News & Blog

"Product Content Syndication in E-Commerce"

Excerpt: Learn how e-commerce companies are using product content syndication to optimize their product data to maximize engagement and growth across all relevant marketplaces and sales platforms.

For manufacturers, suppliers and retailers, digital, quality-assured product information is the basis for marketing and sales in e-commerce. Product Content Syndication (PCS) helps companies aggregate and enrich all product information from different systems and then distribute it to retailers, marketplaces and other data pools in the right format. PCS is an essential function of data management systems such as PIM systems and DAM systems. It automatically integrates and unifies product data from different sources into a central product data feed, regardless of format. Thus, unorganized data is standardized and adapted into a predefined structure.

Product Content Syndication ensures that all relevant product data meets the specific requirements of each output channel. Through the use of user-defined templates, product data is mapped to the appropriate channels in the best possible way, thus achieving maximum performance on each channel.   

Product content syndication is especially useful for companies

  • that manage a huge range of products,
  • who present their products in many different channels and marketplaces,
  • that operate their e-commerce activities internationally,
  • who strive for consistent omnichannel product communication and contemporary customer experience.

Generating more attention from potential buyers with product content syndication

Due to the almost absolute market transparency, customers (both in the B2C and B2B sectors) are becoming more demanding when it comes to the purchase of a product. Their searches for products are becoming more and more specific. They expect relevant and convincing information in the shortest possible time. If important information is not directly available to them, they quickly switch channels without compromise and jump to the competitor’s offering, which can better serve their demand for a positive buying experience. So manufacturers and retailers who want to keep up with consumers’ increasing demands in the future must ensure that they provide relevant and ubiquitous information that adds real value to consumers in their information and purchase decision phases. Typical and most important product attributes include, for example:

  • General Product Information: Product name, title, product category, GTIN, colors, sizes, country of origin, brands, prices, dimensions, material, descriptions, features, condition, availability, item group, shipping cost, etc.
  • Multimedia product information: High-quality images from different angles, images with 360-degree rotation, close-ups, infographics, videos, instructions on how to use a product, labels and certificates, etc.
 “Digital retailers, on average, attach 200 attributes to every single product they sell.”

Source: The Forrester Wave: Product Information Management Solutions, 2019

If a customer does not find an important product attribute or defines it as inapplicable, he will quickly switch to the next offer in times of omnichannel commerce. If, for example, product images or 3D visualizations are not displayed correctly on the smartphone, companies miss out on potential buyers. In addition, if the product attributes do not match the manufacturer’s or retailer’s product category, in the worst case scenario the products are not listed correctly in search engines or marketplaces and are penalized with poor visibility. To avoid such scenarios, Product Content Syndication automatically optimizes and distributes product attributes – regardless of whether a company markets its products on 10 or 100 channels. At the same time, PCS gives customers the ability to filter and categorize their product search to tailor their shopping experience to their own needs.

Advantages of automatic product content syndication

  • Adapting product data to the specific requirements and formats of the countless sales channels is a major challenge for manufacturers and retailers. The automatic adaptation of a product catalog to the different specifications saves an enormous amount of time and at the same time reduces the susceptibility to errors – even more if the constant changes and updates of the requirements per channel are taken into consideration.
  • Effective syndication of product content enables companies to move more quickly into new sales channels and ensure that products are more discoverable and visible to consumers and buyers.
  • By ensuring that product attributes always meet the standards assumed by marketplaces, products are not rejected. On the contrary, products are listed correctly, benefit from better visibility, and click-through and conversion rates are improved.
  • Product content syndication ensures consistent product communication by providing all customer touchpoints with consistent product descriptions. At the same time, optimal media formats and sizes ensure a seamless multi-channel experience.
  • Monitoring tools track and verify data quality and ensure that commerce platforms are using the most up-to-date product information. Companies gain valuable insights into the presentation and performance of their products, enabling them to continuously improve their product content.

Tip: How to identify important product attributes for your product communication

Since customers cannot naturally touch and experience products in online retail, it is the task of retailers to convey this information in the form of product content. Rich product content, together with a successful multichannel strategy and accurate syndication of product information, has a major impact on consumers’ purchase decisions.

The importance of specific product attributes to the purchase decision process varies by industry, business model, and target market. To find out which information provides important added value in the decision-making phase, it is advisable to regularly read through customer reviews (including those of competitors). If a product does not meet customer expectations, a customer will in many cases give reasons for his dissatisfaction. Similarly, if customer expectations are balanced or even exceeded by the buying experience. Customer reviews therefore often provide a quick overview of the most frequently mentioned product attributes and their importance for the purchase decision. An additional source for evaluating the quality of product attributes is the analysis of returns. Returns provide valuable information on the manner in which products are presented incorrectly or described inaccurately.

