News & Blog

"Experience-Driven Commerce"

Excerpt: Consumers today can interact with a brand through a variety of channels and touchpoints. Whether offline or online: Retailers must always engage these hyper-connected customers with valuable content to remain competitive in the long term. We show why positive shopping experiences are no coincidence and how companies can make their commerce more experience-oriented.

In recent years, e-commerce has been characterized primarily by competition between brands that have traditionally tried to generate their reach and attention through price, discount and special offer strategies. However, in today’s world, where customer demands and preferences are changing rapidly, the emotional connection with a brand is becoming more and more important to differentiate itself from the competition. For this reason, the atmosphere in e-commerce is also changing, with customers being at the center of attention and being offered special and unique experiences. 

Building a successful e-commerce strategy requires more than just meeting technical requirements (e.g., fast loading times, convenient payment and delivery options, user-friendliness on diverse end devices, etc.). Rather, today it is about adopting an end-to-end customer and experience-oriented perspective and implementing this in all areas of the company. What this means exactly for retail will be explained in more detail at this point. 

„Experience-driven commerce = Maximizing sales by delivering customer experiences from discovery to purchase that are optimized with insights from real-time shopping behaviors and multichannel data.“

Source: Adobe Business Solutions, Experience-Driven Commerce

The future of (e-)commerce

Experience-driven commerce means providing customers with a personalized omnichannel experience, regardless of location or time. It means bringing together data, content, and insights, and then creating a specific and contextual buying experience for each customer. 

“In numerous categories, more than 50% of consumers expressed interest in purchasing customized products or services. Approximately 25% of buyers are willing to pay more for a personalized service. More than 30% of consumers are also willing to share more personal data for a personalized offering.”

Source: Deloitte, The Deloitte Consumer Review

Experience-driven commerce is about creating an emotional connection with customers and providing them with a tailored shopping experience. The first step is to analyze the customer’s behavior and then combine the insights gained with the context to provide the right information and the required service at every contact. Traditional approaches in e-commerce or brick-and-mortar retail are limited to focusing on a single moment in a particular channel, while linking experiences across all touchpoints is essential to deliver on a brand’s value proposition. For this reason, the first steps should be to connect all relevant sales and communication channels and provide attractive and consistent content across channels to serve customers along the customer journey with the best possible service.

Sales and marketing executives must have the right technology to collect data and content and combine it into a specific experience. This includes an omnichannel strategy that connects products and content at every touchpoint. So what exactly should companies do to enable real experience-driven commerce?

  • Understanding buying behavior: You may know what your customers want to buy, but more importantly, do you know what drives them to make that purchase? For example, if a buyer is looking for a running shoe for jogging, you need to provide them with additional information in their customer journey to facilitate their purchase decision. Detailed product descriptions, customer reviews, multimedia content such as videos or 360° visualizations represent just a few examples to transform the boring information gathering process into an exciting buying experience. At the same time, it is important to analyze which information sources have really added value for customers and prospects in the purchase decision process in order to continuously optimize marketing and sales materials.
  • Improve customer engagement: Customer engagement is based on interactions and is built up when customers actively interact with a service offering. Thus, all relevant touchpoints in the customer journey represent important potentials and sources for customer engagement. A customer’s engagement can be triggered, for example, by reading a post, watching a video, sending an email, making a download, writing a review, liking or following a channel. Therefore, always give your customers the opportunity to express themselves when they want to. 
  • Analyzing the customer journey: In order to not only drive customers to action, but also provide a flawless shopping experience, brands need to be aware that not every customer profile has the same characteristics. There are a large number of unpredictable shoppers with different behavior patterns. Therefore, product and customer information must be considered in context. Data from PIM, CRM, ERP, in-store data, customer profiles, reviews, etc. should be reconciled. Finally, an integrated approach enables all relevant information to be placed in the context of the customer journey. Based on a customer’s interaction with an offer across different channels, for example, emails, click-throughs, and social media data can be used to create a specific customer profile and offer a personalized service.
  • Leveraging data through new technologies: Data and analytics have always been an important source of business for brands. And the possibilities will become increasingly diverse in the future. Machine learning and artificial intelligence-based learning systems are playing an active role in the information management process more than ever. The benefits and advantages they bring have a remarkable impact on business operations. For example, AI collects data about buyers and their search and shopping behavior and tracks interactions with an online store. It recognizes patterns in the data, whereupon product descriptions, welcome texts, and even the navigation of an online store may differ depending on the user. By collecting and analyzing data, it is also possible to make forecasts about when products will be purchased with priority (sales peaks), which makes it easier to plan stock levels. But data via AI can also be used profitably in customer communication. For example, AI-based chatbots are increasingly being used in e-commerce, as they can interact with a customer in a similar way to a salesperson. For example, queries about a product can be linked to the user’s previously collected personal data (e.g. age, size, favorite brand, etc.) and suitable results can be played out. In addition to improved product search, service issues can also be answered 24/7 via AI-based chatbots. 
  • Thinking about future target audiences: Currently, almost 1/3 of the world’s population is between 20 and 35 years old. The fact is that Generation Z in particular, born after the early 2000s, is more difficult to engage with a company or brand. This is because this generation is more impatient and intolerant of technical barriers. If users experience a poor, inconsistent buying experience, they quickly and uncompromisingly switch channels and jump to the competition’s offering. Only companies that ensure seamless product communication on all relevant channels experience customer loyalty here. Since users were born in an age where technology is rapidly evolving every day, technological factors play an important role in their buying process. Accordingly, it is not surprising that their buying behavior and expectations are different from previous generations. The characteristic sources of information for Generation Z include, above all, social media, websites, podcasts, blogs, apps and streaming services. Brands that do not take these digital touchpoints into account in their product communication and combine them beneficially with existing offline channels will already exclude themselves from the competition in the medium term.

