News & Blog

"Generating competitive advantages with PIM"

Excerpt: We present typical issues from daily business in digital marketing, sales and product management that question the benefits of a PIM system. At the same time, an excerpt of independent KPIs is intended to illustrate how companies from different industries use PIM to increase their efficiency and further expand their competitive advantages.

Profitability of Pim Systems

In this article we have shown that product information management (PIM) plays an important role especially for growing e-commerce companies. While many companies in this sector have already successfully established their PIM strategy, there are other companies that still have doubts about the benefits of PIM software. We have explained in this post that a PIM system is useful for companies from all sectors and of all sizes on the basis of various problems in daily business.

“PIM is a broad set of processes that ensures an organization has the ability to collect, store and access all information related to their products. PIM provides a central product information system that works as a single interface for all enterprise-wide product based information. The application of PIM is evident in e-commerce business processes, where one product may be globally available to one or more stores. Vendors often use PIM techniques in a single database application to store product portfolio information – such as images, data sheets and videos – that are shared and accessible by third party retailers or business partners.”

Source: Techopedia Dictionary, 2022

Even small companies that market just a few products benefit from a PIM system as they no longer have to spend time managing their product information manually in confusing Excel spreadsheets. This is especially helpful when the product portfolio is constantly growing and the product information is compiled from many different sources and suppliers. A PIM system is also advantageous when companies focus on an omnichannel strategy and need to ensure consistent product communication across numerous touchpoints. The following questions should encourage you to question the benefits of PIM for your own company:

  • Is the number of products to be managed in the company constantly increasing?
  • Do you have to manage digital assets (e.g. images, videos, 3D visualisations, etc.) in addition to product information?
  • Do you spend a lot of time each month correcting, enriching and distributing product data?
  • Do you present your products through multiple sales and communication channels? Are there discrepancies in the information content of product communication?
  • Are your stakeholders (partners, suppliers, customers, employees) dissatisfied due to outdated, incomplete product data?
  • Do you have above-average return rates or too low conversion rates that could be prevented with better product information?

If you can answer “yes” to most of the questions above, your company will benefit from a PIM system – no matter which industry it is in.

Remarkable Benefits of PIM

A PIM system is one of the most important tools for retailers and manufacturers in multi-channel marketing and sales. It makes the process of information enrichment easier and smoother. Teams and external stakeholders manage product-related information in one central location, regardless of their location. From there, they have an overview of all published and shared product information. Changes and updates can also be transparently tracked in a detailed history. This is why the PIM system is often referred to as the “single source of truth”. At the same time, clear dashboards provide important information on the use of the individual data. For example, valuable insights can be gained regarding which product descriptions and digital assets provide real added value for the customer in the purchase decision process. 

PIM systems not only improve data quality and thus the customer experience. They also increase efficiency by accelerating the speed of recurring processes through workflow automation. Especially for companies with international markets and increasing brand touchpoints and channels, a PIM system scales with the number of products.

Below you will find some KPIs that exemplify how companies can use PIM to increase their efficiency and thus further expand their competitive advantage:

  • 100% reduction in email traffic for approval and capture of media data (from 25 to 0 emails) (industry: luxury goods retail)
  • Accelerate product launches by up to 400% (Industry: retail)
  • Up to 70% time savings in translating product information (from 10 to 3 days) (Industry: Luxury goods retail)
  • Up to 94% time savings in system integration after the acquisition of a new subsidiary (from 3 months to 5 days) (Industry: Industrial distribution)
  • 60% increase in business volume after only 2 years, as the entire product range is available online (sector: retail)
  • Up to 25% fewer returns on online orders thanks to comprehensive product information and a better informed purchasing decision (sector: building materials)
  • Increase in average basket size by up to 21% thanks to improved cross-selling (sector: building materials retail)
  • Increase in conversion rate from 10 % to 20 % (sector: fashion)

Source: Data-Talks, „How PIM & MDM Boosts eCommerce KPIs”, 2020

PIM systems help companies automate and accelerate the entire marketing process of their products, improving productivity across departments (marketing, sales, product management). By standardising complex workflows, efficiency in the company is increased in the long term and at the same time more resources are available for new projects.

