News & Blog

"PIM simply explained"

Excerpt: Product Information Management (PIM) is becoming an increasingly important discipline for managers from marketing, sales and technical product management due to increasing digitalisation and the merging of different brand contact points. We show what is behind the term "PIM" and what advantages PIM software brings to companies.

Product Information Management (PIM) has become an increasingly important discipline for marketing, sales and (technical) product management managers, especially in recent years due to increasing digitalisation. Especially for companies that focus on an omnichannel strategy, PIM systems have taken on an active role. They support managers in managing all relevant product data and information in a central location and distributing it correctly to the various channels, thereby accelerating the marketing of products and ensuring consistent product communication at the same time.

It is more than just a software: definition of “PIM“

“Product Information Management Systems (or PIM systems) control and manage product-relevant data at a central point in a company. This is technical, logistical, marketing-relevant or other information. They distribute it – independently of media, departments and across various other IT systems – to different channels. This means that the information only has to be kept in one system, namely the PIM system.”

Source: PIM Directory, SDZeCOM

A PIM system is responsible for the central collection, management and enrichment of product information, the cataloguing of products and the distribution of product data to other sales and marketing channels. As a central data point, a PIM system combines all product information that is collected in the value chain at different points in product management, marketing, sales and logistics. During the consolidation of the data, it is simultaneously refined, translated and controlled. This is the only way to ensure that the product information is complete, correct and consistent and meets the industry-specific quality requirements. For this reason, a PIM system is also often referred to as a “single source of truth”.

A PIM system always aims to find solutions to all the problems that companies can encounter in product data management. If you distribute numerous products through diverse sales channels (whether in a B2C or B2B), then some of these problems will certainly sound familiar to you:

  • Complexity of data handling, which increases with the product range
  • Inconsistent data as it is maintained in parallel on multiple systems (data silos)
  • Too much data that needs to be manually sorted in your system (attributes, technical data, digital assets, SKUs, etc.)
  • Constantly changing product specifications (prices, stocks, descriptions, etc.)
  • The management of different supplier data
  • The translation and provision of product information for different markets and countries
  • The increasing number of marketing and sales channels you need to keep under control (online shops, online product catalogues, marketplaces, apps, shops, print)

Advantages and benefits of “PIM” for every sector

Brands and retailers who want to distribute their products perfectly also need to present their products perfectly. For this, they need perfect product information, on all channels. Channel-hopping is a normal part of shopping behaviour these days. Customers combine the most diverse touchpoints in their information and purchase decision process. They research in catalogues, online or in-store and finally conclude their purchase with the supplier who offers them additional added value. This omnichannel commerce approach is no longer limited to the B2C sector. Customers in the B2B sector increasingly expect a cross-channel buying experience as well.

In the following, you will find some of the advantages of a PIM system for medium-sized and large companies across all industries:

  • Consistent product communication and better brand awareness: Customers inform themselves about numerous channels and touchpoints during their customer journey. Consistent product information is important to align the individual communication channels and ensure a positive customer experience.
  • More efficient processes: For historical reasons, companies often process the different communication channels in separate organisational units. For example, data in marketing, sales, product management and logistics are often maintained separately. This results in many potential sources of error in data management and potential synergies are not utilised. A PIM system avoids duplicate data maintenance and centralises all product-related data in a media-neutral manner. Individual validation rules also continuously optimise data quality and prevent incorrect information.
  • Faster time-to-market: Thanks to the improved quality, actuality and consistency of data, output channels such as online shops, websites, portals, marketplaces, apps, catalogues, etc. can be used more easily and quickly. Dynamic and automatic processes reduce production times in marketing and sales, which means that products can be marketed more quickly.
  • More sales impact: Clean and structured product information improves the ranking of product pages and ultimately improves visibility in search engines. It increases the time spent in the online shop, shortens the purchase decision process and improves the conversion rate. Appropriate product relations enable cross-selling and up-selling potential to be recognised at an early stage and exploited more quickly. At the same time, complete product descriptions reduce incorrect orders and lower return rates.

“Complete and correct product data is also a service feature that customers appreciate. People who know what they are buying are more satisfied. For 81 % of the suppliers, product data is one of the most important levers for reducing returns.”

Source: German Study “Retourenmanagement im Online-Handel – Das Beste daraus machen.”

