News & Blog

"The potential of product data for the automotive and supplier industry"

Excerpt: The automotive industry and its suppliers have special requirements for product data. Learn in this article how a PIM system helps to make cross-organizational collaboration and process optimization along the value chain significantly more efficient in order to realize additional competitive advantages.

Increasing complexity of product data

Digitalization and Industry 4.0 are facing companies across all industries with ever greater challenges in the management of product data – and the automotive industry is no exception. For example, the number of product data to be managed continues to increase as more and more channels and systems are integrated into the value creation process. Attributes for product data (product data specifications) to format product information in a meaningful way are becoming more and more extensive. Titles, descriptions, capacities, units of measure, prices, product categories, product types, materials, sizes, weights, standardizations, classifications, etc. represent only a small number of the attributes that need to be maintained. Industry-specific data formats, such as TecDoc, make the administrative effort even more complex. At the same time, the number of associated assets (e.g., product videos, product images, 360° views), which must be distributed directly to relevant marketing and sales channels (e.g., ecommerce systems, marketplaces, online catalogs, print, supplier and partner portals), is also increasing. 

On the other hand, process optimization, automation, product enhancements, compliance, and internationalization pose further challenges that make it more difficult to merge and distribute product data on a reliable basis. Good and consistent product data is especially important in the automotive industry to be able to react quickly to environmental factors and market changes (e.g., conservation, electromobility, autonomous driving, connectivity).

Making big data manageable with PIM

In order to efficiently master these increasing challenges, a central product database for product management is becoming increasingly indispensable. PIM (Product Information Management) systems take over the central collection, enrichment, harmonization and distribution of product data. They ensure that the correct data, in the correct format, is presented in the relevant channels – often even in real time. 

Leading automotive and supplier companies such as Audi, Westfalia Automotive and BE Turbo know that with the rapid restructuring of existing business practices will also result many opportunities to differentiate themselves from the competition.

The next generation of leaders needs quick and easy access to trusted data to make better business decisions and accelerate digital transformation. For this purpose, it is critical that data is of high quality and provides the right context when aggregated and merged from disparate sources. However, in many cases, organizations still have to deal with data that is often spread across different isolated systems, applications, business units and geographies. Much of this data is responsible for specific processes in the manufacturing and distribution value chain, making it difficult to get a reliable 360° view of your own data. These fragmented data sources can ultimately result in lost productivity, compliance issues, and ultimately a poor customer experience. 

Source: PIM Directory, SDZeCOM

A PIM system is responsible for the central collection, management and enrichment of product information, the cataloguing of products and the distribution of product data to other sales and marketing channels. As a central data point, a PIM system combines all product information that is collected in the value chain at different points in product management, marketing, sales and logistics. During the consolidation of the data, it is simultaneously refined, translated and controlled. This is the only way to ensure that the product information is complete, correct and consistent and meets the industry-specific quality requirements. For this reason, a PIM system is also often referred to as a “single source of truth”.

A PIM system always aims to find solutions to all the problems that companies can encounter in product data management. If you distribute numerous products through diverse sales channels (whether in a B2C or B2B), then some of these problems will certainly sound familiar to you:

  • Complexity of data handling, which increases with the product range
  • Inconsistent data as it is maintained in parallel on multiple systems (data silos)
  • Too much data that needs to be manually sorted in your system (attributes, technical data, digital assets, SKUs, etc.)
  • Constantly changing product specifications (prices, stocks, descriptions, etc.)
  • The management of different supplier data
  • The translation and provision of product information for different markets and countries
  • The increasing number of marketing and sales channels you need to keep under control (online shops, online product catalogues, marketplaces, apps, shops, print)

Advantages of PIM for the automotive industry

To systematically unlock the potential of product and supplier data, manufacturers must create a flexible ecosystem in which every area of responsibility, both internal and external, has access to the relevant information. This is the only way to work collaboratively and efficiently along the value chain, realizing the following benefits:

Increasing operational efficiency

If industrial manufacturing companies have access to a central product database and also understand the relationships between the product data, they are able to better align business processes and make more well-founded decisions. Automation in the creation and distribution of product information, digital media content, descriptions and classifications simultaneously reduces the effort for recurring tasks as well as the error rates in manual workflows.

