News & Blog

"Optimizing the customer journey using PIM"

Excerpt: A study by Esch/Absatzwirtschaft states that there are well over 200 different customer touchpoints throughout the customer lifecycle. But which touchpoints are relevant for your industry and your target group? And how can you ensure that you are communicating the most current and complete content at all touchpoints?

Increasing number of customer touchpoints in the customer lifecycle 

Nowadays, the average consumer owns about 7 digital devices (e.g. smartphone, smartwatch, TV, desktop PC, notebook, tablet PC, virtual assistants, etc.), of which they use at least three devices every day. Accordingly, the digital customer journey is also becoming increasingly complex. The number of channels and thus also the number of brand contact points through which companies can interact with their customers and prospects is thus constantly increasing. 

Depending on the industry and target group, it is important to identify the relevant channels and touchpoints that arise during the information, purchase and service phases:

  • Information phase before purchase (customer information points): For example, advertising, PR, direct marketing, event marketing, sales promotion, radio, newspapers, social media, blogs, communities, influencer marketing, search engines, landing pages, comparison and rating portals, newsletters, online marketplaces, online demos.
  • Information phase during the purchase (customer points of sale): for example, stationary retail, catalog retail, online stores, websites, apps, call centers, tele-shop, chats
  • Information phase after purchase (customer service points): For example, online stores, websites, apps, service portals, call centers, field service, social media, newsletters, chats, helpdesk

The selection of relevant touchpoints depends on the overarching corporate goals. Typical goals of customer journey management are:

  • Increase brand awareness/image
  • Strengthening customer relationships/CRM
  • Increase customer satisfaction
  • Reduction of returns and cancellations
  • Improvement of customer service

Market research (e.g. customer surveys) can be used to determine the areas in which improvements are needed.

The number of touchpoints needed until conversion

Before potential customers complete a purchase today, they jump from one touchpoint to the next during their purchase decision process, regardless of device and channel. The number of touchpoints a customer goes through depends on the purchase risk, which in turn is made up of financial, psychological, product-related or social risks. 

“Across all sectors, consumers (B2C) need 6 touchpoints before making a purchase decision. While cars require an average of just 3.9 relevant touchpoints, the figure for products from the electronics sector is 9.3. A look at individual sectors shows that FMCG products require an average of 4.6 touchpoints, services 5.7 and consumer durables even 6.5.”

Source: Report „5 Jahre WAVEMAKER Momentum“, 2019

The higher the purchase risk, the longer the purchase decision process usually takes and the more touchpoints a potential customer passes through in his customer journey. In the case of complex, expensive products that require explanation, the purchase decision process can take several weeks or even months. In the B2B world, there are often even more contact points in the purchase decision process, as several players or interest groups are involved, especially in strategic purchase decisions (buying center). Companies that understand their customers’ behavior are more likely to be able to ensure homogeneous communication and a 360° view of the customer. But how can companies achieve this?

Managing complexity in the customer journey successfully

Customer journey analysis enables companies to evaluate the efficiency of existing brand touchpoints. After reviewing the touchpoints, the sequence and impact of the contact points can be analyzed. It is important to check whether the alignment fits the brand (corporate identity) and the strategic corporate goals. At the same time, the analysis helps to better understand the customer experience:

  • Identification of relevant touchpoints: Inventory of all current and potential touchpoints – both direct touchpoints that are influenced by the company itself and indirect touchpoints that are controlled by external stakeholders (e.g., rating portals, blogs, peer reviews, etc.). When considering potential touchpoints, a competitive analysis is advisable. Which competitors use which additional touchpoints?
  • Evaluation of the touchpoints: To which touchpoint can the conversion or purchase ultimately be assigned? Due to the individual, cross-channel information behavior, it is not possible to give a blanket answer to this question. In order to derive detailed recommendations and forecasts as to which touchpoints provide which return on investment (ROI), it is necessary to test different attribution models. Since this process can be very complex, a pragmatic approach is often taken into account in practice, in which the contact points are assigned to the usual phases of buying behavior (touchpoints before the purchase, during the purchase, after the purchase).
  • Prioritization of touchpoints: Which touchpoints have a long-term positive effect on the customer experience, according to the overarching corporate and marketing goals? Which touchpoints may have a negative external impact and should be eliminated or replaced? Customer surveys are suitable for assessing the perception of the touchpoints.
  • Planning and implementation: Here, with the help of a schedule including consideration of responsibilities, measures for the implementation of the planned touchpoints are defined and finally operationally implemented.
  • Continuous tracking: In the monitoring phase, the positive effects of the individual touchpoints must be regularly monitored and improved. Web analysis tools can be used here, especially for online touchpoints.