Conclusion:

Product Content Syndication helps manufacturers and retailers optimize their product information to maximize engagement and growth across all marketplaces and other sales channels.

Product Content Syndication is already seamlessly integrated into prodexa Cloud’s PIM solution, enabling consistent and high-quality delivery of product data that meets the specific requirements of each output channel. Find out for yourself about the holistic approach for convincing product communication on all channels and arrange your individual and non-binding online demo now.

More articles:

Process optimization between suppliers and retailers using PIM

Manually collecting product data from numerous suppliers and manufacturers can result in very time-consuming and error-prone processes for retailers. We show how retailers can use intelligent supplier onboarding to transfer product data quickly and securely, thereby ensuring scalable workflows.

The leading marketplaces and how to sell successfully on them

Due to their enormous reach, online marketplaces are increasingly being taken into account in B2B and
B2C when designing their own e-commerce strategy. We show which online marketplaces are leading in
Germany and give you tips on how to market your products successfully on them.

How Digital Asset Management can revolutionize your video marketing

More and more companies are turning to video marketing as part of their digital marketing strategy. With good reason, as it turns out. But how can the increasing demands on multimedia content be mastered successfully? And how can the increasing amounts of data be managed efficiently?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

What is the return of experience?

In addition to ROI (Return of Investment), ROX (Return of Experience) is a metric that should play a big role in e-commerce. Customer experience determines up-selling or cross-selling and also post-purchase reviews. The direct link between customer perception, customer experience and actual behavioral changes is quantified by ROX. The engagement of the employees in the service departments of the companies is also included in the consideration of the ROX. A PIM helps deliver the best quality data across all touchpoints.

Experience the benefits live

Find out more about prodexa Cloud for your industry in a non-binding and individual product tour.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Automotive & Vehicles” – download now for free (German version).

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM with marketplace features” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud – “PIM for technical wholesale” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Tools & DIY” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Mechanical Engineering & Technology” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Construction Materials, Sanitary & HVAC” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Commerce & B2B” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Electronics & Cables” – download now for free (German version).

News & Blog

"Product Content Syndication im E-Commerce"

Einführung: Erfahren Sie, wie Unternehmen im E-Commerce mittels Product Content Syndication ihre Produktdaten so optimieren, dass sie das Engagement und Wachstum auf allen relevanten Marktplätzen und Vertriebsplattformen maximieren.

Für Hersteller, Lieferanten und Händler sind elektronische, qualitätsgesicherte Produktinformationen die Basis für Marketing und Vertrieb im E-Commerce. Product Content Syndication (PCS) unterstützt Unternehmen dabei, sämtliche Produktinformationen aus verschiedenen Systemen zu aggregieren, anzureichern und dann an Händler, Marktplätze, Shop-Systeme und weitere Datenpools im richtigen Format zu verteilen. PCS ist eine wesentliche Funktion von Datenmanagement-Systemen wie PIM-Systemen und DAM-Systemen. Es integriert und vereinheitlicht Produktdaten automatisch und unabhängig vom Format aus unterschiedlichen Quellen in einem zentralen Produktdatenfeed. Somit werden unorganisierte Daten standardisiert und in eine vordefiniere Struktur angepasst.

Product Content Syndication stellt sicher, dass alle relevanten Produktdaten den speziellen Anforderungen der jeweiligen Ausgabekanäle gerecht werden. Durch die Verwendung von benutzerdefinierten Vorlagen werden die Produktdaten bestmöglich mit den entsprechenden Kanälen gemappt und somit die maximale Performance auf jedem Kanal erzielt.    

Product Content Syndication ist vor allem für Unternehmen sinnvoll,

  • die eine riesige Produktpalette verwalten,
  • die ihre Produkte in vielen verschiedenen Kanälen und Marktplätzen präsentieren,
  • die ihre E-Commerce-Aktivitäten international ausrichten,
  • die eine konsistente Omnikanal-Produktkommunikation und zeitgemäße Customer Experience anstreben.

