News & Blog

"On-Premise vs. SaaS – which PIM software is right for your business?"

Excerpt: On-premise or SaaS? Which variant is the best for your company depends on a number of factors. On-premise means “on-site” hosting at the customer’s premises, while SaaS stands for Software as a Service. The data is hosted by the provider of the software. We explain the pros and cons.

Small and large businesses use product information management (PIM) systems to simplify their workflows, shorten time-to-market, and continuously optimize product information.

This article helps companies in e-commerce that do not yet use PIM to decide when it is necessary.

When the decision is made to introduce PIM software, it is basically a question of whether the software is installed on-premise or as Software as a Service (SaaS).

Companies that rely on company-owned servers will rely on local solutions. SaaS, on the other hand, is always provided over the Internet and can be operated via a web browser.

We show the advantages and disadvantages of both systems.

On-Premise – the server-based software

On-premise means “on site” – the software is purchased and hosted in the customer’s server landscape. Users can access the programs via a desktop application. Necessary installations are carried out on site by the provider, which can be very complex and costly. Companies with a high level of security and data protection will prefer an on-premise solution. 

The advantage: You have full control over your own data and software, but also full responsibility for that information. 

Purchasing the software alone is not enough. Costs for specialists must be calculated and the maintenance and backup of the data with regular backups should also be ensured, also this is done in-house.

SaaS – always accessible via Internet

The trend is increasingly towards Software as a Service (SaaS) PIM solutions. Usually, a subscription model is offered that covers all updates. The purchase of additional hardware is therefore not necessary. Access is browser-based and is usually possible from all internet-enabled devices – regardless of the location. In addition, the data is always available in real time. 

A cloud-based SaaS solution provides security in cost planning. Most of the costs are covered by the monthly fees. Companies don’t have to worry about storage space. Depending on the subscription model, unlimited storage space is offered. Updates are included so that the software is always up to date, maintenance and support takes care of the provider. Security concerns are usually the argument against SaaS. Although this increased flexibility has many advantages, it still carries risks. The support of IT or security teams is important to comply with uniform security policies. The servers should be best located in Europe compliant with GDPR.

On-premise or SaaS?

Companies, who are looking for PIM software, should carefully consider which solution they are inclined to take in order to secure a competitive advantage. Both have advantages and disadvantages that need to be considered. On-premise solutions offer more security in data protection, while maintaining full control over the data and its security within the company. This can be a decisive advantage, especially when it comes to compliance-relevant content.

However, the effort is considerable and the costs are not really manageable. Hardware requirements must be met and updates must be installed regularly. The backup and maintenance of the programs is the responsibility of the in-house IT department or the employee himself.

Cloud software offers maximum flexibility for employees due to the SaaS principle, additional hardware is not needed and costs are evenly distributed. In addition, cloud software is easier to scale and employees can do their work anywhere and time. The provider performs maintenance and updates of the programs automatically at regular intervals, so the latest version is always available. Due to the increasing work in the home office, a browser-based PIM cloud is ideal.

The comparison does not give a winner. Companies need to make their decision individually and find the ideal solution for their own needs.

 

Let one of our experts advise you without obligation and free of charge. All questions regarding the creation, implementation and maintenance of your project are answered competently.

More articles:

How Digital Asset Management can revolutionize your video marketing

More and more companies are turning to video marketing as part of their digital marketing strategy. With good reason, as it turns out. But how can the increasing demands on multimedia content be mastered successfully? And how can the increasing amounts of data be managed efficiently?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

What is the return of experience?

In addition to ROI (Return of Investment), ROX (Return of Experience) is a metric that should play a big role in e-commerce. Customer experience determines up-selling or cross-selling and also post-purchase reviews. The direct link between customer perception, customer experience and actual behavioral changes is quantified by ROX. The engagement of the employees in the service departments of the companies is also included in the consideration of the ROX. A PIM helps deliver the best quality data across all touchpoints.

Successfully entering the digital transformation with a PIM system 

A Product Information Management System (PIM) makes the digitization of product data much easier and frees up space for other projects. A daring thesis? Yes! We know how it really works and explain in this article how the transformation succeeds.
Digital transformation means, especially for manufacturing companies, the right handling of product information. With a PIM system, workflows are simplified and information is available centrally.

Higher rankings through Product Listing Optimization

We all know that SEO is essential for the success of a product. But Product Listing Optimization (PLO) also makes a significant contribution to the marketing success of a product. It makes it possible to adapt the product content to the algorithm of the various channels in order to achieve sustainably better rankings.