Touchpoint management helps companies in the B2B and B2C sectors to master the increasing online-offline complexity. Through continuous optimization of the touchpoints, individual company areas become more interconnected and enable a 360° view of the customer.

Customer journey management can be greatly facilitated through the use of product information management. With a PIM system, manufacturers and retailers can effectively manage their product data and their media assets and share it with internal and external stakeholders. As a result, they ensure that customers and prospects are shown the most current and complete content at all relevant touchpoints. Marketing teams are able to provide the right content for the different channels (print, website, online store, marketplaces, B2B portals, social media, etc.) in the right format in the shortest possible time. A PIM system also provides companies with valuable insights into which multimedia content performs best in the customer journey.

Learn about the benefits of our PIM system for your industry and business model in a free, no-obligation online demo and find out how to ensure consistent and compelling corporate and product communication across all relevant channels.

More articles:

Process optimization between suppliers and retailers using PIM

Manually collecting product data from numerous suppliers and manufacturers can result in very time-consuming and error-prone processes for retailers. We show how retailers can use intelligent supplier onboarding to transfer product data quickly and securely, thereby ensuring scalable workflows.

The leading marketplaces and how to sell successfully on them

Due to their enormous reach, online marketplaces are increasingly being taken into account in B2B and
B2C when designing their own e-commerce strategy. We show which online marketplaces are leading in
Germany and give you tips on how to market your products successfully on them.

How Digital Asset Management can revolutionize your video marketing

More and more companies are turning to video marketing as part of their digital marketing strategy. With good reason, as it turns out. But how can the increasing demands on multimedia content be mastered successfully? And how can the increasing amounts of data be managed efficiently?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

What is the return of experience?

In addition to ROI (Return of Investment), ROX (Return of Experience) is a metric that should play a big role in e-commerce. Customer experience determines up-selling or cross-selling and also post-purchase reviews. The direct link between customer perception, customer experience and actual behavioral changes is quantified by ROX. The engagement of the employees in the service departments of the companies is also included in the consideration of the ROX. A PIM helps deliver the best quality data across all touchpoints.

Experience the benefits live

Find out more about prodexa Cloud for your industry in a non-binding and individual product tour.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Automotive & Vehicles” – download now for free (German version).

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM with marketplace features” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud – “PIM for technical wholesale” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Tools & DIY” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Mechanical Engineering & Technology” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Construction Materials, Sanitary & HVAC” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Commerce & B2B” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Electronics & Cables” – download now for free (German version).

News & Blog

"Optimierung der Customer Journey mittels PIM"

Einführung: Eine Studie von Esch/Absatzwirtschaft besagt, dass es während des gesamten Kundenlebenszyklus weit über 200 unterschiedliche Customer Touchpoints gibt. Aber welche Kontaktpunkte sind für Ihre Branche und Ihre Zielgruppe relevant? Und wie können Sie sicherstellen, dass Sie auch auf allen Kontaktpunkten die aktuellen und vollständigen Inhalte kommunizieren?

Steigende Anzahl an Touchpoints im Kundenlebenszyklus 

Heutzutage besitzt der durchschnittliche Verbraucher ca. 7 digitale Endgeräte (z.B. Smartphone, Smartwatch, TV, Desktop-PC, Notebook, Tablet, virtuelle Assistenten, etc.), von denen er mindestens Drei Geräte an jedem Tag nutzt. Entsprechend wird auch die digitale Customer Journey immer komplexer. Die Anzahl der Kanäle und somit auch die Anzahl der Markenkontaktpunkte, über die Unternehmen mit Ihren Kunden und Interessenten interagieren können, steigt damit stetig an. 

Je nach Branche und Zielgruppe gilt es die relevanten Kanäle und Berührungspunkte zu identifizieren, die sich während der Informations-, Kauf- und Service-Phasen ergeben: 

  • Informationsphase vor dem Kauf (Customer Information Points): Zum Beispiel Werbung, PR, Direktmarketing, Eventmarketing, Verkaufsförderung, Radio, Zeitungen, Social Media, Blogs, Communities, Influencer-Marketing, Suchmaschinen, Landingpages, Vergleichs- und Bewertungsportale, Newsletter, Online-Marktplätze, Online-Demo
  • Informationsphase während des Kaufs (Customer Points of Sale): Zum Beispiel stationärer Handel, Versandhandel, Online-Shops, Websites, Apps, Call-Center, Teleshop, Chat
  • Informationsphase nach dem Kauf (Customer Service Points): Zum Beispiel Online-Shops, Websites, Apps, Service-Portale, Call-Center, Außendienst, Social Media, Newsletter, Chat, Helpdesk

Die Auswahl der relevanten Touchpoints hängt von den übergeordneten Unternehmenszielen ab. Typische Ziele des Customer-Journey-Managements sind:

  • Steigerung der Markenbekanntheit/Image
  • Stärkung von Kundenbeziehungen/CRM
  • Erhöhung der Kundenzufriedenheit
  • Reduzierung von Retouren und Stornierungen
  • Verbesserung des Kundenservice

In welchen Bereichen eine Verbesserung von Nöten sind, lässt sich mittels Marktforschung (z.B. Kundenbefragungen) ermitteln.

