News & Blog

"PIM for brands and retailers in e-commerce"

Excerpt: Retailers in e-commerce maintain on average 200 attributes for each product they sell. We show how companies can manage these increasing requirements for product data to ensure an up-to-date product experience across all channels.

Until the products of a manufacturer or retailer reach the end consumers, the individual product information passes through more and more customer touchpoints. Today, up-to-date and consistent product data must be present in the customer journey on all relevant channels during the information and purchase decision phases. This means that product data is taking on an increasingly active role for companies in e-commerce.

Traditional ERP systems no longer meet the requirements of globalised e-commerce companies. In order for manufacturers or retailers to be able to market products quickly, they need a central system that centrally stores and processes all relevant and useful product information and distributes it across all e-commerce channels (e.g. websites, online shops, marketplaces, online catalogues, B2B portals). In this context, a PIM system is an indispensable tool for all companies in e-commerce to make the increasing complexity of product data manageable and to simplify and automate workflows. Further information and definitions of the term PIM can be found here.

PIM: The foundation for a better customer experience

The Corona pandemic has helped drive digitisation in the last 2 years and resulted in e-business growing faster than ever before. However, with the strong growth of e-commerce, the requirements for retailers and manufacturers are also growing rapidly at the same time.

When customers shop via e-commerce, they expect simple, reliable, accurate and understandable product descriptions, accompanied by helpful images or videos. If customers and prospects do not find the information they need during their information and purchase decision process, they will quickly switch the channel and jump to the competitor’s offer. Especially nowadays, when there is almost complete market transparency, it is more difficult to differentiate oneself solely through the product or the price.

“Over 90% of companies see the biggest opportunity to differentiate themselves from the competition as expanding the customer experience:”

Source: Gartner Inc., Customer Experience Management Survey 2019

There is a demand for positive customer experiences. Brands are no longer created through advertising alone, but also through customer experiences. To stand out from the competition, companies are keen to offer their customers a personalised customer journey that communicates consistent messages across all channels. In a customer journey, prospects come into contact with numerous brand touchpoints that have an influence on their purchase decision. In addition to indirect brand contact points such as neutral opinions (e.g. rating portals, forums, blogs, etc.), there is a large number of direct brand contact points that are triggered by a brand or a company itself.

It is important for companies to reach their customers with positive emotions through direct touch points. Typical examples from the offline area are e.g. print media. In the online area, the company website, the online shop, marketplaces, online catalogues, B2B portals, social media channels and online marketing campaigns can be mentioned. With increasing digitalisation, there is also an ever more intensive merging of the individual brand contact points. To ensure consistent communication across all channels, PIM systems for managing and distributing product information are becoming increasingly important. Brand messages must be consistent, uniform and complete in order for customers and prospects to have a positive buying experience. All communicated content must be consistent.

In summary, a PIM system supports companies in e-commerce through the following disciplines:

  • Consistent presentation of all brand touchpoints in all target markets
  • Consideration of optimal media formats and file sizes to meet the requirements of specific output channels
  • Improved product advice through the use of multimedia content (images, videos, 3D graphics, etc.)
  • Seamless multi-channel management by avoiding media disruptions

Structure and control your product information with PIM

“Digital retailers, on average, attach 200 attributes to every single product they sell.”

Source: The Forrester Wave: Product Information Management Solutions, 2019

Although (almost) all companies are aware that their product data should be accurate, comprehensive, complete and of high quality, still many companies have not implemented systems to ensure these standards. According to studies, only 30% of manufacturers and retailers have defined requirements for the control of product information. It does not matter whether a company sells 1.000, 1.000.000 or 1.000.000 products. A PIM system helps companies of all sizes to structure the numerous entities and their relationships with each other:

  • Product data
  • Product attributes
  • Product groups and categories
  • Product relations (cross-selling, up-selling, etc.)
  • Media assets (product images, gifs, videos, 3D visualisations, etc.)
  • Supplier data, catalogues
  • Customer profiles

“The global PIM market size is expected to grow from USD 9.0 billion in 2020 to USD 16.0 billion by 2025, at a Compound Annual Growth Rate (CAGR) of 12.2% the forecast period. The major factors driving the growth of the PIM industry include rising demand for PIM solution from flourishing ecommerce industry and increasing need to offering enhanced customer service.”

Source: MarketsandMarkets Analysis, PIM Report 2020

According to the eMarketer forecast for 2021, brick-and-mortar retail grew by 6.3 % last year, while e-commerce grew by 17.9 %. Growth will continue and is expected to account for 23.6% of total retail sales by 2025, up from 11.0% in 2019, while behaviours such as click-and-collect are expected to continue to grow, reaching $140.96 billion in sales by 2024. Retailers will connect with consumers across more channels throughout the customer journey. Social commerce sales are expected to increase by 35.8% to US$ 36.62 billion as early as 2022.