More agility

Manufacturers in the automotive industry and supplier sector must be able to adapt their production structures and business models quickly to dynamic market requirements and fluctuations in demand. They must be able to accelerate their market launches to meet customer demands for improved and new products. Accordingly, FASTER time to market is a key requirement to remain competitive, especially in the face of complex and global supply chains, increased competition, and product standardization. A PIM system enables quick access to the consistent and reliable data, and speeds up the supply chain for manufacturers.

Improved collaboration and internationalization

For industrial companies that market their products internationally, it is important to manage all product information centrally to enable efficient and cross-departmental collaboration across applications and locations. A PIM system helps manufacturers better align regions, locations and teams by accessing an enterprise-wide product data source. Additionally, it provides a centralized management framework for country-specific marketing and sales activities. This is particularly helpful when manufacturers do not market all variants of all products in their portfolio in all regions.

Engaging omnichannel product experience

Omnichannel management is no longer just relevant for retail. Manufacturing companies also need to go beyond selling their products and nurture and strengthen their customer relationships with compelling content. They need to offer business-oriented platforms such as online catalogs, supplier portals or intuitive apps for field service to ensure an excellent product experience across all channels. Rich product data provides the basis for this.

Monitoring compliance requirements

A PIM system ensures the quality, protection and security of product data throughout the entire product lifecycle and provides the basis for comprehensive data governance. It defines clear rules and specifications for handling data for the various stakeholders such as employees, customers, suppliers and partners. Access is precisely defined and regulated for the individual stakeholders. At the same time, costs for the administration and storage of data can be optimized through the structured concept.

Mastering data complexity sustainably

Successful industrial companies depend on building a strong IT ecosystem that leverages the power of data analytics and connectivity to maximize operational efficiency. To drive digital transformation, they need not only the right technology, but also a strong digital culture based on high-quality data. Implementing a scalable and intelligent PIM solution is a critical step forward for any manufacturer that wants to remain competitive in their market. 

If you would like to learn more about how the prodexa Cloud PIM system not only meets but exceeds the requirements of the automotive and supplier industries, then download the free whitepaper “prodexa Cloud for the automotive and vehicle industry” or arrange a non-binding online demo to experience the extensive functions for your industry live in practice.

More articles:

Process optimization between suppliers and retailers using PIM

Manually collecting product data from numerous suppliers and manufacturers can result in very time-consuming and error-prone processes for retailers. We show how retailers can use intelligent supplier onboarding to transfer product data quickly and securely, thereby ensuring scalable workflows.

The leading marketplaces and how to sell successfully on them

Due to their enormous reach, online marketplaces are increasingly being taken into account in B2B and
B2C when designing their own e-commerce strategy. We show which online marketplaces are leading in
Germany and give you tips on how to market your products successfully on them.

How Digital Asset Management can revolutionize your video marketing

More and more companies are turning to video marketing as part of their digital marketing strategy. With good reason, as it turns out. But how can the increasing demands on multimedia content be mastered successfully? And how can the increasing amounts of data be managed efficiently?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

What is the return of experience?

In addition to ROI (Return of Investment), ROX (Return of Experience) is a metric that should play a big role in e-commerce. Customer experience determines up-selling or cross-selling and also post-purchase reviews. The direct link between customer perception, customer experience and actual behavioral changes is quantified by ROX. The engagement of the employees in the service departments of the companies is also included in the consideration of the ROX. A PIM helps deliver the best quality data across all touchpoints.

Experience the benefits live

Find out more about prodexa Cloud for your industry in a non-binding and individual product tour.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Automotive & Vehicles” – download now for free (German version).

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM with marketplace features” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud – “PIM for technical wholesale” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Tools & DIY” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Mechanical Engineering & Technology” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Construction Materials, Sanitary & HVAC” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Commerce & B2B” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Electronics & Cables” – download now for free (German version).