Die Anzahl der Touchpoints bis zur Conversion

Bevor potentielle Kunden heute einen Kauf abwickeln, springen Sie während Ihres Kaufentscheidungsprozesses unabhängig und flexibel von Gerät und Kanal von einem Touchpoint zum nächsten. Die Anzahl der Touchpoints, die ein Kunde durchläuft, hängt von dem Kaufrisiko ab, welches sich wiederum aus finanziellen, psychologischen, produktbezogenen oder sozialen Risiken zusammensetzt. 

„Branchenübergreifend benötigen Konsumenten (B2C) 6 Kontaktpunkte bis zur Kaufentscheidung. Während bei Autos im Schnitt lediglich 3,9 relevante Touchpoints notwendig sind, liegt der Wert bei Produkten aus dem Elektronikbereich bei 9,3. Ein Blick auf einzelne Sektoren zeigt, dass es für FMCG-Produkte durchschnittlich 4,6 Kontaktpunkte, für Services 5,7 und für Gebrauchsgüter sogar 6,5 Kontaktpunkte braucht.“

Quelle: Report „5 Jahre WAVEMAKER Momentum“, 2019

Je größer das Kaufrisiko ist, desto länger dauert in der Regel auch der Kaufentscheidungsprozess und umso mehr Touchpoints durchläuft ein potentieller Kunde in seiner Customer Journey. Bei komplexen, erklärungsbedürftigen und teuren Produkten kann sich der Kaufentscheidungsprozess über mehrere Wochen oder sogar Monate hinziehen. Im B2B-Umfeld werden häufig noch mehr Kontaktpunkte im Kaufentscheidungsprozess durchlaufen, da vor allem bei strategischen Kaufentscheidungen auch mehrere Akteure bzw. Interessengruppen involviert werden (Buying-Center). Unternehmen, die das Verhalten ihrer Kunden verstehen, sind eher in der Lage eine homogene Kommunikation und eine 360°-Sicht auf den Kunden zu gewährleisten. Doch wie können Unternehmen das erreichen?

Komplexität in der Customer Journey erfolgreich managen

Die Analyse der Customer-Journey ermöglicht Unternehmen die Effizienz der bestehenden Markenkontaktpunkte zu bewerten. Nach einer Bestandsaufnahme der Touchpoints lässt sich die Reihenfolge und die Wirkungsweise der Kontaktpunkte analysieren. Es gilt zu überprüfen, ob die Ausrichtung zur Marke (Corporate Identity) und zu den strategischen Unternehmenszielen passt. Gleichzeitig hilft die Analyse dabei, die Customer Experience besser zu verstehen:

  • Identifikation relevanter Touchpoints: Bestandsaufnahme aller gegenwärtigen und potenziellen Touchpoints – sowohl direkte Touchpoints die vom Unternehmen selbst beeinflusst werden, als auch indirekte Touchpoints die von externen Interessensgruppen kontrolliert werden (z.B. Bewertungsportale, Blogs, Peer Reviews, etc.). Bei der Berücksichtigung von potenziellen Touchpoints ist eine Wettbewerbsanalyse anzuraten. Welche Wettbewerber nutzen welche zusätzlichen Touchpoints?
  • Evaluation der Touchpoints: Welchem Touchpoint kann schließlich die Conversion bzw. der Kauf zugeordnet werden? Aufgrund des individuellen, kanalübergreifenden Informationsverhaltens ist die Beantwortung dieser Frage nicht pauschal möglich. Um detaillierte Empfehlungen und Prognosen abzuleiten, welche Kontaktpunkte welchen Return on Investment (ROI) leisten, gilt es unterschiedliche Attributionsmodelle zu testen. Da dieser Prozess sehr komplex sein kann, wird oftmals ein pragmatischer Ansatz in der Praxis berücksichtigt, bei dem die Kontaktpunkte den üblichen Phasen der Kaufverhaltensforschung zugeordnet werden (Touchpoints vor dem Kauf, während des Kaufs, nach dem Kauf).
  • Priorisierung der Touchpoints: Welche Touchpoints haben, gemessen an den übergeordneten Unternehmens- und Marketingzielen, eine langfristig positive Wirkung für das Kundenerlebnis? Welche Touchpoints haben ggf. eine negative Außenwirkung und sollten eliminiert oder ersetzt werden? Für die Beurteilung der Wahrnehmung der Kontaktpunkte eignen sich Kundenbefragungen.
  • Planung und Umsetzung: Hier werden unter Zuhilfenahme eines Zeitplans inkl. Berücksichtigung von Verantwortlichkeiten Maßnahmen für die Umsetzung der geplanten Touchpoints definiert und schließlich operativ umgesetzt.
  • Kontinuierliches Tracking: In der Monitoring-Phase gilt es die positiven Erlebnis Wirkungen der einzelnen Touchpoints regelmäßig zu kontrollieren und zu verbessern. Speziell für die Online-Touchpoints können hier Webanalyse-Tools eingesetzt werden.

