News & Blog

"Digital Asset Management (DAM): Definition, potentials and advantages"

Excerpt: Marketing and sales channels are increasingly merging. At the same time, product life cycles are becoming shorter and shorter. To ensure that companies are able to adapt their product communication to the customer's needs more quickly, they need to manage their digital content efficiently.

Customer purchasing behavior has changed in both the B2C and B2B environments. Customers today no longer want to contact sales staff at the beginning of their purchase decision phase. They usually make their information and purchasing decisions online, based on the content provided by the company. If the content is not sufficient to convince a customer of a product or service, it is highly likely the customer will spontaneously and flexibly jump to a competitor’s offer, which better meets his expectations. For this reason, it is more important than ever to provide customers with high-quality content and information that adds real value to the customer journey.

The production of multimedia content is an ongoing and living process. The more products and brands a company maintains, the more target groups and target markets it serves, the more channels and platforms it plays on, the more media data needs to be collected, managed and distributed. To avoid data chaos, successful companies use a digital asset management system (DAM).

Digital asset management is a discipline that helps companies organize their media data (images, graphics, logos, videos, PDFs, audio files, 3D models, etc.) in a central library and distribute it from there to all relevant channels. In this context, a DAM system facilitates collaboration with internal and external stakeholders and makes recurring tasks more efficient through workflow automation.

What criteria should a DAM system meet?

“DAM stores, manages and renders rich media, including text, graphics, photos, video and audio. DAM can be sold as a software license or hosted service. Typically, DAM systems are intended to support a wide range of actors — from specialized creative to generalist production to more operational and administrative roles — both inside and outside an organization, often including agencies and channel partners.”

Source: Gartner Glossary: Definition of Digital Asset Management, 2021

A DAM system takes into account, among other things 

  • the monitoring of data, 
  • the easy adjustment of formatting and sizes for the appropriate output channels,
  • the tracking of changes and versioning 
  • the definition of access and usage permissions for different stakeholders, 
  • the distribution of content in convenient download packages,
  • integration and connection to other third-party systems for data enrichment.

What benefits does a DAM system bring to companies?

Consistent product communication

A DAM system ensures that all team members and departments (marketing, sales, PR, product management, etc.) have access to all current and approved media of a company. This avoids the risk of inconsistencies and errors in cross-channel product communication due to outdated files. A DAM system thus contributes to consistent brand management in which the corporate design is adhered in all brand touch points and in all target markets.

Improved product experience

Rich media content helps differentiation and increases customer attention and engagement, ultimately leading to higher conversion rates. Correct and high-resolution media improve product presentation and deliver added value to customers in the purchase decision process. The better a product is described and visualized, the more likely a customer is to make a profounded purchase decision and converts to a buyer. At the same time, relevant product information can accelerate the purchase decision process and minimize the rate of returns.

According to a survey on the topic of “Returns in e-commerce”, over 26% of returns are due to incorrect image descriptions.

Source: Statista “Survey on returns in e-commerce in Germany”, 2019

More efficiency and productivity

Digital asset management enables efficient collaboration with a wide range of stakeholders. Media data can be shared quickly and securely with employees, external agencies, suppliers or sales partners. Automated processes in content creation also reduce error rates, shorten approval processes, and save personnel resources. A DAM solution also offers much more comprehensive search and filtering capabilities than standard file hosting services. Users can search for keywords, categories, or specific tags for their products.

“A DAM system reduces email traffic for retail companies to approve and capture media data by up to 100%.”

Source: Data-Talks, „How PIM & MDM Boosts eCommerce KPIs”, 2020

Adherence to compliance rules

With a digital asset management system, your media data is secure, both inside and outside your organization. It provides protected storage through high-level encryption protocols. In addition, a DAM system gives you control over the user groups that can edit the digital assets. It ensures that only selected and authorized user groups have access to certain files, which is especially important when working with external stakeholders such as agencies, partners, suppliers, etc. A DAM system thus ensures the quality and protection of media data throughout the entire product lifecycle and provides the foundation for comprehensive data governance.

Differentiation: DAM vs. PIM

While Product Information Management enables the organization of product information such as product attributes, product descriptions or simple visuals, a DAM system is a central repository where logos, videos, 3D models, documents, audio files, etc. are stored and managed.  DAM systems are mainly used by brnads and retailers who need to manage a lot of media content for many purposes. 

A PIM system, in turn, enables the digital assets from the DAM system to be distributed across all relevant channels with the associated product information. In this case, both systems complement each other and work best together to achieve the best possible product content management.