News & Blog

"Das Potenzial von Produktdaten für die Automobil- und Zulieferindustrie"

Einführung: Die Automobilindustrie und ihre Zulieferer haben besondere Anforderungen an Produktdaten. Erfahren Sie nachfolgend, wie ein PIM-System dabei unterstützt, die organisationsübergreifende Zusammenarbeit und die Prozessoptimierung entlang der Wertschöpfungskette erheblich effizienter zu gestalten, um zusätzliche Wettbewerbsvorteile zu realisieren.

Zunehmende Komplexität der Produktdaten

Digitalisierung und Industrie 4.0 stellen branchenübergreifend die Unternehmen bei der Verwaltung von Produktdaten vor immer größere Herausforderungen – so auch die Automobilindustrie. So steigt die Anzahl der zu verwaltenden Produktdaten immer weiter an, indem immer mehr Kanäle und Systeme im Wertschöpfungsprozess eingebunden werden. Attribute für Produktdaten (Produktdatenspezifikationen), um Produktinformationen sinnvoll zu formatieren, werden immer umfangreicher. Titel, Beschreibungen, Verfügbarkeiten, Mengeneinheiten, Preise, Produktkategorien, Produkttypen, Materialien, Größen, Gewichte, Normierungen, Klassifizierungen, etc. bilden nur eine kleine Anzahl der zu pflegenden Attribute ab. Branchenspezifische Datenformate, wie beispielsweise TecDoc, gestalten den Verwaltungsaufwand zusätzlich komplexer. Gleichzeitig steigt auch die Anzahl der zugehörigen Assets (z.B. Produktvideos, Produktbilder, 360°-Ansichten), welche direkt an relevante Marketing- und Vertriebskanäle (z.B. Shop-Systeme, Marktplätze, Online-Kataloge, Print, Lieferanten- und Partnerportale) verteilt werden müssen. 

Auf der anderen Seite stellen die Prozessoptimierung, Automatisierung, Produkterweiterungen, Compliance und Internationalisierung weitere Informationskanäle und Touchpoints dar, die das verlässliche Zusammenführen und Austauschen von Produktdaten schwieriger gestalten. Gute und konsistente Produktdaten sind vor allem in der Automobilindustrie wichtig, um schnell auf Umweltfaktoren und Marktänderungen reagieren zu können (z.B. Naturschutz, Elektromobilität, autonomes Fahren, Connectivity).

Mit PIM Big Data beherrschbar machen

Um diese steigenden Herausforderungen effizient zu meistern, wird eine zentrale Produktdatenbank für die Produktverwaltung immer unverzichtbarer. PIM-Systeme (Product Information Management) übernehmen die zentrale Sammlung, Anreicherung, Harmonisierung und Verteilung der Produktdaten. Sie stellen sicher, dass die korrekten Daten, im korrekten Format, in den relevanten Kanälen dargestellt werden – häufig sogar in Echtzeit. 

Führende Unternehmen aus der Automobilindustrie und Zulieferbranche wie Audi, Westfalia Automotive und BE Turbo wissen, dass mit der raschen Umstrukturierung der bestehenden Geschäftspraktiken auch viele Chancen resultieren, um sich vom Wettbewerb zu differenzieren.

Die nächste Generation von Führungskräften benötigt einen schnellen und einfachen Zugang zu vertrauenswürdigen Daten, um bessere Geschäftsentscheidungen zu treffen und die digitale Transformation zu beschleunigen. Dafür ist entscheidend, dass die Daten von hoher Qualität sind und den richtigen Kontext liefern, wenn sie aus unterschiedlichen Quellen aggregiert und zusammengeführt werden. In vielen Fällen müssen sich Unternehmen jedoch noch mit Daten befassen, die häufig über verschiedene isolierte Systeme, Anwendungen, Geschäftsbereiche und Regionen verteilt sind. Viele dieser Daten sind für bestimmte Prozesse in der Fertigungs- und Vertriebswertschöpfungskette zuständig, was einen zuverlässigen 360° Blick auf die eigenen Daten erschwert. Diese fragmentierten Datenquellen können schließlich Produktivitätsverluste, Probleme bei der Einhaltung von Vorschriften und schließlich eine schlechte Customer Experience zur Folge haben.