Touchpoint-Management unterstützt Unternehmen im B2B- und B2C-Umfeld die zunehmende Online-Offline-Komplexität beherrschbar zu machen. Durch eine kontinuierliche Optimierung der Touchpoints vernetzen sich einzelne Unternehmensbereiche stärker miteinander und ermöglichen eine 360°-Sicht auf den Kunden.

Das Customer-Journey-Management kann durch den Einsatz von Product-Information-Management erheblich erleichtert werden. Mit einem PIM-System können Hersteller und Händler ihre Produktdaten und ihre digitalen Medien effektiv verwalten und mit internen und externen Interessengruppen teilen. Dadurch stellen sie sicher, dass Kunden und Interessenten an allen relevanten Touchpoints die aktuellen und vollständigen Inhalte angezeigt werden. Marketing-Teams sind in der Lage, die richtigen Inhalte für die unterschiedlichen Kanäle (Print, Website, Online-Shop, Marktplätze, B2B-Portale, Social Media, etc.) im richtigen Format in kürzester Zeit zur Verfügung zu stellen. Ein PIM-System liefert Unternehmen zudem wertvolle Insights, welche multimedialen Inhalte in der Customer Journey am besten abschneiden.  

Lernen Sie in einer kostenlosen und unverbindlichen Online-Demo die Vorteile unseres PIM-Systems für Ihre Branche und Geschäftsmodell kennen und erfahren Sie, wie Sie eine einheitliche und überzeugende Unternehmens- und Produktkommunikation auf allen relevanten Kanälen sicherstellen.

Weitere Beiträge:

PIM für KMU – worauf ist zu achten?

Professioneller Omnichannel Commerce ist längst nicht mehr eine Disziplin, die ausschließlich große Unternehmen und Konzerne betrifft. Der boomende Markt an digitalen Lösungsanbietern öffnet auch kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen die Türen zu einem zeitgemäßen Produktdaten-Management. Wir zeigen auf, wieso ein PIM-System auch für KMUs von Vorteil ist und worauf sie bei der Auswahl achten sollten.

Omnichannel – The new normal für Händler

Omnichannel als “The New Normal”. Die Omnichannel Excellence Study 2022 von Google, zeigt, wie gut deutsche Retailer auf die Bedürfnisse der Kund:innen reagieren. Wie ein PIM-System Sie in Ihrer Omnichannel-Strategie sinnvoll unterstützt, lesen Sie hier.

5 Produktfilter, die Kunden beim Online-Shopping voraussetzen

Der Einsatz von Produktfiltern im E-Commerce ist von entscheidender Bedeutung, um Kunden die Navigation durch Ihre Produkte und schließlich die Kaufentscheidung zu erleichtern. In diesem Beitrag zeigen wir auf, welche Filter Sie für ein intelligentes und effektives Filtersystem benötigen.

PIM vs. ERP

PIM vs. ERP – Was ist der Unterschied?

ERP oder PIM, welches ist das führende System? Diese Frage wird oft in Unternehmen gestellt. Vorweg: Eine pauschale Antwort gibt es nicht. Wir erklären in diesem Beitrag, was bei der Beurteilung beider Systeme wichtig ist.

Jetzt Vorteile live erleben

Lernen Sie prodexa Cloud für Ihre Branche in einer unverbindlichen und individuellen Produkttour kennen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Automobil und Fahrzeuge” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM mit Marktplatzfunktionen” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für den “Technischen Großhandel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Werkzeuge und DIY” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Maschinenbau und Technik” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Baustoffe und SHK” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Handel und B2B” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Elektronik und Kabel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.