Learn in a free online demo how you can use both disciplines, PIM and DAM, profitably for your business model with prodexa Cloud. You can also find out in numerous case studies from different industries how prodexa Cloud ma

More articles:

How Digital Asset Management can revolutionize your video marketing

More and more companies are turning to video marketing as part of their digital marketing strategy. With good reason, as it turns out. But how can the increasing demands on multimedia content be mastered successfully? And how can the increasing amounts of data be managed efficiently?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

What is the return of experience?

In addition to ROI (Return of Investment), ROX (Return of Experience) is a metric that should play a big role in e-commerce. Customer experience determines up-selling or cross-selling and also post-purchase reviews. The direct link between customer perception, customer experience and actual behavioral changes is quantified by ROX. The engagement of the employees in the service departments of the companies is also included in the consideration of the ROX. A PIM helps deliver the best quality data across all touchpoints.

Successfully entering the digital transformation with a PIM system 

A Product Information Management System (PIM) makes the digitization of product data much easier and frees up space for other projects. A daring thesis? Yes! We know how it really works and explain in this article how the transformation succeeds.
Digital transformation means, especially for manufacturing companies, the right handling of product information. With a PIM system, workflows are simplified and information is available centrally.

Higher rankings through Product Listing Optimization

We all know that SEO is essential for the success of a product. But Product Listing Optimization (PLO) also makes a significant contribution to the marketing success of a product. It makes it possible to adapt the product content to the algorithm of the various channels in order to achieve sustainably better rankings.

Quick Commerce – the new trend for online commerce

After e-commerce comes Q-commerce. Quick Commerce (Q-Commerce) is all about speed and delivering the best customer experience. And doing so within the shortest possible time. The market is growing rapidly, right now it’s mostly groceries, but pharmaceuticals are the next quick commerce segment.

Experience the benefits live

Find out more about prodexa Cloud for your industry in a non-binding and individual product tour.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Automotive & Vehicles” – download now for free (German version).

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM with marketplace features” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud – “PIM for technical wholesale” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Tools & DIY” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Mechanical Engineering & Technology” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Construction Materials, Sanitary & HVAC” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Commerce & B2B” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Electronics & Cables” – download now for free (German version).

News & Blog

"Digital Asset Management (DAM): Erklärung, Potenzial und Vorteile"

Einführung: Marketing- und Vertriebskanäle verschmelzen immer stärker miteinander. Gleichzeitig werden Produktlebenszyklen immer kürzer. Damit Unternehmen in der Lage sind, ihre Produktkommunikation immer schneller an die Kundenbedürfnisse anzupassen, müssen sie ihre digitalen Inhalte effizient verwalten.

Das Kaufverhalten von Kunden hat sich sowohl im B2C- als auch im B2B-Umfeld geändert. Kunden wollen sich heute zu Beginn ihrer Kaufentscheidungsphase nicht mehr mit dem Verkaufspersonal in Verbindung setzen. Die Informationsbeschaffung und Kaufentscheidung treffen sie meistens online, und zwar anhand des vom Unternehmen zur Verfügung gestellten Contents. Sollte der Content nicht ausreichen, um einen Kunden von einer Leistung zu überzeugen, wird dieser mit hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit spontan und flexibel zum Angebot der Wettbewerber springen, welche seine Erwartungshaltung besser erfüllen. Aus diesem Grund ist es wichtiger denn je, Kunden mit hochwertigen Inhalten und Informationen zu versorgen, die einen wirklichen Mehrwert in der Customer Journey bringen.

Die Produktion von multimedialem Content ist ein fortlaufender und lebendiger Prozess. Je mehr Produkte und Marken ein Unternehmen pflegt, je mehr Zielgruppen und Zielmärkte es bedient, je mehr Kanäle und Plattformen es bespielt, desto mehr Mediendaten müssen gesammelt, verwaltet und verteilt werden. Um Datachaos zu vermeiden, behelfen sich erfolgreiche Unternehmen mit einem Digital Asset Management System (DAM).

Digital Asset Management ist eine Disziplin, die Unternehmen dabei hilft, ihre Mediendaten (Bilder, Grafiken, Logos, Videos, PDFs, Audiodateien, 3D-Modelle, etc.) in einer zentralen Bibliothek zu organisieren und sie von dort aus an alle relevanten Kanäle zu verteilen. Ein DAM-System erleichtert in diesem Zusammenhang die Zusammenarbeit mit internen und externen Interessensgruppen und gestaltet wiederkehrende Aufgaben durch Workflow-Automation effizienter.

