank aktualisiert, werden diese Informationen auch im Entwurf des Zielmediums aktualisiert. Gleichzeitig automatisiert ein PIM-System auch das Übersetzungsmanagement von Produktinformationen, z.B. durch die nahtlose Kollaboration mit Übersetzungsagenturen oder mittels nahtloser Integration von Übersetzungstools.

„Im Retail beschleunigt ein PIM-System die Einführung eines neuen Produktes um bis zu 400%.“

Quelle: Data-Talks, „How PIM & MDM Boosts eCommerce KPIs”, 2020

Ebenfalls unterstützt ein PIM-System Händler dabei ihre Produktpalette konstant auszubauen, indem es seinen Lieferanten eine geschützte und intuitive Umgebung bietet, um Produktdaten und Preislisten in Eigenregie zu verwalten. Händlern stehen dadurch neue Produktinformationen schneller zur Verfügung, welche sie automatisiert in ihre Produktkataloge berücksichtigen können. Durch die Definition von Qualitätskriterien lässt sich die Pflege und Qualitätssicherung der Produktdaten beim Lieferanten einfach steuern, ohne Qualitätsverluste befürchten zu müssen. Die automatisierte Katalogerfassung via einfacher Import- und Mapping-Workflows reduziert die Zeit für die Katalogproduktion um bis zu 75 %, da der manuelle Aufwand für Datenpflege, Layout, Korrekturen usw. entfällt.

Fazit

Die Anforderungen an Produktinformationen steigen mit der Anzahl der zu bedienenden Kanäle, den kürzeren Produktlebenszyklen und der Internationalisierung drastisch an. Gerade im E-Commerce kann die Verwaltung und Verteilung von Produktdaten zu einem echten Stolperstein werden. Analysiert man die Zeit- und Kosteneinsparungen bei der Datenverarbeitung näher, wird schnell klar, dass sich die Einführung eines PIM-Systems für Hersteller und größere Händler bereits kurz- bis mittelfristig lohnt. Gerne demonstrieren Ihnen unsere Experten in einer unverbindlichen Online-Demo auf Basis praktischer Beispiele mit einem ähnlichen Anforderungsprofil, wie sich die Investition in ein PIM-System für Ihr Geschäftsmodell amortisiert.

Weitere Beiträge:

Wie Digital Asset Management Ihr Video-Marketing revolutioniert

Immer mehr Unternehmen setzen auf Videomarketing als Teil ihrer digitalen Marketingstrategie. Zurecht, wie sich zeigt. Doch wie lassen sich die zunehmenden Anforderungen an multimedialen Inhalten erfolgreich meistern? Und wie können die zunehmenden Datenmengen erfolgreich verwaltet werden?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Was ist der Return of Experience? Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Neben dem ROI (Return of Investment), ist der ROX (Return of Experience) eine Kennzahl, die im E-Commerce eine große Rolle spielen sollte. Die Customer Experience entscheidet über Up- oder Cross-Selling und auch über die Bewertungen nach dem Kauf. Die direkte Verknüpfung zwischen der Kundenwahrnehmung, dem Kundenerlebnis und den tatsächlichen Verhaltensänderungen wird durch den ROX quantifiziert. Das Engagement der Mitarbeiter in den Serviceabteilungen der Unternehmen fließt ebenso in die Betrachtung des ROX ein. Ein PIM hilft dabei, die beste Datenqualität an allen Touchpoints zu liefern.

Mit einem PIM-System erfolgreich in die digitale Transformation 

Ein Product Information Management System (PIM) erleichtert die Digitalisierung von Produktdaten enorm und schafft Platz für andere Projekte. Eine gewagte These? Ja! Wir wissen, wie es wirklich geht und erklären in diesem Beitrag wie die Transformation gelingt.
Digitaler Wandel bedeutet, insbesondere für herstellende Unternehmen, den richtige Umgang mit Produktinformationen. Mit einem PIM-System werden Arbeitsabläufe vereinfacht und Informationen stehen zentral zur Verfügung.

Höhere Rankings mittels Product Listing Optimization

Wir alle wissen, dass SEO für den Erfolg eines Produkts unerlässlich ist. Aber auch die Product Listing Optimization (PLO) trägt maßgeblich zum Vermarktungserfolg eines Produkts bei. Sie ermöglicht es, den Produktinhalt an den Algorithmus der verschiedenen Kanäle anzupassen, um nachhaltig bessere Platzierungen zu erzielen.

Quick Commerce – der neue Trend für den Online-Handel

Nach E-Commerce kommt Q-Commerce. Bei Quick-Commerce (Q-Commerce) dreht sich alles um die Geschwindigkeit und darum, das beste Kundenerlebnis zu liefern. Und das innerhalb kürzester Zeit. Der Markt wächst rasant, momentan sind es hauptsächlich Lebensmittel, Medikamente sind jedoch das nächste Quick-Commerce-Segment.

Jetzt Vorteile live erleben

Lernen Sie prodexa Cloud für Ihre Branche in einer unverbindlichen und individuellen Produkttour kennen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Automobil und Fahrzeuge” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM mit Marktplatzfunktionen” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für den “Technischen Großhandel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Werkzeuge und DIY” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Maschinenbau und Technik” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Baustoffe und SHK” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Handel und B2B” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Elektronik und Kabel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.