These trends clearly show that PIM is becoming increasingly important as a discipline for e-commerce companies. With Product Information Management software, any type of product data can be captured and updated instantly. All channels considered in the omnichannel product communication refer to the same, correct, consistent data and sustainably improve the customer experience.

How about some practical insights?

Experience live how prodexa Cloud delivers your product information and multimedia content quickly and flexibly to a wide range of channels in line with your brand and at the same time accelerates the content creation and enrichment process. prodexa Cloud is suitable for companies with a simple product strategy and few target markets as well as for multinational corporations with highly complex product and branding strategies. Get in touch now and arrange your no-obligation online demo now.

More articles:

Process optimization between suppliers and retailers using PIM

Manually collecting product data from numerous suppliers and manufacturers can result in very time-consuming and error-prone processes for retailers. We show how retailers can use intelligent supplier onboarding to transfer product data quickly and securely, thereby ensuring scalable workflows.

The leading marketplaces and how to sell successfully on them

Due to their enormous reach, online marketplaces are increasingly being taken into account in B2B and
B2C when designing their own e-commerce strategy. We show which online marketplaces are leading in
Germany and give you tips on how to market your products successfully on them.

How Digital Asset Management can revolutionize your video marketing

More and more companies are turning to video marketing as part of their digital marketing strategy. With good reason, as it turns out. But how can the increasing demands on multimedia content be mastered successfully? And how can the increasing amounts of data be managed efficiently?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

What is the return of experience?

In addition to ROI (Return of Investment), ROX (Return of Experience) is a metric that should play a big role in e-commerce. Customer experience determines up-selling or cross-selling and also post-purchase reviews. The direct link between customer perception, customer experience and actual behavioral changes is quantified by ROX. The engagement of the employees in the service departments of the companies is also included in the consideration of the ROX. A PIM helps deliver the best quality data across all touchpoints.

Experience the benefits live

Find out more about prodexa Cloud for your industry in a non-binding and individual product tour.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Automotive & Vehicles” – download now for free (German version).

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM with marketplace features” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud – “PIM for technical wholesale” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Tools & DIY” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Mechanical Engineering & Technology” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Construction Materials, Sanitary & HVAC” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Commerce & B2B” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Electronics & Cables” – download now for free (German version).

News & Blog

"PIM für Brands und Retailer im E-Commerce"

Einführung: Händler im E-Commerce pflegen durchschnittlich 200 Attribute für jedes Produkt, das sie vertreiben. Wir zeigen auf, wie Unternehmen diese steigenden Anforderungen an Produktdaten beherrschbar machen und kanalübergreifend eine zeitgemäße Product Experience sicherstellen.

Bis die Produkte eines Herstellers oder Händlers bei den Endverbrauchern ankommen, durchlaufen die einzelnen Produktinformationen immer mehr Kontaktpunkte (sogenannte Customer Touchpoints). So müssen aktuelle und konsistente Produktdaten heute in der Customer Journey auf allen relevanten Kanälen während der Informations- und Kaufentscheidungsphasen vertreten sein. Damit nehmen Produktdaten eine immer aktivere Rolle für Unternehmen im E-Commerce ein.

Traditionelle Warenwirtschaftssysteme werden den Anforderungen von globalisierten E-Commerce-Unternehmen nicht mehr gerecht. Damit Hersteller oder Händler Produkte schnell vermarkten können, benötigen sie ein zentrales System, dass alle relevanten und nutzbringenden Produktinformationen zentral speichert, bearbeitet und über alle E-Commerce-Kanäle hinweg verteilt (z.B. Websites, Onlineshops, Marktplätze, Online-Kataloge, B2B-Portale). In diesem Zusammenhang ist ein PIM-System ein unverzichtbares Werkzeug für alle Unternehmen im E-Commerce um die zunehmende Komplexität von Produktdaten handhabbar zu machen und Workflows zu vereinfachen und zu automatisieren. Weitere Informationen und Definitionen zum Begriff PIM finden Sie hier.

PIM: Die Basis für eine bessere Customer Experience

Die Corona-Pandemie hat in den letzten 2 Jahren die Digitalisierung vorangetrieben und dazu beigetragen, dass das E-Business so schnell wächst wie nie zuvor. Mit dem starken Wachstum des E-Commerce wachsen aber auch gleichzeitig die Anforderungen an die Händler und Hersteller rapide.