Vorteile von PIM für die Automotive Branche

Um das Potenzial von Produkt- und Lieferantendaten systematisch freizusetzen, müssen Hersteller ein flexibles Ökosystem schaffen, in dem jeder Verantwortungsbereich, sowohl intern als auch extern, Zugang zu den relevanten Informationen erhält. Nur so kann entlang der Wertschöpfungskette kollaborativ und effizient gearbeitet werden, wodurch sich folgende Vorteile realisieren lassen:

Steigerung der betrieblichen Effizienz

Greifen industrielle Fertigungsunternehmen auf eine zentrale Produktdatenbank zu und verstehen zudem die Relationen der Produktdaten untereinander, so sind sie in der Lage Geschäftsprozesse besser aufeinander abzustimmen und fundiertere Entscheidungen zu treffen. Automatismen in der Erstellung und Verteilung von Produktinformationen, digitalen Medieninhalten, Beschreibungen und Klassifizierungen reduzieren gleichzeitig den Aufwand für wiederkehrende Aufgaben sowie die Fehlerquoten bei manuellen Workflows.

Mehr Agilität

Hersteller der Autoindustrie und Zulieferbranche müssen in der Lage sein, ihre Produktionsstrukturen und Geschäftsmodelle schnell auf die dynamischen Marktanforderungen und Nachfrageschwankungen anzupassen. Sie müssen imstande sein, ihre Markteinführungen zu beschleunigen, um den Kundenanforderungen nach verbesserten und neuen Produkten gerecht zu werden. Eine schnelle Markteinführung ist demnach eine wichtige Voraussetzung, um wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben, insbesondere angesichts komplexer und globaler Lieferketten, eines verschärften Wettbewerbs und der Standardisierung von Produkten. Ein PIM-System ermöglicht den schnellen Zugriff auf die konsistenten und zuverlässigen Daten, und beschleunigt die Lieferkette für Hersteller.

Verbesserte Zusammenarbeit und Internationalisierung

Für Industrieunternehmen, die ihre Produkte international vermarkten, ist es wichtig alle Produktinformationen zentral zu verwalten, um eine effiziente und abteilungsübergreifende Zusammenarbeit über Anwendungen und Standorte hinweg zu ermöglichen. Ein PIM-System unterstützt die Hersteller dabei, Regionen, Standorte und Teams besser aufeinander abzustimmen, indem sie auf eine unternehmensweite Produktdatenquelle zugreifen. Zusätzlich bietet es einen zentralen Verwaltungsrahmen für länderspezifische Marketing- und Vertriebsaktivitäten. Dies ist vor allem dann hilfreich, wenn Hersteller nicht alle Produkte ihres Portfolios in allen Varianten in allen Regionen vermarkten.

Ansprechendes Omnichannel-Produkterlebnis

Omnichannel Management ist nicht mehr bloß für den Handel relevant. Auch Fertigungsunternehmen müssen über den Verkauf Ihrer Produkte hinausgehen und ihre Kundenbeziehungen mit überzeugenden Inhalten pflegen und festigen. Sie müssen geschäftsorientierte Plattformen wie Online-Kataloge, Lieferantenportale oder intuitive Apps für den Außendienst anbieten, um ein hervorragendes Produkterlebnis über alle Kanäle hinweg sicherzustellen. Reichhaltige Produktdaten liefern dabei die Basis.

Compliance-Regeln einhalten und überwachen

Ein PIM-System gewährleistet die Qualität, den Schutz und die Sicherheit von Produktdaten über den gesamten Produktlebenszyklus hinweg und liefert den Grundstein für ein umfangreiches Data Governance. Es definiert klare Regeln und Vorgaben im Umgang mit den Daten für die unterschiedlichen Stakeholder wie Mitarbeiter, Kunden, Lieferanten und Partner. Der Zugriff ist für die einzelnen Akteursgruppen genau definiert und geregelt. Gleichzeitig lassen sich Kosten für die Verwaltung und Speicherung der Daten durch das strukturierte Konzept optimieren.