“In Europe, over 40% of Generation Z buy at least half of their clothing and entertainment media online. Just under a third buy half of their health and beauty products online. In addition, Generation Z is willing to pay premium prices for products that are relevant to them.”

Source: PwC Europe Consumer Insights Series, 2020

Conclusion:

Brands that want to survive in the evolution of the “digital world” must further develop their business model. In recent years, “digital commerce” has transformed into a “digital business platform” that supports the entire value creation process through technological components. IT components such as PIM, DAM, ERP, CRM, as well as other tools and applications represent essential power sources for the digital business platform. Not least because the former “transaction-oriented” shopping journey has evolved into an “experience-oriented” customer journey based on comprehensive, consistent, and relevant data. 

Experience-driven commerce is an indispensable differentiator for creating lasting customer relationships and strengthening customer loyalty. Learn in a no-obligation online demo how to build the foundation for your experience-driven commerce with a PIM system by managing all current and rich product information in one central hub and playing it out from there to all relevant customer touchpoints.

More articles:

Process optimization between suppliers and retailers using PIM

Manually collecting product data from numerous suppliers and manufacturers can result in very time-consuming and error-prone processes for retailers. We show how retailers can use intelligent supplier onboarding to transfer product data quickly and securely, thereby ensuring scalable workflows.

The leading marketplaces and how to sell successfully on them

Due to their enormous reach, online marketplaces are increasingly being taken into account in B2B and
B2C when designing their own e-commerce strategy. We show which online marketplaces are leading in
Germany and give you tips on how to market your products successfully on them.

How Digital Asset Management can revolutionize your video marketing

More and more companies are turning to video marketing as part of their digital marketing strategy. With good reason, as it turns out. But how can the increasing demands on multimedia content be mastered successfully? And how can the increasing amounts of data be managed efficiently?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

What is the return of experience?

In addition to ROI (Return of Investment), ROX (Return of Experience) is a metric that should play a big role in e-commerce. Customer experience determines up-selling or cross-selling and also post-purchase reviews. The direct link between customer perception, customer experience and actual behavioral changes is quantified by ROX. The engagement of the employees in the service departments of the companies is also included in the consideration of the ROX. A PIM helps deliver the best quality data across all touchpoints.

Experience the benefits live

Find out more about prodexa Cloud for your industry in a non-binding and individual product tour.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Automotive & Vehicles” – download now for free (German version).

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM with marketplace features” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud – “PIM for technical wholesale” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Tools & DIY” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Mechanical Engineering & Technology” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Construction Materials, Sanitary & HVAC” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Commerce & B2B” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Electronics & Cables” – download now for free (German version).

News & Blog

"Erlebnisorientierter Online-Handel"

Einführung: Verbraucher können heute über eine Vielzahl von Kanälen und Touchpoints mit einer Marke interagieren. Ob offline oder online: Händler müssen diese hypervernetzen Kunden stets mit wertvollen Inhalten ansprechen, um auch langfristig wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben. Wir zeigen auf, wieso positive Einkaufserlebnisse kein Zufall sind und wie Unternehmen ihren Handel erlebnisorientiert gestalten.