Wenn Kunden über den elektronischen Handel einkaufen, erwarten sie einfache, zuverlässige, genaue und verständliche Produktbeschreibungen, die mit hilfreichen Bildern oder Videos versehen sind. Wenn Kunden und Interessenten während ihres Informations- und Kaufentscheidungsprozesses nicht die Informationen finden, die sie benötigen, werden sie schnell den Kanal wechseln und zum Angebot des Wettbewerbers springen. Speziell in der heutigen Zeit, wo eine nahezu vollkommene Markttransparenz herrscht, ist es umso schwieriger sich ausschließlich über das Produkt oder den Preis zu differenzieren.

„Über 90% der Unternehmen sehen die größte Chance, um sich vom Wettbewerb zu differenzieren, in dem Ausbau der Customer Experience:“

Quelle: Gartner Inc. „Customer Experience Management Survey“, 2019

Positive Kundenerlebnisse sind gefragt. Marken entstehen heute nicht mehr nur durch Werbung, sondern auch durch Kundenerfahrungen. Um sich vom Wettbewerb abzuheben sind Unternehmen daran gelegen, ihren Kunden eine persönliche Customer Journey zu bieten, welche konsistente Botschaften über alle Kanäle kommuniziert. In einer Customer Journey kommen Interessenten mit zahlreichen Markenkontaktpunkten in Berührung, die einen Einfluss auf ihre Kaufentscheidung haben. Neben indirekten Markenkontaktpunkten wie z.B. neutralen Meinungen (z.B. Bewertungsportale, Foren, Blogs, etc.), gibt es eine Vielzahl an direkten Markenkontaktpunkten, die von einer Marke bzw. einem Unternehmen selbst ausgelöst werden.

Für Unternehmen ist es wichtig über die direkten Berührungspunkte ihre Kunden mit positiven Emotionen zu erreichen. Typische Beispiele aus dem Offline-Bereich sind z.B. Printmedien. Im Online-Bereich können vor allem die Unternehmenswebsite, der Online-Shop, Marktplätze, Online-Kataloge, B2B-Poratle, Social-Media-Kanäle, sowie Online-Marketing-Kampagnen genannt werden. Mit der zunehmenden Digitalisierung erfolgt auch eine immer intensivere Verschmelzung der einzelnen Markenkontaktpunkte. Um eine konsistente Kommunikation über alle Kanäle zu gewährleisten, werden PIM-Systeme zur Verwaltung und Distribution von Produktinformationen immer wichtiger. Markenbotschaften müssen konsistent, einheitlich und vollständig sein, damit Kunden und Interessenten ein positives Kauferlebnis erfahren. Alle kommunizierten Inhalte müssen in sich konsequent und deckend sein.

Zusammenfassend unterstützt ein PIM-System Unternehmen im E-Commerce durch folgende Disziplinen:

  • Konsistente Ausgestaltung aller Markenkontaktpunkte in allen Zielmärkten
  • Berücksichtigung von optimalen Medienformaten und Dateigrößen, um die Anforderungen der spezifischen Ausgabekanäle zu erfüllen
  • Verbesserte Produktberatung durch Einsatz von multimedialem Content (Bilder, Videos, 3D-Modelle, etc.)
  • Nahtloses Multi-Channel-Management durch Vermeidung von Medienbrüchen

Mittels PIM die Komplexität verringern und Daten beherrschbar machen

“Digital retailers, on average, attach 200 attributes to every single product they sell.”

Quelle: The Forrester Wave: Product Information Management Solutions, 2019

Obwohl sich (fast) alle Unternehmen bewusst sind, dass ihre Produktdaten korrekt, umfassend, vollständig und von hoher Qualität sein sollten, haben immer noch viele Unternehmen keine Systeme implementiert um diese Standards zu gewährleisten. Studien zufolge haben nur 30% der Hersteller und Einzelhändler Anforderungen für die Kontrolle von Produktinformationen definiert. Dabei spielt es keine Rolle ob ein Unternehmen 1.000, 100.000 oder 1.000.000 Produkte vertreibt. Ein PIM-System hilft Unternehmen jeglicher Größe dabei, die zahlreichen Entitäten und deren Beziehungen untereinander zu strukturieren:

  • Produktdaten
  • Produkt-Attribute
  • Produktgruppen und Kategorien
  • Produktverbindungen (Cross-Selling, Up-Selling, etc.)
  • Mediendateien (Produktbilder, Gifs, Videos, 3D-Visualisierungen, etc.)
  • Zuliefererdaten, Kataloge
  • Kundenprofile
“The global PIM market size is expected to grow from USD 9.0 billion in 2020 to USD 16.0 billion by 2025, at a Compound Annual Growth Rate (CAGR) of 12.2% the forecast period. The major factors driving the growth of the PIM industry include rising demand for PIM solution from flourishing ecommerce industry and increasing need to offering enhanced customer service.”