Quick Commerce – the new trend for online commerce

After e-commerce comes Q-commerce. Quick Commerce (Q-Commerce) is all about speed and delivering the best customer experience. And doing so within the shortest possible time. The market is growing rapidly, right now it’s mostly groceries, but pharmaceuticals are the next quick commerce segment.

Experience the benefits live

Find out more about prodexa Cloud for your industry in a non-binding and individual product tour.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Automotive & Vehicles” – download now for free (German version).

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM with marketplace features” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud – “PIM for technical wholesale” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Tools & DIY” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Mechanical Engineering & Technology” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Construction Materials, Sanitary & HVAC” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Commerce & B2B” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Electronics & Cables” – download now for free (German version).

News & Blog

"On-Premise vs. SaaS – welche PIM-Software ist die richtige für Ihr Business?"

Einführung: On-Premise oder SaaS? Welche Variante für Ihr Unternehmen die Bessere ist, hängt von diversen Faktoren ab. On-Premise bedeutet “Vor Ort” Hosting beim Kunden, während SaaS für Software as a Service steht. Die Daten werden vom Anbieter der Software gehostet. Wir erklären Vor- und Nachteile.

Kleine und große Unternehmen verwenden Produktinformationsmanagement (PIM)-Systeme, um ihre Workflows zu vereinfachen, die Time-to-Market zu verkürzen und Produktinformationen ständig zu optimieren.  

Unternehmen im E-Commerce, die noch kein PIM einsetzen, hilft dieser Beitrag  bei der Entscheidung, ab wann es notwendig ist. 

Wenn dann der Entschluss getroffen ist eine PIM-Software einzuführen, geht es grundsätzlich darum, ob die Software als vor-Ort (on-premise) oder als Software as a Service (SaaS) installiert wird. 

Betriebe, die auf unternehmenseigene Server setzen, werden auf lokale Lösungen zurückgreifen. SaaS hingegen wird immer über das Internet bereitgestellt und ist über Webbrowser bedienbar.
Wir zeigen die Vor- und Nachteile beider Systeme auf.

On-Premise – die serverbasierte Software

On-Premise bedeutet “vor Ort” – die Software wird gekauft und in der Serverlandschaft des Kunden gehostet. Den Zugang zu den Programmen bekommen die Nutzer über eine Desktop-Anwendung. Notwendige Installationen werden vor Ort vom Anbieter vorgenommen, was sehr aufwendig und kostenintensiv sein kann. Unternehmen mit einem hohen Sicherheits- und Datenschutzanspruch werden eine on-Premise Lösung bevorzugen. 

Der Vorteil: Sie haben die volle Kontrolle über die eigenen Daten und Software, aber auch die volle Verantwortung für diese Informationen. 

Allein mit dem Kauf der Software ist es nämlich noch lange nicht getan. Kosten für Fachpersonal müssen kalkuliert werden und auch die Wartung und das Sichern der Daten mit regelmäßigen Backups sollte gewährleistet sein, auch das wird unternehmensintern vorgenommen.

SaaS – immer erreichbar übers Internet

Der Trend geht immer mehr zu Software as a Service (SaaS) PIM-Lösungen. In der Regel wird ein Abo-Modell angeboten, das alle Updates abdeckt. Der Kauf einer zusätzlichen Hardware ist somit nicht nötig. Der Zugriff erfolgt browserbasiert und ist meist von allen internetfähigen Devices möglich – und zwar stand- und ortsunabhängig. Zudem sind die Daten immer in Echtzeit verfügbar.
Eine cloudbasierte SaaS-Lösung bietet Sicherheit in der Kostenplanung. Durch die monatlichen Gebühren sind die meisten Kosten abgedeckt. Um den Speicherplatz müssen sich Unternehmen keine Sorgen machen. Je nach Abomodell wird unbegrenzter Speicherplatz angeboten. Updates sind enthalten, so dass die Software immer auf dem neuesten Stand ist, um Wartung und Support kümmert sich der Anbieter. Sicherheitsbedenken sind meistens das Argument gegen SaaS. Auch wenn diese erhöhte Flexibilität viele Vorteile hat, birgt sie trotzdem Risiken. Die Unterstützung der IT- oder Sicherheitsteams ist wichtig damit einheitliche Sicherheitsrichtlinien eingehalten werden. Die Server sollten sich DSGVO-konform am besten in Europa befinden.

On-Premise oder SaaS?