Datenkomplexität nachhaltig meistern

Erfolgreiche Industrieunternehmen sind darauf angewiesen, ein starkes IT-Ökosystem aufzubauen, dass die Möglichkeiten der Datenanalyse und Konnektivität nutzt um die betriebliche Effizienz zu maximieren. Um die digitale Transformation voran zu treiben, benötigen sie nicht nur die richtige Technologie, sondern auch eine starke digitale Kultur, die auf hochwertige Daten basiert. Die Implementierung einer skalierbaren und intelligenten PIM-Lösung ist für jeden Hersteller, der auf seinem Markt wettbewerbsfähig bleiben will, ein entscheidender Schritt nach vorn. 

Wenn Sie mehr darüber erfahren möchten, wie das PIM-System prodexa Cloud die Anforderungen der Automobil- und Zuliefererbranchen nicht bloß erfüllt, sondern sogar übertrifft, dann laden Sie sich das kostenlose Whitepaper „prodexa Cloud für die Automobil- und Fahrzeugbranche“ herunter oder vereinbaren Sie eine unverbindliche Online-Demo um die umfangeichenen Funktionen für Ihre Branche live in der Praxis zu erleben.

Weitere Beiträge:

Wie Digital Asset Management Ihr Video-Marketing revolutioniert

Immer mehr Unternehmen setzen auf Videomarketing als Teil ihrer digitalen Marketingstrategie. Zurecht, wie sich zeigt. Doch wie lassen sich die zunehmenden Anforderungen an multimedialen Inhalten erfolgreich meistern? Und wie können die zunehmenden Datenmengen erfolgreich verwaltet werden?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Was ist der Return of Experience? Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Neben dem ROI (Return of Investment), ist der ROX (Return of Experience) eine Kennzahl, die im E-Commerce eine große Rolle spielen sollte. Die Customer Experience entscheidet über Up- oder Cross-Selling und auch über die Bewertungen nach dem Kauf. Die direkte Verknüpfung zwischen der Kundenwahrnehmung, dem Kundenerlebnis und den tatsächlichen Verhaltensänderungen wird durch den ROX quantifiziert. Das Engagement der Mitarbeiter in den Serviceabteilungen der Unternehmen fließt ebenso in die Betrachtung des ROX ein. Ein PIM hilft dabei, die beste Datenqualität an allen Touchpoints zu liefern.

Mit einem PIM-System erfolgreich in die digitale Transformation 

Ein Product Information Management System (PIM) erleichtert die Digitalisierung von Produktdaten enorm und schafft Platz für andere Projekte. Eine gewagte These? Ja! Wir wissen, wie es wirklich geht und erklären in diesem Beitrag wie die Transformation gelingt.
Digitaler Wandel bedeutet, insbesondere für herstellende Unternehmen, den richtige Umgang mit Produktinformationen. Mit einem PIM-System werden Arbeitsabläufe vereinfacht und Informationen stehen zentral zur Verfügung.

Höhere Rankings mittels Product Listing Optimization

Wir alle wissen, dass SEO für den Erfolg eines Produkts unerlässlich ist. Aber auch die Product Listing Optimization (PLO) trägt maßgeblich zum Vermarktungserfolg eines Produkts bei. Sie ermöglicht es, den Produktinhalt an den Algorithmus der verschiedenen Kanäle anzupassen, um nachhaltig bessere Platzierungen zu erzielen.

Quick Commerce – der neue Trend für den Online-Handel

Nach E-Commerce kommt Q-Commerce. Bei Quick-Commerce (Q-Commerce) dreht sich alles um die Geschwindigkeit und darum, das beste Kundenerlebnis zu liefern. Und das innerhalb kürzester Zeit. Der Markt wächst rasant, momentan sind es hauptsächlich Lebensmittel, Medikamente sind jedoch das nächste Quick-Commerce-Segment.

Jetzt Vorteile live erleben

Lernen Sie prodexa Cloud für Ihre Branche in einer unverbindlichen und individuellen Produkttour kennen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Automobil und Fahrzeuge” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM mit Marktplatzfunktionen” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für den “Technischen Großhandel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Werkzeuge und DIY” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Maschinenbau und Technik” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Baustoffe und SHK” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Handel und B2B” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Elektronik und Kabel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.