Discover the advantages of PIM for your industry

Every industry and every business model has its own requirements for a PIM system. For the automotive industry, for example, managing vehicle data formats such as TecDoc, PIES, ACES and Fraga is an important challenge. Companies from the retail sector, on the other hand, attach great importance to the fast syndication of product data across all online and offline channels. Our experts will demonstrate the advantages of prodexa Cloud for your industry on the basis of similar customer projects with a similar requirement profile.

More articles:

How Digital Asset Management can revolutionize your video marketing

More and more companies are turning to video marketing as part of their digital marketing strategy. With good reason, as it turns out. But how can the increasing demands on multimedia content be mastered successfully? And how can the increasing amounts of data be managed efficiently?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

What is the return of experience?

In addition to ROI (Return of Investment), ROX (Return of Experience) is a metric that should play a big role in e-commerce. Customer experience determines up-selling or cross-selling and also post-purchase reviews. The direct link between customer perception, customer experience and actual behavioral changes is quantified by ROX. The engagement of the employees in the service departments of the companies is also included in the consideration of the ROX. A PIM helps deliver the best quality data across all touchpoints.

Successfully entering the digital transformation with a PIM system 

A Product Information Management System (PIM) makes the digitization of product data much easier and frees up space for other projects. A daring thesis? Yes! We know how it really works and explain in this article how the transformation succeeds.
Digital transformation means, especially for manufacturing companies, the right handling of product information. With a PIM system, workflows are simplified and information is available centrally.

Higher rankings through Product Listing Optimization

We all know that SEO is essential for the success of a product. But Product Listing Optimization (PLO) also makes a significant contribution to the marketing success of a product. It makes it possible to adapt the product content to the algorithm of the various channels in order to achieve sustainably better rankings.

Quick Commerce – the new trend for online commerce

After e-commerce comes Q-commerce. Quick Commerce (Q-Commerce) is all about speed and delivering the best customer experience. And doing so within the shortest possible time. The market is growing rapidly, right now it’s mostly groceries, but pharmaceuticals are the next quick commerce segment.

Experience the benefits live

Find out more about prodexa Cloud for your industry in a non-binding and individual product tour.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Automotive & Vehicles” – download now for free (German version).

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM with marketplace features” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud – “PIM for technical wholesale” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Tools & DIY” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Mechanical Engineering & Technology” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Construction Materials, Sanitary & HVAC” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Commerce & B2B” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Electronics & Cables” – download now for free (German version).

News & Blog

"PIM einfach erklärt"

Einführung: Product Information Management (PIM) wird durch die zunehmende Digitalisierung und die Verschmelzung von unterschiedlichen Markenkontaktpunkten für Verantwortliche aus dem Marketing, Vertrieb und technischem Produktmanagement zu einer immer wichtigeren Disziplin. Wir zeigen auf, was sich hinter dem Begriff „PIM“ verbirgt und welche Vorteile PIM-Software für Unternehmen bringt.

Product Information Management (PIM) ist vor allem in den letzten Jahren durch die zunehmende Digitalisierung für Verantwortliche aus dem Marketing, Vertrieb und (technischem) Produktmanagement zu einer immer wichtigeren Disziplin geworden. Speziell bei Unternehmen, die eine Omnichannel Strategie fokussieren, haben PIM-Systeme eine aktive Rolle übernommen. Sie unterstützen die Verantwortlichen dabei, alle relevanten Produktdaten und Informationen an einer zentralen Stelle zu verwalten und sauber an die unterschiedlichen Kanäle auszuspielen, wodurch die Vermarktung von Produkten beschleunigt und gleichzeitig eine konsistente Produktkommunikation gewähreistet wird.

PIM: Weitaus mehr als eine Software

“Product Information Management Systeme (oder PIM-Systeme) steuern und verwalten produktrelevante Daten an zentraler Stelle eines Unternehmens. Dabei handelt es sich um technische, logistische, marketingrelevante oder andere Informationen. Sie verteilen diese – unabhängig von Medien, Abteilungen und über verschiedene andere IT-Systeme hinweg – auf unterschiedliche Kanäle. Damit müssen die Informationen nur in einem System, nämlich dem PIM-System vorgehalten werden.“

Quelle: PIM Verzeichnis, SDZeCOM

Ein PIM-System ist für die zentrale Erfassung, Verwaltung und Anreicherung von Produktinformationen, die Katalogisierung von Produkten und die Distribution der Produktdaten an andere Vertriebs- und Marketingkanäle verantwortlich. Als zentraler Datenpunkt vereint ein PIM-System sämtliche Produktinformationen, die in der Wertschöpfungskette an unterschiedlichen Stellen im Produktmanagement, Marketing, Vertrieb und in der Logistik gesammelt werden. Während der Konsolidierung der Daten werden diese gleichzeitig veredelt, übersetzt und kontrolliert. Nur so kann sichergestellt werden, dass die Produktinformationen vollständig, korrekt und konsistent sind und den branchenspezifischen Qualitätsanforderungen gerecht werden. Aus diesem Grund wird ein PIM-System auch häufig als „Single Source of Truth“ bezeichnet.