Find out in a non-binding online demo how you can use prodexa Cloud to better connect your products, customers, suppliers, employees and locations to generate additional competitive advantages. Our experts will be happy to demonstrate the benefits of prodexa Cloud for your industry based on practical use cases with a similar requirement profile.

More articles:

Process optimization between suppliers and retailers using PIM

Manually collecting product data from numerous suppliers and manufacturers can result in very time-consuming and error-prone processes for retailers. We show how retailers can use intelligent supplier onboarding to transfer product data quickly and securely, thereby ensuring scalable workflows.

The leading marketplaces and how to sell successfully on them

Due to their enormous reach, online marketplaces are increasingly being taken into account in B2B and
B2C when designing their own e-commerce strategy. We show which online marketplaces are leading in
Germany and give you tips on how to market your products successfully on them.

How Digital Asset Management can revolutionize your video marketing

More and more companies are turning to video marketing as part of their digital marketing strategy. With good reason, as it turns out. But how can the increasing demands on multimedia content be mastered successfully? And how can the increasing amounts of data be managed efficiently?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

What is the return of experience?

In addition to ROI (Return of Investment), ROX (Return of Experience) is a metric that should play a big role in e-commerce. Customer experience determines up-selling or cross-selling and also post-purchase reviews. The direct link between customer perception, customer experience and actual behavioral changes is quantified by ROX. The engagement of the employees in the service departments of the companies is also included in the consideration of the ROX. A PIM helps deliver the best quality data across all touchpoints.

Experience the benefits live

Find out more about prodexa Cloud for your industry in a non-binding and individual product tour.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Automotive & Vehicles” – download now for free (German version).

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM with marketplace features” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud – “PIM for technical wholesale” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Tools & DIY” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Mechanical Engineering & Technology” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Construction Materials, Sanitary & HVAC” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Commerce & B2B” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Electronics & Cables” – download now for free (German version).

News & Blog

"Mit PIM langfristig Wettbewerbsvorteile generieren"

Auszug: Wir stellen typische Fragestellungen aus dem Tagesgeschäft im digitalen Marketing, Vertrieb und Produktmanagement vor, die den Nutzen eines PIM-Systems hinterfragen. Gleichzeitig soll ein Auszug unabhängiger KPIs verdeutlichen, wie Unternehmen aus unterschiedlichen Branchen mittels PIM ihre Effizienz steigern und ihren Wettbewerbsvorsprung weiter ausbauen.

Profitabilität von Pim-Systemen

In diesem Artikel haben wir aufgezeigt, dass Produktinformationsmanagement (PIM) vor allem für wachsende E-Commerce-Unternehmen eine wichtige Rolle spielt. Während zahlreiche Unternehmen in diesem Sektor bereits ihre PIM-Strategie erfolgreich etablieren, gibt es andere Unternehmen, die den Nutzen von PIM-Software noch hinterfragen. Das ein PIM-System nutzbringend für Unternehmen aus allen Branchen und Größenordnungen ist, haben wir anhand diverserer Problemstellungen in diesem Beitrag erklärt.

“PIM is a broad set of processes that ensures an organization has the ability to collect, store and access all information related to their products. PIM provides a central product information system that works as a single interface for all enterprise-wide product based information. The application of PIM is evident in e-commerce business processes, where one product may be globally available to one or more stores. Vendors often use PIM techniques in a single database application to store product portfolio information – such as images, data sheets and videos – that are shared and accessible by third party retailers or business partners.”

Quelle: Techopedia Dictionary, 2022

Selbst kleine Unternehmen, die vergleichsweise wenige Produkte vermarkten, profitieren von einem PIM-System, indem sie ihre Produktinformationen nicht mehr manuell in unübersichtlichen Excel-Tabellen zeitaufwendig pflegen müssen. Dies ist vor allem dann hilfreich, wenn das Produktportfolio stetig wächst und die Produktinformationen von vielen unterschiedlichen Quellen und Lieferanten zusammengetragen werden. Ebenfalls ist ein PIM-System von Vorteil, wenn Unternehmen eine Omnichannel-Strategie fokussieren und eine kanalübergreifende, konsistente Produktkommunikation über zahlreiche Touchpoints sicherstellen müssen. Die nachfolgenden Fragestellungen sollen dazu anregen, den Nutzen von PIM für das eigene Unternehmen zu hinterfragen:

  • Steigt die Anzahl der im Unternehmen zu verwaltenden Produkte stetig an?
  • Müssen Sie neben Produktinformationen auch digitale Assets (z.B. Bilder, Videos, 3D-Visualisierungen, etc.) verwalten?
  • Wenden Sie monatlich viel Zeit auf, um Produktdaten zu korrigieren, anzureichern und zu verteilen?
  • Präsentieren Sie Ihre Produkte über mehrere Vertriebs- und Kommunikationskanäle? Gibt es in der Produktkommunikation Abweichungen im Informationsgehalt?
  • Sind Ihre Interessensgruppen (Partner, Lieferanten, Kunden, Mitarbeiter) unzufrieden aufgrund veralteter, unvollständiger Produktdaten?
  • Haben Sie überdurchschnittlich hohe Retourenquoten oder zu niedrige Konversionsraten, die sich mittels besserer Produktinformationen verhindern ließen?

Wenn Sie die meisten der oben aufgeführten Fragen mit „ja“ beantworten können, wird Ihr Unternehmen – unabhängig von der Branche – von einem PIM-System profitieren.

Der Nutzen von PIM-Systemen in Zahlen

Ein PIM-System zählt mit zu den wichtigsten Instrumenten für Handelsunternehmen und Hersteller im Multi Channel Marketing und Vertrieb. Es gestaltet den Prozess der Informationsanreicherung einfacher und reibungsloser. Teams und externe Stakeholder verwalten die produktbezogenen Informationen, unabhängig von ihrem Standort, an einer zentralen Stelle. Von dort aus haben sie einen Überblick über alle veröffentlichten und geteilten Produktinformationen. Änderungen und Aktualisierungen lassen sich zudem in einer Historie transparent nachvollziehen. Daher wird das PIM-System auch öfters als “Single Source of Truth” bezeichnet. Gleichzeitig liefern übersichtliche Dashboards wichtige Informationen zur Nutzung der einzelnen Daten. So lassen sich z.B. wertvolle Schlüsse ziehen, welche Produktbeschreibungen und digitalen Assets für den Kunden im Kaufentscheidungsprozess einen wirklichen Mehrwert liefern. 

PIM- Systeme verbessern nicht bloß die Datenqualität und damit auch die Customer Experience. Sie steigern auch die Effizienz, indem sie die Geschwindigkeit von wiederkehrenden Prozessen durch Workflow-Automation beschleunigen. Vor allem bei Unternehmen mit internationalen Märkten und zunehmenden Markenkontaktpunkten und Kanälen skaliert ein PIM-System mit der Anzahl der Produkte.

Nachfolgend finden Sie einige KPIs, die exemplarisch aufzeigen, wie Unternehmen mittels PIM ihre Effizienz steigern und dadurch ihren Wettbewerbsvorsprung weiter ausbauen:

  • 100 % weniger E-Mail-Verkehr zur Freigabe und Erfassung von Mediendaten (von 25 auf 0 E-Mails) (Branche: Luxusgüterhandel)
  • Beschleunigung von Produkteinführungen um bis zu 400 % (Branche: Retail)
  • Bis zu 70 % Zeitersparnis bei der Übersetzung von Produktinformationen (von 10 auf 3 Tage) (Branche: Luxusgüterhandel)
  • Bis zu 94 % Zeitersparnis in der Systemintegration nach dem Erwerb einer neuen Tochtergesellschaft (von 3 Monaten auf 5 Tage) (Branche: Industrievertrieb)
  • Steigerung des Geschäftsvolumens um 60 % nach nur 2 Jahren, da die gesamte Produktpalette online verfügbar ist (Branche: Einzelhandel)
  • Bis zu 25 % weniger Retouren bei Online-Bestellungen dank umfassender Produktinformationen und fundierter Kaufentscheidungen (Branche: Baustoffhandel)
  • Steigerung der durchschnittlichen Warenkorbgröße um bis zu 21 % dank verbessertem Cross-Selling (Branche: Baustoffhandel)
  • Steigerung der Konversionsrate von 10 % auf 20 % (Branche: Mode)