Welche Kriterien sollte ein DAM-System erfüllen?

“DAM stores, manages and renders rich media, including text, graphics, photos, video and audio. DAM can be sold as a software license or hosted service. Typically, DAM systems are intended to support a wide range of actors — from specialized creative to generalist production to more operational and administrative roles — both inside and outside an organization, often including agencies and channel partners.”

Quelle: Gartner Glossary: Definition Digital Asset Management, 2021

Ein DAM-System berücksichtigt unter anderem 

  • die Überwachung von Daten, 
  • die einfache Anpassung von Formatierungen und Größen für die entsprechenden Ausgabekanäle,
  • die Nachverfolgung von Veränderungen und Versionierungen, 
  • die Definition von Zugriffs- und Nutzungsberechtigungen für die unterschiedlichen Interessensgruppen, 
  • die Distribution von Inhalten in praktischen Downloadpaketen,
  • die Integration und Anbindung an weitere Drittsysteme zwecks Datenanreicherung.

Welchen Nutzen liefert ein DAM-System für Unternehmen?

Konsistente Produktkommunikation

Ein DAM-System stellt sicher, dass alle Teammitglieder und Abteilungen (Marketing, Vertrieb, PR, Produktmanagement, etc.) auf die aktuellen und freigegebenen Medien eines Unternehmens zugreifen. Dadurch wird das Risiko von Unstimmigkeiten und Fehlern in der kanalübergreifenden Produktkommunikation aufgrund veralteter Dateien vermieden. Ein DAM-System trägt somit zu einer einheitlichen Markenführung bei, in dem das Corporate Design in allen Markenkontaktpunkten und in allen Zielmärkten eingehalten wird.

Verbessertes Produkterlebnis

Reichhaltige Medieninhalte tragen zur Differenzierung bei und steigern die Aufmerksamkeit und das Engagement der Kunden, was schließlich zu höheren Konversionsraten führt. Korrekte und hochauflösende Medien verbessern die Produktpräsentation und liefern Kunden im Kaufentscheidungsprozess einen Mehrwert. Je besser ein Produkt beschrieben und visualisiert wird, desto eher kann ein Kunde eine fundierte Kaufentscheidung treffen und zum Käufer konvertieren. Gleichzeitig lässt sich durch relevante Produktinformationen der Kaufentscheidungsprozess beschleunigen und die Retourenquote minimieren. 

Einer Umfrage zum Thema „Retouren im E-Commerce“ zufolge, erfolgen über 26% der Retouren aufgrund fehlerhafter Bildbeschreibungen.

Quelle: Statista „Umfrage zu Retouren im E-Commerce in Deutschland“, 2019

Mehr Effizienz und Produktivität

Digital Asset Management unterstützt die effiziente Kollaboration mit den unterschiedlichen Interessensgruppen. Mediendaten lassen sich schnell und sicher mit Mitarbeitern, externen Agenturen, Lieferanten oder Vertriebspartnern teilen. Durch automatisierte Prozesse in der Content-Erstellung lassen sich außerdem Fehlerquoten reduzieren, Freigabeprozesse kürzen und personelle Ressourcen einsparen. Eine DAM-Lösung bietet zudem deutlich umfangreichere Such- und Filtermöglichkeiten, als übliche Filehosting-Dienste. Anwender können nach Schlüsselwörtern, Kategorien oder bestimmten Tags für ihre Produkte suchen.

“Ein DAM-System reduziert bei Retail-Unternehmen den Email-Verkehr zur Freigabe und Erfassung von Mediendaten um bis zu 100 %.”

Quelle: Data-Talks, „How PIM & MDM Boosts eCommerce KPIs”, 2020

Einhaltung von Compliance-Regeln

Mit einem Digital Asset Management System sind Ihre Mediendaten sicher, sowohl innerhalb als auch außerhalb Ihrer Organisation. Es bietet eine geschützte Speicherung durch hochgradige Verschlüsselungsprotokolle. Außerdem gibt Ihnen ein DAM-System die Kontrolle über die Benutzergruppen, welche die digitalen Assets bearbeiten können. Es stellt sicher, dass nur ausgewählte und autorisierte Benutzergruppen Zugriff auf bestimmte Dateien haben, was vor allem bei der Zusammenarbeit mit externen Interessensgruppen wie Agenturen, Partnern, Lieferanten, etc. wichtig ist. Ein DAM-System stellt somit die Qualität und den Schutz von Mediendaten über den gesamten Produktlebenszyklus hinweg sicher und liefert den Grundstein für ein umfangreiches Data Governance.

