News & Blog

"Choosing the right PIM for your business"

Excerpt: PIM has become the most popular main tool for online retailers through the past years but the question is “Which PIM is right for your company?” Not all PIM systems meet every company’s requirements. We share with you the touchstones about choosing the right PIM for your business.

Separating the wheat from the chaff

As a retailer, you have to take in information about thousands of products from different manufacturers and prepare the information for various output channels. That’s why it’s important to select a PIM system that is scalable from the start so it can keep pace with the enormous growth of data in the coming years.

But now the question is how to separate the literal wheat from the chaff where scalability is considered. How can you determine which PIM system is really capable of managing the enormous growth of product data?

One solid approach for answering questions like this: references. Take a look at the practical reality of the PIM world. Visit PIM users with comparable requirement profiles. See for yourself how these companies process and prepare large volumes of data and how they have adapted themselves and their PIM system for constant data growth. Reach for the phone and talk to reference customers. In short: Obtain some practical insight as a solid foundation of information when making your decision. Of course, don’t forget to also talk with potential PIM providers in order to underpin scaling prospects, opportunities and options with reliable data and facts.

In this context, you should also ask how effectively the software is constructed to process a large quantity of data with the least possible resources. If you want to add more products to the system, the database will also have to process more volume in the background. PIM systems designed for a great deal of scalability will not have any problem.

The following questions can also help you to evaluate a potential PIM system in terms of scalability and growth:

  • Is the PIM system designed for any product groups/ranges or only for specific industries:
  • International operation: Can different currencies and measurement units be processed at the same time?
  • How flexible are work flows and release processes? For example, can country-specific regulations or specific rules be integrated?

A significant component of your evaluation should be the matter of integrating your PIM system into existing IT landscapes, for example linking with ERP and/or CRM systems. Ideally, the PIM provider will offer you a variety of integration options for each system that you would like to use. You should also always enquire about the customer situations for which the provider has already carried out these integrations during past projects.

There are a number of PIM manufacturers that have based their marketing approach on the scalability of their products. But these statements don’t always keep their promise. That’s why it’s so important to put scalability at the top of the evaluation list during system selection to ensure that the software of your choice will still perform with a large and growing number of complex products.

More articles:

How Digital Asset Management can revolutionize your video marketing

More and more companies are turning to video marketing as part of their digital marketing strategy. With good reason, as it turns out. But how can the increasing demands on multimedia content be mastered successfully? And how can the increasing amounts of data be managed efficiently?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

What is the return of experience?

In addition to ROI (Return of Investment), ROX (Return of Experience) is a metric that should play a big role in e-commerce. Customer experience determines up-selling or cross-selling and also post-purchase reviews. The direct link between customer perception, customer experience and actual behavioral changes is quantified by ROX. The engagement of the employees in the service departments of the companies is also included in the consideration of the ROX. A PIM helps deliver the best quality data across all touchpoints.

Successfully entering the digital transformation with a PIM system 

A Product Information Management System (PIM) makes the digitization of product data much easier and frees up space for other projects. A daring thesis? Yes! We know how it really works and explain in this article how the transformation succeeds.
Digital transformation means, especially for manufacturing companies, the right handling of product information. With a PIM system, workflows are simplified and information is available centrally.

Higher rankings through Product Listing Optimization

We all know that SEO is essential for the success of a product. But Product Listing Optimization (PLO) also makes a significant contribution to the marketing success of a product. It makes it possible to adapt the product content to the algorithm of the various channels in order to achieve sustainably better rankings.

Quick Commerce – the new trend for online commerce

After e-commerce comes Q-commerce. Quick Commerce (Q-Commerce) is all about speed and delivering the best customer experience. And doing so within the shortest possible time. The market is growing rapidly, right now it’s mostly groceries, but pharmaceuticals are the next quick commerce segment.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Automotive & Vehicles” – download now for free (German version).

Experience the benefits live

Find out more about prodexa Cloud for your industry in a non-binding and individual product tour.

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM with marketplace features” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud – “PIM for technical wholesale” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Tools & DIY” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Mechanical Engineering & Technology” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Construction Materials, Sanitary & HVAC” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Commerce & B2B” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Electronics & Cables” – download now for free (German version).

News & Blog

"PIM richtig auswählen"

Einführung: Bei der Auswahl des richtigen PIM-Systems gilt es eine ganze Reihe von essenziellen Fragen für sich selbst zu beantworten.

Die Spreu vom Weizen trennen

Als Händler müssen Sie schon heute Tausende von Produktinformationen von unterschiedlichen Herstellern entgegennehmen und für diverse Ausgabekanäle aufbereiten. Daher ist es wichtig, Ihr PIM System von Anfang an so auszuwählen, dass es skalierbar ist, damit es auch in den nächsten Jahren mit dem riesigen Datenwachstum Schritt hält.

Nun stellt sich aber die Frage, wie man in Sachen Skalierbarkeit die sprichwörtliche Spreu vom Weizen trennt. Wie kann man feststellen, welches PIM System wirklich in der Lage ist, das riesige Wachstum der Produktdaten zu bewältigen?

Ein guter Ansatz für die Beantwortung von Fragen wie dieser sind Referenzen. Schauen Sie sich in der Praxis der PIM-Welt um. Besuchen Sie PIM Anwender mit vergleichbarem Anforderungsprofil. Lassen Sie sich zeigen, wie diese Unternehmen hohe Datenvolumina verarbeiten und aufbereiten und wie sie sich und ihr PIM System auf stetiges Datenwachstum eingestellt haben. Greifen Sie zum Telefon und tauschen Sie sich mit Referenzkunden aus. Kurzum: Schaffen Sie sich durch praxisnahe Einblicke eine stabile Informationsbasis für Ihre Entscheidung. Nicht zu vergessen sind natürlich auch die Gespräche mit potenziellen PIM-Anbietern, um Skalierungsperspektiven, -möglichkeiten und -optionen mit belastbaren Daten und Fakten zu unterlegen.