Quele: Data-Talks, „How PIM & MDM Boosts eCommerce KPIs”, 2020

PIM-Systeme unterstützen Unternehmen dabei, den gesamten Vermarktungsprozess ihrer Produkte zu automatisieren und zu beschleunigen, wodurch abteilungsübergreifend (Marketing, Vertrieb, Produktmanagement) die Produktivität verbessert wird. Indem komplexe Arbeitsabläufe standardisiert werden, wird die Effizienz im Unternehmen langfristig gesteigert und gleichzeitig mehr Raum für neue Projekte geschaffen.

Erfahren Sie in einer unverbindlichen Online-Demo, wie Sie mit prodexa Cloud ihre Produkte, Kunden, Lieferanten, Mitarbeiter und Standorte besser miteinander verbinden und zusätzliche Wettbewerbsvorteile generieren. Unsere Experten demonstrieren Ihnen gerne die Vorteile von prodexa Cloud für Ihre Branche auf Basis von praktischen Use Cases mit einem ähnlichen Anforderungsprofil.

Weitere Beiträge:

Cross-Border-E-Commerce: Wieso PIM den Grundpfeiler setzt

Wir demonstrieren die wichtigsten Aufgaben, mit denen Händler und Hersteller bei der Ausrichtung ihres E-Commerce Angebotes auf neuen Märkten konfrontiert werden und erklären, weshalb ein PIM-System die Basis für die internationale Expansion darstellt.

Prozessoptimierung zwischen Lieferanten und Händlern mittels PIM

Produktdaten von zahlreichen Lieferanten und Herstellen manuell zu erfassen kann für Händler in sehr zeitaufwendige und fehleranfällige Prozesse münden. Wir zeigen auf, wie Händler durch ein intelligentes Lieferanten-Onboarding schnell und sicher Produktdaten übernehmen und dadurch skalierbare Workflows sicherstellen.

Die führenden Marktplätze und wie Sie erfolgreich auf ihnen verkaufen

Online-Marktplätze finden im B2B und B2C aufgrund Ihrer enormen Reichweite immer stärker Berücksichtigung bei der Gestaltung der eigenen E-Commerce-Strategie. Wir zeigen auf, welche Online-Marktplätze in Deutschland führend sind und geben Ihnen Tipps an die Hand, wie Sie Ihre Produkte
erfolgreich auf diesen vermarkten.

Wie Digital Asset Management Ihr Video-Marketing revolutioniert

Immer mehr Unternehmen setzen auf Videomarketing als Teil ihrer digitalen Marketingstrategie. Zurecht, wie sich zeigt. Doch wie lassen sich die zunehmenden Anforderungen an multimedialen Inhalten erfolgreich meistern? Und wie können die zunehmenden Datenmengen erfolgreich verwaltet werden?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Was ist der Return of Experience? Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Neben dem ROI (Return of Investment), ist der ROX (Return of Experience) eine Kennzahl, die im E-Commerce eine große Rolle spielen sollte. Die Customer Experience entscheidet über Up- oder Cross-Selling und auch über die Bewertungen nach dem Kauf. Die direkte Verknüpfung zwischen der Kundenwahrnehmung, dem Kundenerlebnis und den tatsächlichen Verhaltensänderungen wird durch den ROX quantifiziert. Das Engagement der Mitarbeiter in den Serviceabteilungen der Unternehmen fließt ebenso in die Betrachtung des ROX ein. Ein PIM hilft dabei, die beste Datenqualität an allen Touchpoints zu liefern.

Jetzt Vorteile live erleben

Lernen Sie prodexa Cloud für Ihre Branche in einer unverbindlichen und individuellen Produkttour kennen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Automobil und Fahrzeuge” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM mit Marktplatzfunktionen” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für den “Technischen Großhandel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Werkzeuge und DIY” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Maschinenbau und Technik” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Baustoffe und SHK” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Handel und B2B” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Elektronik und Kabel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.