In den letzten Jahren zeichnete sich der elektronische Handel vor allem durch einen Wettbewerb zwischen Marken aus, die traditionell versuchten, ihre Reichweite und Aufmerksamkeit durch Preis-, Rabatt- und Sonderangebotsstrategien zu generieren. In der heutigen Zeit, in der sich die Anforderungen und Vorlieben der Kunden schnell ändern, rückt jedoch die emotionale Bindung mit einer Marke immer mehr in den Vordergrund, um sich vom Wettbewerb zu differenzieren. Aus diesem Grund ändert sich auch die Atmosphäre im E-Commerce, in der die Kunden im Mittelpunkt stehen und ihnen besondere und einzigartige Erlebnisse geboten werden. 

Der Aufbau einer erfolgreichen E-Commerce-Strategie erfordert mehr als nur die Erfüllung von technischen Voraussetzungen (z.B. schnelle Ladezeiten, komfortable Bezahl- und Lieferoptionen, Benutzerfreundlichkeit auf diversen Endgeräten, etc.). Vielmehr geht es heute darum, eine durchgehend kunden- und erlebnisorientierte Perspektive einzunehmen und diese in allen Bereichen des Unternehmens umzusetzen. Was das genau für den Handel bedeutet, soll an dieser Stelle näher erläutert werden. 

„Experience-driven commerce = Maximizing sales by delivering customer experiences from discovery to purchase that are optimized with insights from real-time shopping behaviors and multichannel data.“

Quelle: Adobe Business Solutions, Experience-Driven Commerce

Die Zukunft des elektronischen Handels

Erlebnisorientierter Handel bedeutet, Kunden ein personalisiertes Omnichannel-Erlebnis zu bieten, unabhängig von Ort und Zeit. Das bedeutet, dass Daten, Inhalte und Erfahrungen zusammengeführt werden und dann ein spezifisches und kontextbezogenes Kauferlebnis für jeden Kunden geschaffen wird. 

“In zahlreichen Kategorien bekundeten mehr als 50% der Verbraucher Interesse am Kauf maßgeschneiderter Produkte oder Dienstleistungen. Ca. 25% der Käufer sind bereit, für eine personalisierte Leistung mehr zu bezahlen. Über 30% der Verbraucher sind zudem bereit für ein personalisiertes Angebot mehr persönliche Daten preiszugeben.”

Quelle: Deloitte, The Deloitte Consumer Review

Beim erlebnisorientierten Handel geht es darum, eine emotionale Verbindung zum Kunden herzustellen und ihm ein maßgeschneidertes Einkaufserlebnis zu bieten. Zunächst gilt es, das Verhalten der Kunden zu analysieren und dann die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse mit dem Kontext zu kombinieren, um bei jedem Kontakt die richtigen Informationen und den erforderlichen Service zu bieten. Herkömmliche Konzepte im E-Commerce oder im stationären Handel beschränken sich darauf, sich nur auf einen einzigen Moment in einem bestimmten Kanal zu konzentrieren, während die Verknüpfung von Erlebnissen über alle Berührungspunkte hinweg unerlässlich ist, um das Versprechen einer Marke zu halten. Aus diesem Grund sollten die ersten Schritte darin bestehen, alle relevanten Vertriebs- und Kommunikationskanäle miteinander zu verbinden und attraktive und konsistente Inhalte kanalübergreifend zur Verfügung zu stellen, um die Kunden entlang der Customer Journey mit dem bestmöglichen Service zu bedienen. 

Vertriebs- und Marketingverantwortliche müssen über die richtige Technologie verfügen, um Daten und Inhalte zu sammeln und sie zu einem spezifischen Erlebnis zu kombinieren. Dies beinhaltet eine Omnichannel-Strategie, die Produkte und Inhalte an jedem Touchpoint miteinander verbindet. Was genau sollten Unternehmen also tun, um einen echten erlebnisorientierten Handel zu ermöglichen?