Wichtige Fragen für das passende PIM-System

In diesem Zusammenhang sollten Sie auch die Frage stellen, wie effektiv die Software aufgebaut ist, damit sie mit möglichst geringen Ressourcen eine hohe Datenmenge verarbeitet kann. Je mehr Produkte Sie in das System einfügen möchten, desto mehr Volumen muss die Datenbank im Hintergrund verarbeiten können. Auf hohe Skalierbarkeit ausgerichtete PIM Systeme werden damit keine Probleme haben.

Des Weiteren helfen Ihnen die folgenden Fragen, um ein potenzielles PIM System in Bezug auf Skalierbarkeit und Wachstum zu evaluieren:

  • Ist das PIM System für beliebige Produktgruppen/Sortimente ausgelegt oder nur für bestimmte Branchen?
  • Internationalität: Können unterschiedliche Währungen und Maßeinheiten parallel verarbeitet werden?
  • Wie flexibel sind Workflows und Freigabeprozesse? Können zum Beispiel länderspezifische Regularien oder spezifische  Vorgaben eingebunden werden?

Skalierbarkeit und Anbindungsoptionen

Ein wesentlicher Bestandteil Ihrer Evaluierung sollte die Frage der Integration Ihres PIM Systems in vorhandene IT-Landschaften darstellen, beispielsweise die Verknüpfung mit ERP- und/oder CRM-Systemen. Im besten Fall eröffnet Ihnen der PIM Anbieter eine Vielzahl von Integrationsmöglichkeiten für jedes System, das Sie nutzen möchten. Auch sollten Sie stets hinterfragen, in welchen Kundensituationen der Anbieter diese Integrationen schon im Rahmen eines Projekts durchgeführt hat.

Es gibt eine Vielzahl von PIM Herstellern, die sich die Skalierbarkeit ihrer Produkte auf die Marketingfahnen geschrieben haben. Nicht immer halten diese Aussagen, was sie versprechen. Deshalb ist es so bedeutsam, das Thema Skalierbarkeit bei der Systemauswahl weit nach oben auf die Evaluierungsliste zu setzen und damit sicherzustellen, dass die Software Ihrer Wahl auch bei einer großen und wachsenden Anzahl von komplexen Produkten performant bleibt.

Überzeugen Sie sich von unserer PIM-Lösung einfach selbst – Mit unserer Online Demo:

Weitere Beiträge:

Cross-Border-E-Commerce: Wieso PIM den Grundpfeiler setzt

Wir demonstrieren die wichtigsten Aufgaben, mit denen Händler und Hersteller bei der Ausrichtung ihres E-Commerce Angebotes auf neuen Märkten konfrontiert werden und erklären, weshalb ein PIM-System die Basis für die internationale Expansion darstellt.

Prozessoptimierung zwischen Lieferanten und Händlern mittels PIM

Produktdaten von zahlreichen Lieferanten und Herstellen manuell zu erfassen kann für Händler in sehr zeitaufwendige und fehleranfällige Prozesse münden. Wir zeigen auf, wie Händler durch ein intelligentes Lieferanten-Onboarding schnell und sicher Produktdaten übernehmen und dadurch skalierbare Workflows sicherstellen.

Die führenden Marktplätze und wie Sie erfolgreich auf ihnen verkaufen

Online-Marktplätze finden im B2B und B2C aufgrund Ihrer enormen Reichweite immer stärker Berücksichtigung bei der Gestaltung der eigenen E-Commerce-Strategie. Wir zeigen auf, welche Online-Marktplätze in Deutschland führend sind und geben Ihnen Tipps an die Hand, wie Sie Ihre Produkte
erfolgreich auf diesen vermarkten.

Wie Digital Asset Management Ihr Video-Marketing revolutioniert

Immer mehr Unternehmen setzen auf Videomarketing als Teil ihrer digitalen Marketingstrategie. Zurecht, wie sich zeigt. Doch wie lassen sich die zunehmenden Anforderungen an multimedialen Inhalten erfolgreich meistern? Und wie können die zunehmenden Datenmengen erfolgreich verwaltet werden?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Was ist der Return of Experience? Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Neben dem ROI (Return of Investment), ist der ROX (Return of Experience) eine Kennzahl, die im E-Commerce eine große Rolle spielen sollte. Die Customer Experience entscheidet über Up- oder Cross-Selling und auch über die Bewertungen nach dem Kauf. Die direkte Verknüpfung zwischen der Kundenwahrnehmung, dem Kundenerlebnis und den tatsächlichen Verhaltensänderungen wird durch den ROX quantifiziert. Das Engagement der Mitarbeiter in den Serviceabteilungen der Unternehmen fließt ebenso in die Betrachtung des ROX ein. Ein PIM hilft dabei, die beste Datenqualität an allen Touchpoints zu liefern.

Jetzt Vorteile live erleben

Lernen Sie prodexa Cloud für Ihre Branche in einer unverbindlichen und individuellen Produkttour kennen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Automobil und Fahrzeuge” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM mit Marktplatzfunktionen” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für den “Technischen Großhandel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Werkzeuge und DIY” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Maschinenbau und Technik” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Baustoffe und SHK” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Handel und B2B” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Elektronik und Kabel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.