Abgrenzung: DAM vs. PIM

Während Product Information Management die Organisation von Produktinformationen wie Produktattributen, Produktbeschreibungen oder einfachem Bildmaterial ermöglicht, ist ein DAM-System ein zentraler Speicher, in dem auch Logos, Videos, 3D-Modelle, Dokumente, Audiodateien, etc. aufbewahrt und verwaltet werden. DAM-Systeme sind vor allem bei Herstellern und Händlern im Einsatz, die viele Medieninhalte für viele Zwecke verwalten müssen. 

Ein PIM-System ermöglicht wiederum, die digitalen Assets aus dem DAM-System über alle relevanten Kanäle mit den zugehörigen Produktinformationen zu verteilen. Beide Systeme ergänzen sich in diesem Fall gegenseitig und arbeiten am besten zusammen, um das bestmögliche Produkt-Content-Management zu erreichen.

Erfahren Sie in einer unverbindlichen Online-Demo, wie Sie mit prodexa Cloud beide Disziplinen, PIM und DAM, gewinnbringend für Ihr Geschäftsmodell einsetzen. Überzeugen Sie sich zudem in zahlreichen Case Studies aus unterschiedlichen Branchen, wie prodexa Cloud das Datenmanagement für namhafte Kunden mit einem ähnlichen Anforderungsprofil einfach beherrschbar macht.

Weitere Beiträge:

Wie Digital Asset Management Ihr Video-Marketing revolutioniert

Immer mehr Unternehmen setzen auf Videomarketing als Teil ihrer digitalen Marketingstrategie. Zurecht, wie sich zeigt. Doch wie lassen sich die zunehmenden Anforderungen an multimedialen Inhalten erfolgreich meistern? Und wie können die zunehmenden Datenmengen erfolgreich verwaltet werden?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Was ist der Return of Experience? Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Neben dem ROI (Return of Investment), ist der ROX (Return of Experience) eine Kennzahl, die im E-Commerce eine große Rolle spielen sollte. Die Customer Experience entscheidet über Up- oder Cross-Selling und auch über die Bewertungen nach dem Kauf. Die direkte Verknüpfung zwischen der Kundenwahrnehmung, dem Kundenerlebnis und den tatsächlichen Verhaltensänderungen wird durch den ROX quantifiziert. Das Engagement der Mitarbeiter in den Serviceabteilungen der Unternehmen fließt ebenso in die Betrachtung des ROX ein. Ein PIM hilft dabei, die beste Datenqualität an allen Touchpoints zu liefern.

Mit einem PIM-System erfolgreich in die digitale Transformation 

Ein Product Information Management System (PIM) erleichtert die Digitalisierung von Produktdaten enorm und schafft Platz für andere Projekte. Eine gewagte These? Ja! Wir wissen, wie es wirklich geht und erklären in diesem Beitrag wie die Transformation gelingt.
Digitaler Wandel bedeutet, insbesondere für herstellende Unternehmen, den richtige Umgang mit Produktinformationen. Mit einem PIM-System werden Arbeitsabläufe vereinfacht und Informationen stehen zentral zur Verfügung.

Höhere Rankings mittels Product Listing Optimization

Wir alle wissen, dass SEO für den Erfolg eines Produkts unerlässlich ist. Aber auch die Product Listing Optimization (PLO) trägt maßgeblich zum Vermarktungserfolg eines Produkts bei. Sie ermöglicht es, den Produktinhalt an den Algorithmus der verschiedenen Kanäle anzupassen, um nachhaltig bessere Platzierungen zu erzielen.

Quick Commerce – der neue Trend für den Online-Handel

Nach E-Commerce kommt Q-Commerce. Bei Quick-Commerce (Q-Commerce) dreht sich alles um die Geschwindigkeit und darum, das beste Kundenerlebnis zu liefern. Und das innerhalb kürzester Zeit. Der Markt wächst rasant, momentan sind es hauptsächlich Lebensmittel, Medikamente sind jedoch das nächste Quick-Commerce-Segment.

Jetzt Vorteile live erleben

Lernen Sie prodexa Cloud für Ihre Branche in einer unverbindlichen und individuellen Produkttour kennen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Automobil und Fahrzeuge” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM mit Marktplatzfunktionen” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für den “Technischen Großhandel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Werkzeuge und DIY” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Maschinenbau und Technik” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Baustoffe und SHK” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Handel und B2B” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Elektronik und Kabel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.