  • Kaufverhalten verstehen: Sie wissen vielleicht, was Ihre Kunden kaufen wollen, aber – was noch wichtiger ist – wissen Sie auch, was sie zu diesem Kauf veranlasst? Wenn ein Käufer zum Beispiel nach einem Laufschuh zum Joggen sucht, müssen Sie ihm in seiner Customer Journey zusätzliche Informationen anbieten, um seine Kaufentscheidung zu erleichtern. Detaillierte Produktbeschreibungen, Kundenbewertungen, multimediale Inhalte wie Videos oder 360°-Visualisierungen stellen nur einige Beispiele dar, um den langweiligen Informationsbeschaffungsprozess in ein aufregendes Kauferlebnis umzuwandeln. Im gleichen Zuge gilt es zu analysieren, welche Informationsquellen den Kunden und Interessenten im Kaufentscheidungsprozess wirklich einen Mehrwert gebracht haben, um Marketing- und Vertriebsmaterialien fortlaufend zu optimieren.
  • Kundenengagement verbessern: Kundenengagement basiert auf Interkationen und wird aufgebaut, wenn Kunden mit einem Leistungsangebot aktiv interagieren. Somit stellen alle relevanten Berührungspunkte (Customer Touchpoints) in der Customer Journey wichtige Potenziale und Quellen für das Kundenengagement dar. Das Engagement eines Kunden kann z.B. durch das Lesen eines Beitrags, das Ansehen eines Videos, dem Versenden einer Mail, einem Download, dem Schreiben einer Bewertung, einem Like oder dem Folgen eines Kanals ausgelöst werden. Geben Sie Ihren Kunden daher stets die Möglichkeit sich auszudrücken, wenn diese es möchten. 
  • Customer-Journey analysieren: Um Kunden nicht nur zum Handeln zu bewegen, sondern auch ein einwandfreies Einkaufserlebnis zu bieten, müssen sich Marken darüber im Klaren sein, dass nicht jedes Kundenprofil die gleichen Merkmale aufweist. Es gibt eine große Anzahl von unberechenbaren Käufern mit unterschiedlichen Verhaltensmustern. Daher müssen Produkt- und Kundeninformationen im Zusammenhang betrachtet werden. Daten aus PIM, CRM, ERP, In-Store-Daten, Kundenprofilen, Bewertungen, etc. sollten miteinander abgeglichen werden. Ein integrierter Ansatz ermöglicht es schließlich, alle relevanten Informationen in den Kontext der Customer Journey einzuordnen. Basierend auf der Interaktion eines Kunden mit einem Angebot über verschiedene Kanäle hinweg können beispielsweise E-Mails, Click-Throughs und Social-Media-Daten verwendet werden, um ein spezifisches Kundenprofil zu erstellen und einen personalisierten Service anzubieten.
  • Daten mittels neuer Technologien nutzen: Daten und Analysen waren für Marken schon immer eine wichtige Quelle für ihre Geschäftstätigkeit. Und die Möglichkeiten werden in Zukunft immer vielfältiger. Maschinelles Lernen und auf künstlicher Intelligenz basierende Lernsysteme spielen mehr denn je eine aktive Rolle im Informationsmanagementprozess. Der Nutzen und die Vorteile, die sie mit sich bringen, haben einen bemerkenswerten Einfluss auf den Geschäftsbetrieb. Zum Beispiel sammelt die KI Daten über den Käufer und dessen Such- und Einkaufsverhalten und trackt die Interaktionen mit einem Online-Shop. Sie erkennt Muster in den Daten, woraufhin Produktbeschreibungen, Begrüßungstexte, und auch die Navigation eines Online-Shops je nach Nutzer anders ausfallen kann. Durch das Sammeln und Auswerten von Daten lassen sich auch Prognosen erstellen, zu welcher Zeit Produkte vorrangig gekauft werden (Verkaufsspitzen), wodurch sich Waren- und Lagerbestände besser planen lassen. Aber auch in der Kundenkommunikation lassen sich Daten via KI gewinnbringen einsetzen. So werden KI-basierte Chatbots immer häufiger im E-Commerce eingesetzt, da sie ähnlich wie ein Verkäufer mit einem Kunden interagieren können. So können Anfragen zu einem Produkt mit den bisherigen gesammelten persönlichen Daten des Nutzers (z.B. Alter, Größe, Lieblingsmarke, etc.) verknüpft werden und passende Ergebnisse ausgespielt werden. Neben der verbesserten Produktsuche lassen sich auch Service-Fragen via KI-basierter Chatbots 24/7 beantworten. 
  • Frühzeitig an zukünftiges Zielpublikum denken: Derzeit ist fast 1/3 der Weltbevölkerung zwischen 20 und 35 Jahre alt. Tatsache ist, dass vor allem die Generation Z, die nach den frühen 2000er Jahren geboren wurde, schwieriger an ein Unternehmen bzw. an eine Marke zu binden ist. Dies liegt daran, dass diese Generation ungeduldiger ist und mit technischen Barrieren intoleranter umgeht. Erfahren die User ein schlechtes, inkonsistentes Kauferlebnis, wechseln sie schnell und kompromisslos den Kanal und springen zum Angebot des Wettbewerbs. Kundenloyalität erfahren hier ausschließlich Unternehmen, die eine nahtlose Produktkommunikation auf allen relevanten Kanälen sicherstellen. Da die User in einem Zeitalter geboren wurden, in dem sich die Technologie jeden Tag rasant weiterentwickelt, spielen technologische Faktoren in ihrem Kaufprozess eine wichtige Rolle. Dementsprechend ist es nicht verwunderlich, dass ihr Kaufverhalten und ihre Erwartungen anders sind als bei früheren Generationen. Zu den charakteristischen Informationsquellen der Generation Z zählen vor allem sozialen Medien, Websites, Podcasts, Blogs, Apps und Streaming-Dienste. Marken, die diese digitalen Touchpoints in ihrer Produktkommunikation nicht berücksichtigen und nutzbringend mit den bestehenden Offline-Kanälen kombinieren, werden sich schon mittelfristig selbst aus dem Wettbewerb ausschließen. 