Ein PIM-System zielt stets darauf ab, Lösungen für alle Probleme zu finden, denen Unternehmen im Produktdatenmanagement begegnen können. Wenn Sie zahlreiche Produkte über diverse Vertriebskanäle vertreiben (egal ob im B2C- oder B2B-Umfeld), dann werden Ihnen einige dieser Probleme mit Sicherheit bekannt vorkommen:

  • Komplexität des Datenhandlings, das mit der Breite und Tiefe der Produktpalette zunimmt
  • Inkonsistente und unsaubere Daten, da diese parallel auf mehreren Systemen gepflegt werden (Datensilos)
  • Zu viele Daten, die in Ihrem System manuell geordnet werden müssen (Attribute, technische Daten, digitale Medien, SKUs, uvm.)
  • Ständig wechselnde Produktspezifikationen (Preise, Bestände, Beschreibungen, etc.)
  • Die Verwaltung von unterschiedlichen Lieferantendaten
  • Die Übersetzung und Bereitstellung von Produktinformationen für unterschiedliche Märkte und Länder
  • Die zunehmende Anzahl der Marketing- und Vertriebskanäle, die Sie unter Kontrolle halten müssen (Onlineshops, Online Produktkataloge, Marktplätze, Apps, Filialen, Print)

Branchenübergreifende Vorteile und Nutzen von PIM

Hersteller und Händler, die Ihre Produkte perfekt vermarkten möchten, müssen Ihre Produkte auch perfekt präsentieren. Dafür benötigen Sie perfekte Produktinformationen – und zwar auf allen Kanälen. Channel-Hopping ist heutzutage ein normaler Bestandteil im Einkaufsverhalten. Kunden kombinieren die unterschiedlichsten Touchpoints in ihrem Informations- und Kaufentscheidungsprozess. So recherchieren Sie in Katalogen, online oder stationär und schließen schließlich den Kauf bei dem Anbieter ab, der ihnen einen zusätzlichen Mehrwert bietet. Dieser Omnichannel-Commerce-Ansatz ist längst nicht mehr nur im B2C-Umfeld zu beobachten, auch Kunden im B2B-Umfeld setzen ein kanalübergreifendes Einkaufserlebnis immer mehr als Standard voraus.

Nachfolgend finden Sie einige Vorteile, die sich branchenübergreifend, sowohl für mittelständische, als auch für große Unternehmen durch ein PIM-System ergeben:

  • Konsistente Produktkommunikation und bessere Brand Awareness: Kunden informieren sich während Ihrer Customer Journey über zahlreiche Kanäle und Touchpoints. Konsistente Produktinformationen sind wichtig, um die einzelnen Kommunikationskanäle aufeinander abzustimmen und eine positive Customer Experience sicher zu stellen.
  • Effizientere Prozesse: Aus historischen Gründen werden in Unternehmen die unterschiedlichen Kommunikationskanäle häufig organisatorisch getrennt bearbeitet. So werden Daten im Marketing, Vertrieb, Produktmanagement und in der Logistik häufig separat gepflegt. Dadurch ergeben sich viele Fehlerquellen in der Datenverwaltung und mögliche Synergien werden nicht genutzt. Ein PIM-System vermeidet die doppelte Datenpflege und zentralisiert alle produktbezogenen Daten medienneutral. Individuelle Validierungsregeln optimieren zudem fortlaufend die Datenqualität und verhindern falsche Eintragungen.
  • Schnellere Time-to-Market: Durch die bessere Qualität, Aktualität und Konsistenz von Daten, können Ausgabekanäle wie Onlineshops, Webseiten, Portale, Marktplätze, Apps, Kataloge, etc. einfacher und schneller bespielt werden. Dynamische und automatische Prozesse reduzieren die Produktionszeiten im Marketing und Vertrieb, wodurch sich Produkte schneller vermarkten lassen.
  • Mehr Vertriebserfolg: Saubere und strukturierte Produktinformationen verbessern das Ranking von Produktseiten und verbessern schließlich die Sichtbarkeit in Suchmaschinen. Sie erhöhen die Verweildauer im Onlineshop, verkürzen den Kaufentscheidungsprozess und verbessern die Conversion Rate. Durch passende Produktrelationen werden Cross- und Up-Selling-Potenziale frühzeitig erkannt und stärker ausgeschöpft. Gleichzeitig reduzieren vollständige Produktbeschreibungen falsche Bestellungen und senken die Retourenquoten.

