Metallit GmbH

prodexa Cloud with Metallit GmbH

As a mid-sized family-owned company in its third generation, Metallit GmbH has been offering practical custom solutions and optimal service in the area of workshop technology for around 50 years.

More information: www.metallit.de

Challenge

Metallit, a third-generation family company in the heart of Bielefeld, now focuses on production and comprehensive service in workshop technology. The product portfolio ranges from tools such as power drills, welders and grinding machines all the way to occupational safety equipment. This is complemented by highly personal, comprehensive service with many established customer relationships. Across its 30 sales companies in Europe, Metallit GmbH has more than 200 employees in field sales for its customers. Metallit strives to find a solution that enables constant access to the latest clean product data for field sales employees while also optimising the sales process.

Solution

To fulfil these requirements, Metallit GmbH relies on two core elements of the prodexa Cloud platform: product data structuring with PIM and OPC as a sales portal. The new environment acts as a central platform for the maintenance of product data, while the OPC (Online Product Catalogue) makes it possible to create an efficient and paperless sales process. For direct customer contact, each employee uses tablets to access more than 100,000 products via the purely web-based OPC. By connecting to Metallit’s customer database, individual customer offers and orders can be compiled directly in the OPC, sent and ordered on site if required. At the request of Metallit, the order process in the OPC was expanded to include a digital signature option when signing the order. In this way, order lists can be created with the customer, signed and transferred directly to Metallit’s order system. What makes this unique: individual prices are available for the base of nearly 90,000 customers, and these can be directly called up for offers and orders. Along with reinforcing field sales, the primary core focus is clean structuring of product data. Product data are initially created in the ERP system and prices are assigned. At regular intervals, these are transferred to the PIM system and enhanced there by product managers and data administrators. The prices from SAP are also transferred to the platform to keep them available for sales employees in the future. Here, the prodexa Cloud PIM platform processes technical product characteristics and also – thanks to integrated digital asset management – media content, figures, technical documents, certificates or video content that can be included directly with the products as a Youtube link. With this purely web-based solution, any kind of external content can be directly transferred into the PIM and displayed there.

Outlook

In the next project phase, Metallit is considering expanding access to the OPC sales platform for the current customer base of more than 90,000 customers, thereby enabling more rapid access to products. This can prevent time delays during the order process and allow simple product detail enquiries to be answered rapidly through self-service.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Automotive & Vehicles” – download now for free (German version).

Experience the benefits live

Find out more about prodexa Cloud for your industry in a non-binding and individual product tour.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM with marketplace features” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud – “PIM for technical wholesale” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Tools & DIY” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Mechanical Engineering & Technology” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Construction Materials, Sanitary & HVAC” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Commerce & B2B” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Electronics & Cables” – download now for free (German version).

Metallit GmbH

prodexa Cloud bei Metallit

prodexa Cloud bei Metallit GmbH

Als mittelständisches, inhabergeführtes Familienunternehmen in der dritten Generation bietet die Metallit GmbH seit rund 50 Jahren praxisnahe, individuelle Lösungen und einen optimalen Service im Bereich der Werkstatt-Technik.

Weitere Informationen: www.metallit.de

Herausforderung

Metallit, ein Familienunternehmen im Herzen Bielefelds, fokussiert sich mittlerweile in der der dritten Generation, auf die Fertigung sowie einen umfangreichen Service im Bereich der Werkstatt-Technik. Von Werkzeugen wie Bohrer, Schweiß- und Schleifmaschinen, Reinigern bis hin zum Arbeitsschutz reicht das Portfolio. Ergänzt wird dieses durch einen sehr persönlichen und umfangreichen Service über viele langjährige Kundenbeziehungen. Die Metallit GmbH hat über 200 Mitarbeiter im Außeneinsatz für ihre Kunden in 30 eigenen Vertriebsgesellschaften in Europa. Metallit sucht nach einer Lösung, mit dem zum einen ein stetiger Zugriff auf aktuellste und saubere Produktdaten für die Kollegen im Außendienst möglich wird und zum anderen der Vertriebsprozess optimiert werden kann.

Lösung

Bei der Umsetzung der Anforderungen setzt die Metallit GmbH auf zwei Kernelemente der prodexa Cloud Platform – die Produktdatenstrukturierung mit PIM und OPC als Vertriebsportal. Die neue Umgebung dient als zentrale Plattform zur Pflege der Produktdaten und mit Hilfe des OPC (Online Product Catalog), lässt sich der Vertriebsprozess effektiv und papierlos abbilden. Dabei greift jeder Mitarbeiter im direkten Kundenkontakt mit Tablets über den rein webbasierten OPC auf über 100.000 Produkte zu. Durch die Anbindung an die Kundendatenbank von Metallit lassen sich so direkt kundenindividuelle Angebote und Aufträge im OPC zusammenstellen, verschicken und bei Bedarf noch vor Ort bestellen. Auf Wunsch von Metallit wurde der Bestellvorgang im OPC um die Möglichkeit einer digitalen Unterschrift zur Signierung der Bestellung erweitert. So können Bestelllisten zusammen mit dem Kunden angelegt, unterschrieben und direkt an das Bestellsystem von Metallit übergeben werden. Das besondere dabei – für die knapp 90.000 Kunden sind individuelle Preise verfügbar und können bei den Angeboten bzw. Bestellungen direkt berücksichtigt werden. Neben der Stärkung des Außendienstes steht natürlich auch die eigentliche Kernaufgabe, die saubere Strukturierung der Produktdaten im Vordergrund. Initial werden Produktdaten im ERP System angelegt und mit Preisen versehen. In regelmäßigen Abständen werden diese an das PIM System übertragen und dort von Produktmanagern und Datenpflegern angereichert. Auch werden die Preise von SAP an die Plattform übergeben um diese für die Vertriebsmitarbeiter später bereithalten zu können. Dabei verarbeitet die prodexa Cloud PIM Platform nicht nur technische Produktmerkmale, sondern über das integrierte Digital Asset Management auch Medieninhalte Abbildungen, technische Dokumente, Zertifikate oder auch Videoinhalte, welche direkt als Youtube-Link den Produkten zugewiesen werden können. Durch die rein webbasierte Lösung, können externe Inhalte beliebiger Art direkt in das PIM übernommen und auch angezeigt werden.

Ausblick

In der nächsten Projektphase denkt Metallit darüber nach, den Zugriff auf die Vertriebsplattform OPC auch für die derzeit über 90.000 Kunden auszuweiten, um einen noch schnelleren Zugang auf die Produkte zu ermöglichen. So können zeitliche Verzögerungen im Bestellprozess vermieden und einfache Produktdetail Nachfragen zeitnah im Self-Service beantwortet werden.