„In Europa kaufen über 40 % der Generation Z mindestens die Hälfte ihrer Kleidung und Unterhaltungsmedien online. Ein knappes Drittel kauft die Hälfte seiner Gesundheits- und Beauty-Produkte online. Außerdem ist die Generation Z bereit, Premiumpreise für sie relevante Produkte zu zahlen.“

 Quelle: PwC Europe Consumer Insights Series, 2020

Fazit

Marken, die in der Evolution der “digitalen Welt” überleben wollen, müssen Ihr Geschäftsmodell weiterentwickeln. Der “digitale Handel” hat sich in den letzten Jahren zu einer “digitalen Geschäftsplattform” gewandelt, die durch technologische Komponenten den gesamten Wertschöpfungsprozess unterstützt. IT-Komponenten wie PIM, DAM, ERP, CRM, sowie weitere Tools und Applikationen stellen essenzielle Kraftquellen für die digitale Geschäftsplattform dar. Nicht zuletzt, weil sich die frühere “transaktionsorientierte” Shopping Journey zu einer “erlebnisorientierten” Customer Journey entwickelt hat, die auf umfangreiche, konsistente und relevante Daten beruht.

Der erlebnisorientierte Handel ist ein unverzichtbares Differenzierungsmerkmal, um dauerhafte Kundenbeziehungen zu schaffen und die Kundenloyalität zu stärken. Erfahren Sie in einer unverbindlichen Online-Demo, wie Sie mit einem PIM-System den Grundstein für Ihren erlebnisorientierten Handel legen, indem Sie alle aktuellen und reichhaltigen Produktinformationen an einer zentralen Stelle verwalten und von dort aus an alle relevanten Customer Touchpoints ausspielen.

Weitere Beiträge:

PIM für KMU – worauf ist zu achten?

Professioneller Omnichannel Commerce ist längst nicht mehr eine Disziplin, die ausschließlich große Unternehmen und Konzerne betrifft. Der boomende Markt an digitalen Lösungsanbietern öffnet auch kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen die Türen zu einem zeitgemäßen Produktdaten-Management. Wir zeigen auf, wieso ein PIM-System auch für KMUs von Vorteil ist und worauf sie bei der Auswahl achten sollten.

Omnichannel – The new normal für Händler

Omnichannel als “The New Normal”. Die Omnichannel Excellence Study 2022 von Google, zeigt, wie gut deutsche Retailer auf die Bedürfnisse der Kund:innen reagieren. Wie ein PIM-System Sie in Ihrer Omnichannel-Strategie sinnvoll unterstützt, lesen Sie hier.

5 Produktfilter, die Kunden beim Online-Shopping voraussetzen

Der Einsatz von Produktfiltern im E-Commerce ist von entscheidender Bedeutung, um Kunden die Navigation durch Ihre Produkte und schließlich die Kaufentscheidung zu erleichtern. In diesem Beitrag zeigen wir auf, welche Filter Sie für ein intelligentes und effektives Filtersystem benötigen.

PIM vs. ERP

PIM vs. ERP – Was ist der Unterschied?

ERP oder PIM, welches ist das führende System? Diese Frage wird oft in Unternehmen gestellt. Vorweg: Eine pauschale Antwort gibt es nicht. Wir erklären in diesem Beitrag, was bei der Beurteilung beider Systeme wichtig ist.

Jetzt Vorteile live erleben

Lernen Sie prodexa Cloud für Ihre Branche in einer unverbindlichen und individuellen Produkttour kennen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Automobil und Fahrzeuge” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM mit Marktplatzfunktionen” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für den “Technischen Großhandel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Werkzeuge und DIY” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Maschinenbau und Technik” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Baustoffe und SHK” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Handel und B2B” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Elektronik und Kabel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.