Unternehmen, die sich für ein PIM-Software entscheiden, sollten sorgfältig abwägen, zu welcher Lösung sie tendieren um Wettbewerbsvorteile zu sichern. Beide haben Vor- und Nachteile, die bedacht werden müssen. On-Premise Lösungen bieten mehr Sicherheit im Datenschutz, die volle Kontrolle über die Daten und deren Sicherheit bleiben im Unternehmen. Insbesondere bei compliance relevanten Inhalten kann das ein entscheidender Vorteil sein.

Der Aufwand ist jedoch beträchtlich und die Kosten nicht wirklich überschaubar. Die Hardware-Anforderungen müssen erfüllt sein und Updates regelmäßig installiert werden. Die Sicherung und Wartung der Programme liegt in der Verantwortung der hauseigenen IT-Abteilung oder beim Mitarbeiter selbst.

Eine Cloud-Software bietet durch das SaaS-Prinzip eine maximale Flexibilität für die Mitarbeiter, zusätzliche Hardware wird nicht benötigt und die Kosten verteilen sich gleichmäßig. Außerdem ist Cloud-Software einfacher zu skalieren und Beschäftigte können orts- und zeitunabhängig ihrer Arbeit nachgehen. Der Anbieter führt die Wartung und Updates der Programme automatisch in regelmässigen Intervallen durch, es ist also immer die neueste Version verfügbar. Durch die zunehmende Arbeit im Home-Office bietet sich eine browserbasierte PIM-Cloud an.

Einen Gewinner gibt der Vergleich nicht her. Unternehmen müssen Ihre Entscheidung individuell treffen und die ideale Lösung für die eigenen Anforderungen finden.

Lassen Sie sich unverbindlich und kostenfrei von einem unserer Experten beraten. Alle Fragen zur Erstellung, Implementierung und Wartung Ihres Vorhabens werden kompetent beantwortet.

Weitere Beiträge:

Cross-Border-E-Commerce: Wieso PIM den Grundpfeiler setzt

Wir demonstrieren die wichtigsten Aufgaben, mit denen Händler und Hersteller bei der Ausrichtung ihres E-Commerce Angebotes auf neuen Märkten konfrontiert werden und erklären, weshalb ein PIM-System die Basis für die internationale Expansion darstellt.

Prozessoptimierung zwischen Lieferanten und Händlern mittels PIM

Produktdaten von zahlreichen Lieferanten und Herstellen manuell zu erfassen kann für Händler in sehr zeitaufwendige und fehleranfällige Prozesse münden. Wir zeigen auf, wie Händler durch ein intelligentes Lieferanten-Onboarding schnell und sicher Produktdaten übernehmen und dadurch skalierbare Workflows sicherstellen.

Die führenden Marktplätze und wie Sie erfolgreich auf ihnen verkaufen

Online-Marktplätze finden im B2B und B2C aufgrund Ihrer enormen Reichweite immer stärker Berücksichtigung bei der Gestaltung der eigenen E-Commerce-Strategie. Wir zeigen auf, welche Online-Marktplätze in Deutschland führend sind und geben Ihnen Tipps an die Hand, wie Sie Ihre Produkte
erfolgreich auf diesen vermarkten.

Wie Digital Asset Management Ihr Video-Marketing revolutioniert

Immer mehr Unternehmen setzen auf Videomarketing als Teil ihrer digitalen Marketingstrategie. Zurecht, wie sich zeigt. Doch wie lassen sich die zunehmenden Anforderungen an multimedialen Inhalten erfolgreich meistern? Und wie können die zunehmenden Datenmengen erfolgreich verwaltet werden?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Was ist der Return of Experience? Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Neben dem ROI (Return of Investment), ist der ROX (Return of Experience) eine Kennzahl, die im E-Commerce eine große Rolle spielen sollte. Die Customer Experience entscheidet über Up- oder Cross-Selling und auch über die Bewertungen nach dem Kauf. Die direkte Verknüpfung zwischen der Kundenwahrnehmung, dem Kundenerlebnis und den tatsächlichen Verhaltensänderungen wird durch den ROX quantifiziert. Das Engagement der Mitarbeiter in den Serviceabteilungen der Unternehmen fließt ebenso in die Betrachtung des ROX ein. Ein PIM hilft dabei, die beste Datenqualität an allen Touchpoints zu liefern.

Jetzt Vorteile live erleben

Lernen Sie prodexa Cloud für Ihre Branche in einer unverbindlichen und individuellen Produkttour kennen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Automobil und Fahrzeuge” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM mit Marktplatzfunktionen” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für den “Technischen Großhandel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Werkzeuge und DIY” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Maschinenbau und Technik” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Baustoffe und SHK” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Handel und B2B” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Elektronik und Kabel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.