„Vollständige und korrekte Produktdaten sind auch ein Service-Merkmal, das Kunden zu schätzen wissen. Wer weiß, was er kauft, ist zufriedener. Für 81 % der Anbieter sind die Produktdaten eine der wichtigsten Stellschrauben für die Reduzierung von Rücksendungen.“

Quelle: Studie “Retourenmanagement im Online-Handel – Das Beste daraus machen”

Lernen Sie die Vorteile von PIM für Ihre Branche kennen

Jede Branche und jedes Geschäftsmodell hat seine eigenen Anforderungen an ein PIM-System. So ist für die Automobilindustrie beispielsweise die Verwaltung von Fahrzeugdatenformate wie TecDoc, PIES, ACES und Fraga eine weitere Herausforderung im Daten-Handling. Unternehmen aus dem Handel hingegen legen einen großen Wert auf eine schnelle Syndizierung von Produktdaten über alle Online- und Offline-Kanäle. Unsere Experten demonstrieren Ihnen auf Basis ähnlicher Kundenprojekte mit ähnlichem Anforderungsprofil, die Vorteile von prodexa Cloud für Ihre Branche. Vereinbaren Sie jetzt Ihre unverbindliche Online-Demo.

Weitere Beiträge:

Cross-Border-E-Commerce: Wieso PIM den Grundpfeiler setzt

Wir demonstrieren die wichtigsten Aufgaben, mit denen Händler und Hersteller bei der Ausrichtung ihres E-Commerce Angebotes auf neuen Märkten konfrontiert werden und erklären, weshalb ein PIM-System die Basis für die internationale Expansion darstellt.

Prozessoptimierung zwischen Lieferanten und Händlern mittels PIM

Produktdaten von zahlreichen Lieferanten und Herstellen manuell zu erfassen kann für Händler in sehr zeitaufwendige und fehleranfällige Prozesse münden. Wir zeigen auf, wie Händler durch ein intelligentes Lieferanten-Onboarding schnell und sicher Produktdaten übernehmen und dadurch skalierbare Workflows sicherstellen.

Die führenden Marktplätze und wie Sie erfolgreich auf ihnen verkaufen

Online-Marktplätze finden im B2B und B2C aufgrund Ihrer enormen Reichweite immer stärker Berücksichtigung bei der Gestaltung der eigenen E-Commerce-Strategie. Wir zeigen auf, welche Online-Marktplätze in Deutschland führend sind und geben Ihnen Tipps an die Hand, wie Sie Ihre Produkte
erfolgreich auf diesen vermarkten.

Wie Digital Asset Management Ihr Video-Marketing revolutioniert

Immer mehr Unternehmen setzen auf Videomarketing als Teil ihrer digitalen Marketingstrategie. Zurecht, wie sich zeigt. Doch wie lassen sich die zunehmenden Anforderungen an multimedialen Inhalten erfolgreich meistern? Und wie können die zunehmenden Datenmengen erfolgreich verwaltet werden?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Was ist der Return of Experience? Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Neben dem ROI (Return of Investment), ist der ROX (Return of Experience) eine Kennzahl, die im E-Commerce eine große Rolle spielen sollte. Die Customer Experience entscheidet über Up- oder Cross-Selling und auch über die Bewertungen nach dem Kauf. Die direkte Verknüpfung zwischen der Kundenwahrnehmung, dem Kundenerlebnis und den tatsächlichen Verhaltensänderungen wird durch den ROX quantifiziert. Das Engagement der Mitarbeiter in den Serviceabteilungen der Unternehmen fließt ebenso in die Betrachtung des ROX ein. Ein PIM hilft dabei, die beste Datenqualität an allen Touchpoints zu liefern.

Jetzt Vorteile live erleben

Lernen Sie prodexa Cloud für Ihre Branche in einer unverbindlichen und individuellen Produkttour kennen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Automobil und Fahrzeuge” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM mit Marktplatzfunktionen” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für den “Technischen Großhandel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Werkzeuge und DIY” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Maschinenbau und Technik” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Baustoffe und SHK” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Handel und B2B” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Elektronik und Kabel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.