Mit Product Content Syndication mehr Aufmerksamkeit bei potenziellen Käufern generieren

Durch die nahezu vollkommene Marktransparenz sind Kunden (sowohl im B2C- als auch im B2B-Umfeld) beim Kauf eines Produktes anspruchsvoller. Ihre Suche nach Produkten wird immer spezifischer. Sie erwarten relevante und überzeugende Informationen in kürzester Zeit. Stehen ihnen wichtige Informationen nicht direkt zur Verfügung, wechseln sie schnell und ohne Kompromiss den Kanal und springen zum Angebot des Wettbewerbers, der ihre Nachfrage nach einem positiven Einkaufserlebnis besser bedienen kann. Hersteller und Händler, die in Zukunft mit den zunehmenden Ansprüchen der Verbraucher mithalten möchten, müssen also sicherstellen, dass sie relevante und allgegenwärtige Informationen bereitstellen, die den Verbrauchern in ihrer Informations- und Kaufentscheidungsphase einen wirklichen Mehrwert bringen. Zu den typischen und wichtigsten Produktattributen gehören zum Beispiel:

  • Allgemeine Produktinformationen: Produktname, Titel, Produktkategorie, GTIN, Farben, Größen, Herkunftsland, Marken, Preise, Abmessungen, Material, Beschreibungen, Funktionen, Zustand, Verfügbarkeit, Artikelgruppe, Versandkosten, etc.
  • Multimediale Produktinformationen: Hochwertige Bilder aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln, Bilder mit 360-Grad-Drehung, Nahaufnahmen, Infografiken, Videos, Anleitungen zur Verwendung eines Produktes, Label und Zertifikate, etc.

 “Digital retailers, on average, attach 200 attributes to every single product they sell.”

Quelle: The Forrester Wave: Product Information Management Solutions, 2019

Findet ein Kunde ein wichtiges Produktattribut nicht oder definiert es als unzutreffend, wird er in Zeiten des Omnichannel-Commerce schnell zum nächsten Angebot wechseln. Werden z.B. Produktbilder oder 3D-Visualisierungen auf dem Smartphone nicht richtig angezeigt, entgehen Unternehmen potenzielle Käufer. Stimmen zudem die Produktattribute nicht mit der Produktkategorie des Herstellers oder Händlers überein, werden die Produkte im schlimmsten Fall in der Suche in Suchmaschinen oder Marktplätzen nicht korrekt aufgelistet und mit einer schlechten Sichtbarkeit bestraft. Um solche Szenarien zu vermeiden, optimiert und verteilt Product Content Syndication Produktattribute automatisch – egal ob ein Unternehmen seine Produkte auf 10 oder 100 Kanälen vermarktet. Gleichzeitig gibt PCS Kunden die Möglichkeit ihre Produktsuche so zu filtern und zu kategorisieren, dass sie ihr Einkaufserlebnis auf ihre eigenen Bedürfnisse hin anpassen.

Vorteile einer automatischen Syndizierung von Produktinformationen

  • Die Anpassung von Produktdaten an die spezifischen Anforderungen und Formate der zahleichen Vertriebskanäle ist eine große Herausforderung für Hersteller und Händler. Die automatische Anpassung eines Produktkatalogs an die unterschiedlichen Spezifikationen spart enorm viel Zeit und reduziert gleichzeitig die Fehleranfälligkeit – erst recht, wenn die ständigen Änderungen und Aktualisierungen der Anforderungen pro Kanal berücksichtigt werden.
  • Eine effektive Syndizierung von Produktinhalten ermöglicht es Unternehmen, neue Vertriebskanäle schneller zu erschließen und sicherzustellen, dass Produkte für Verbraucher und Käufer besser auffindbar und sichtbar sind.
  • Indem Produktattribute stets die Standards einhalten, die von den Marktplätzen vorausgesetzt werden, werden Produkte nicht abgelehnt. Ganz im Gegenteil: Produkte werden korrekt aufgelistet, profitieren von einer besseren Sichtbarkeit und von einer besseren Klick- und Konversionsrate.
  • Product Content Syndication stellt eine konsistente Produktkommunikation sicher, in dem alle Customer Touchpoints mit widerspruchsfreien Produktbeschreibungen versorgt werden. Gleichzeitig stellen optimale Medienformate und -größen ein nahtloses Multi-Channel-Erlebnis sicher.
  • Monitoring-Tools verfolgen und überprüfen die Datenqualität und stellen sicher, dass die Handelspartner die aktuellsten Produktinformationen verwenden. Unternehmen gewinnen wertvolle Einblicke in die Präsentation und Performance Ihrer Produkte und können so ihre Produktinhalte kontinuierlich verbessern.

Tipp: So identifizieren Sie wichtige Produktattribute für Ihre Produktkommunikation

Da Kunden Produkte im Online-Handel nicht auf natürliche Weise anfassen und erleben können, ist es die Aufgabe der Händler, diese Informationen in Form von Produktinhalten zu vermitteln. Reichhaltige Produktinhalte, zusammen mit einer erfolgreichen Multichannel-Strategie und einer akkuraten Syndizierung von Produktinformationen, haben einen großen Einfluss auf die Kaufentscheidung der Verbraucher.