Quelle: MarketsandMarkets Analysis, PIM Report

Laut der eMarketer-Prognose für 2021 wuchs der stationäre Handel im vergangenen Jahr um 6,3 %, während im E-Commerce ein Wachstum von 17,9 % zu verzeichnen ist. Das Wachstum wird sich fortsetzen und soll bis 2025 23,6 % des gesamten Einzelhandelsumsatzes ausmachen, gegenüber 11,0 % im Jahr 2019. Gleichzeitig wird erwartet, dass Verhaltensweisen wie Click-and-Collect weiter zunehmen und bis 2024 einen Umsatz von 140,96 Milliarden US-Dollar erreichen werden. Einzelhändler werden sich mit den Verbrauchern während der gesamten Customer Journey über immer mehr Kanäle verbinden. Der Umsatz im Bereich Social Commerce soll bereits im Jahr 2022 um 35,8 % auf 36,62 Mrd. US-Dollar steigen.

Diese Trends zeigen deutlich auf, dass PIM als Disziplin für E-Commerce-Unternehmen immer wichtiger wird. Mit Product Information Management Software lassen sich jegliche Arten von Produktdaten erfassen und sofort aktualisieren. Alle Kanäle, die in ihrer Omnichannel-Produktkommunikation berücksichtigt werden, beziehen sich auf die gleichen, korrekten, konsistenten Daten und verbessern nachhaltig die Customer Experience.

PIM live erleben?

Erfahren Sie live wie prodexa Cloud Ihre Produktinformationen und ihren multimedialen Content schnell und flexibel markenkonform in die verschiedensten Kanäle ausspielt und gleichzeitig den Content-Creation- und Enrichment-Prozess beschleunigt. prodexa Cloud eignet sich sowohl für Unternehmen mit einer einfachen Produktstrategie und wenigen Zielmärkten, als auch für multinationale Konzerne mit hochkomplexen Produkt- und Branding-Strategien. Nehmen Sie jetzt Kontakt auf und vereinbaren Sie Ihre unverbindliche Online-Demo.

Weitere Beiträge:

Cross-Border-E-Commerce: Wieso PIM den Grundpfeiler setzt

Wir demonstrieren die wichtigsten Aufgaben, mit denen Händler und Hersteller bei der Ausrichtung ihres E-Commerce Angebotes auf neuen Märkten konfrontiert werden und erklären, weshalb ein PIM-System die Basis für die internationale Expansion darstellt.

Prozessoptimierung zwischen Lieferanten und Händlern mittels PIM

Produktdaten von zahlreichen Lieferanten und Herstellen manuell zu erfassen kann für Händler in sehr zeitaufwendige und fehleranfällige Prozesse münden. Wir zeigen auf, wie Händler durch ein intelligentes Lieferanten-Onboarding schnell und sicher Produktdaten übernehmen und dadurch skalierbare Workflows sicherstellen.

Die führenden Marktplätze und wie Sie erfolgreich auf ihnen verkaufen

Online-Marktplätze finden im B2B und B2C aufgrund Ihrer enormen Reichweite immer stärker Berücksichtigung bei der Gestaltung der eigenen E-Commerce-Strategie. Wir zeigen auf, welche Online-Marktplätze in Deutschland führend sind und geben Ihnen Tipps an die Hand, wie Sie Ihre Produkte
erfolgreich auf diesen vermarkten.

Wie Digital Asset Management Ihr Video-Marketing revolutioniert

Immer mehr Unternehmen setzen auf Videomarketing als Teil ihrer digitalen Marketingstrategie. Zurecht, wie sich zeigt. Doch wie lassen sich die zunehmenden Anforderungen an multimedialen Inhalten erfolgreich meistern? Und wie können die zunehmenden Datenmengen erfolgreich verwaltet werden?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Was ist der Return of Experience? Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Neben dem ROI (Return of Investment), ist der ROX (Return of Experience) eine Kennzahl, die im E-Commerce eine große Rolle spielen sollte. Die Customer Experience entscheidet über Up- oder Cross-Selling und auch über die Bewertungen nach dem Kauf. Die direkte Verknüpfung zwischen der Kundenwahrnehmung, dem Kundenerlebnis und den tatsächlichen Verhaltensänderungen wird durch den ROX quantifiziert. Das Engagement der Mitarbeiter in den Serviceabteilungen der Unternehmen fließt ebenso in die Betrachtung des ROX ein. Ein PIM hilft dabei, die beste Datenqualität an allen Touchpoints zu liefern.

Jetzt Vorteile live erleben

Lernen Sie prodexa Cloud für Ihre Branche in einer unverbindlichen und individuellen Produkttour kennen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Automobil und Fahrzeuge” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM mit Marktplatzfunktionen” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für den “Technischen Großhandel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Werkzeuge und DIY” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Maschinenbau und Technik” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Baustoffe und SHK” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Handel und B2B” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Elektronik und Kabel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.