Die Wichtigkeit einzelner Produktattribute für den Kaufentscheidungsprozess variiert je nach Branche, Geschäftsmodell und Zielmarkt. Um herauszufinden, welche Informationen einen wichtigen Mehrwert in der Entscheidungsfindungsphase liefern, empfiehlt es sich regelmäßig die Kundenbewertungen (auch die der Konkurrenz) durchzulesen. Erfüllt ein Produkt die Kundenerwartungen nicht, wird ein Kunde seine Unzufriedenheit in vielen Fällen begründen. Ähnliches gilt, wenn die Kundenerwartungen durch das Kauferlebnis ausgeglichen oder sogar übertroffen werden. Kundenbewertungen geben daher häufig einen schnellen Überblick über die meistgenannten Produktattribute und deren Wichtigkeit für die Kaufentscheidung. Als zusätzliche Quelle zur Beurteilung der Qualität von Produktattributen bietet sich auch die Analyse von Retouren an. Retouren geben wertvolle Hinweise darüber, inwiefern Produkte falsch präsentiert oder fehlerhaft beschrieben werden.

Fazit:

Product Content Syndication unterstützt Hersteller und Händler dabei, ihre Produktinformationen so zu optimieren, um das Engagement und das Wachstum auf allen Marktplätzen und Vertriebskanälen zu maximieren.

Product Content Syndication ist bereits nahtlos in die PIM-Lösung von prodexa Cloud integriert und ermöglicht eine konsistente und qualitativ hochwertige Bereitstellung von Produktdaten, die den spezifischen Anforderungen der einzelnen Ausgabekanälen entspricht. Überzeugen Sie sich selbst von dem ganzheitlichen Ansatz für eine überzeugende Produktkommunikation auf allen Kanälen und vereinbaren Sie jetzt Ihre individuelle und unverbindliche Online-Demo.

Weitere Beiträge:

Cross-Border-E-Commerce: Wieso PIM den Grundpfeiler setzt

Wir demonstrieren die wichtigsten Aufgaben, mit denen Händler und Hersteller bei der Ausrichtung ihres E-Commerce Angebotes auf neuen Märkten konfrontiert werden und erklären, weshalb ein PIM-System die Basis für die internationale Expansion darstellt.

Prozessoptimierung zwischen Lieferanten und Händlern mittels PIM

Produktdaten von zahlreichen Lieferanten und Herstellen manuell zu erfassen kann für Händler in sehr zeitaufwendige und fehleranfällige Prozesse münden. Wir zeigen auf, wie Händler durch ein intelligentes Lieferanten-Onboarding schnell und sicher Produktdaten übernehmen und dadurch skalierbare Workflows sicherstellen.

Die führenden Marktplätze und wie Sie erfolgreich auf ihnen verkaufen

Online-Marktplätze finden im B2B und B2C aufgrund Ihrer enormen Reichweite immer stärker Berücksichtigung bei der Gestaltung der eigenen E-Commerce-Strategie. Wir zeigen auf, welche Online-Marktplätze in Deutschland führend sind und geben Ihnen Tipps an die Hand, wie Sie Ihre Produkte
erfolgreich auf diesen vermarkten.

Wie Digital Asset Management Ihr Video-Marketing revolutioniert

Immer mehr Unternehmen setzen auf Videomarketing als Teil ihrer digitalen Marketingstrategie. Zurecht, wie sich zeigt. Doch wie lassen sich die zunehmenden Anforderungen an multimedialen Inhalten erfolgreich meistern? Und wie können die zunehmenden Datenmengen erfolgreich verwaltet werden?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Was ist der Return of Experience? Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Neben dem ROI (Return of Investment), ist der ROX (Return of Experience) eine Kennzahl, die im E-Commerce eine große Rolle spielen sollte. Die Customer Experience entscheidet über Up- oder Cross-Selling und auch über die Bewertungen nach dem Kauf. Die direkte Verknüpfung zwischen der Kundenwahrnehmung, dem Kundenerlebnis und den tatsächlichen Verhaltensänderungen wird durch den ROX quantifiziert. Das Engagement der Mitarbeiter in den Serviceabteilungen der Unternehmen fließt ebenso in die Betrachtung des ROX ein. Ein PIM hilft dabei, die beste Datenqualität an allen Touchpoints zu liefern.

Jetzt Vorteile live erleben

Lernen Sie prodexa Cloud für Ihre Branche in einer unverbindlichen und individuellen Produkttour kennen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Automobil und Fahrzeuge” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM mit Marktplatzfunktionen” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für den “Technischen Großhandel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Werkzeuge und DIY” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Maschinenbau und Technik” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Baustoffe und SHK” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Handel und B2B” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Elektronik und Kabel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.