News & Blog

"At what point do companies need a PIM system?"

Excerpt: The number of sales and communication channels that need to be served with ever greater amounts of product information is increasing with the rise of digitalisation. The general conditions in omnichannel commerce are the same for smaller companies as for large ones. Therefore, a PIM system is not primarily aimed at the size of a company.

For which businesses is a PIM system useful?

In the age of omnichannel commerce, companies make active use of PIM (Product Information Management) systems to centralise product information and to meet the specific requirements of the individual sales and communication channels. Therefore, the introduction of a PIM system is primarily aimed at e-commerce businesses. But a PIM system also plays an increasingly important role for brands and manufacturers who distribute their products to numerous suppliers, marketplaces, online catalogues and other channels. Among other things, this is due to the fact that buyers in the B2B environment also expect a buying experience that meets the demands of the B2C sector.

The increase in digital commerce across numerous channels is intensifying competition across all industries. In this competition, the companies stand out that manage to market their products faster and offer their customers added value in the information and purchase decision process through complete and consistent product information. The various data sources for technical specifications, stock levels, price information, product descriptions, media assets, etc. are collected centrally in the PIM system, cleansed, enriched and from there played out to the various output channels. PIM systems thus ensure consistent product communication across all channels by providing all touchpoints with clean data from a central source.

„PIM is growing in importance as more eCommerce professionals are looking for ways to aggregate and manage product content across all channels in order to solve their business challenges. To compete in the age of omnichannel commerce, eCommerce experts need a common infrastructure to centralize their product information and create channelspecific product experiences that are optimized for each channel’s unique requirements and audience.“

Source: COMCAP “Product Information Management Overview”, 2020

PIM systems are mainly used by retailers and manufacturers who provide their product information to various marketplaces (Amazon, eBay, Google Shopping, etc.), mobile applications, social media channels (Instagram, Facebook catalogue, Pinterest, etc.), online catalogues, print media, suppliers and even the physical point of sale. Whether a company distributes 1,000, 10,000 or over 100,000 products, a PIM system helps reduce costs in the long term through automated workflows in sourcing, enriching and distributing product information. Of course, a PIM system scales with the number of output channels, the requirements for complete product data and the number of products to be managed.

Below are other criteria that indicate that your company will benefit from a PIM system:

  • Data chaos: Product data is managed in different places, so-called data silos. Each department has its own workflows on how and where product data is organised. This leads to the question for your company where the most up-to-date data on a product is located.
  • High return rates: Your customers and prospects frequently send you enquiries because they cannot correctly assess the usability of your products? Your inside sales team is struggling with relatively high returns? The better the information you present in your product communication, the more well-grounded purchasing decisions your customers can make.
  • The challenge of internationalisation: Do you want to market your products outside the German-speaking world? But the maintenance effort for additional languages is too great? Many PIM systems have integrated translation management to make translations easy to handle. At the same time, user and rights management can be used to define and control access to market-specific product information.
  • High time and cost expenditure for product catalogues: Do you regularly produce product catalogues? Production can be very intensive, especially if the data has to be entered manually and obtained from several sources. Many PIM systems have appropriate interfaces to automatically output the product information directly into the print medium, e.g. Adobe InDesign. This drastically reduces the manual effort in production and the time required until publication.
  • Time-consuming entry of supplier data: Do you regularly have to manually enter new product data from your product suppliers? With a PIM system, suppliers and manufacturers can provide you with exactly the information you need for your product communication. By defining quality criteria, you can easily control the maintenance and quality assurance of product data at the supplier and manufacturer without having to fear a loss of quality.

Which divisions work with the PIM system?

Within a company, it is primarily the marketing, sales, purchasing, product management, data compliance and IT departments that deal with the maintenance of the PIM system. Via user groups, stakeholders outside the company, such as suppliers and agencies, can also be given access to the central product information.

A PIM system gives different departments along the value chain quick access to all product information, which simplifies collaboration and speeds up internal work processes. It also enables efficient onboarding for new partners and suppliers by providing them with information on new products intuitively and quickly.

“Teams that don’t have PIM tools risk palpable competitive disadvantage with content that’s inconsistent, meets only the minimum market requirements, and fails to engage customers. Teams that do use PIM win customers and expand their markets with product content that engages buyers and drives purchase decisions.”

Source: Senior E-Business Analyst Bruce Eppinger, Forrester Research

Conclusion:

A PIM system is not primarily based on the size of a company. Small and medium-sized companies also benefit greatly from central product information management and the extensive automation in the administration and distribution of data, as they have fewer human resources than large corporations.

If some of the challenges listed above sound familiar to you in your daily business and you would like to get more information or practical insights on how to successfully master them with a PIM system, please feel free to arrange a non-binding online demo. Our experts will show you the advantages of a PIM system for your industry and business model.

More articles:

Process optimization between suppliers and retailers using PIM

Manually collecting product data from numerous suppliers and manufacturers can result in very time-consuming and error-prone processes for retailers. We show how retailers can use intelligent supplier onboarding to transfer product data quickly and securely, thereby ensuring scalable workflows.

The leading marketplaces and how to sell successfully on them

Due to their enormous reach, online marketplaces are increasingly being taken into account in B2B and
B2C when designing their own e-commerce strategy. We show which online marketplaces are leading in
Germany and give you tips on how to market your products successfully on them.

How Digital Asset Management can revolutionize your video marketing

More and more companies are turning to video marketing as part of their digital marketing strategy. With good reason, as it turns out. But how can the increasing demands on multimedia content be mastered successfully? And how can the increasing amounts of data be managed efficiently?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

What is the return of experience?

In addition to ROI (Return of Investment), ROX (Return of Experience) is a metric that should play a big role in e-commerce. Customer experience determines up-selling or cross-selling and also post-purchase reviews. The direct link between customer perception, customer experience and actual behavioral changes is quantified by ROX. The engagement of the employees in the service departments of the companies is also included in the consideration of the ROX. A PIM helps deliver the best quality data across all touchpoints.

Experience the benefits live

Find out more about prodexa Cloud for your industry in a non-binding and individual product tour.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Automotive & Vehicles” – download now for free (German version).

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM with marketplace features” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud – “PIM for technical wholesale” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Tools & DIY” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Mechanical Engineering & Technology” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Construction Materials, Sanitary & HVAC” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Commerce & B2B” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Electronics & Cables” – download now for free (German version).

News & Blog

"Ab wann benötigen Unternehmen ein PIM-System?"

Auszug: Die Anzahl der Vertriebs- und Kommunikationskanäle, die mit immer größeren Mengen an Produktinformationen bedient werden müssen, steigt mit der zunehmenden Digitalisierung immer weiter an. Die Rahmenbedingungen im Omnichannel Commerce sind dabei für kleinere Unternehmen die gleichen wie für große Unternehmen. Daher richtet sich ein PIM-System in erster Linie nicht an die Größe eines Unternehmens.

Für welche Unternehmen ist ein PIM-System sinnvoll?

Im Zeitalter des Omnichannel-Handels nutzen E-Commerce-Unternehmen aktiv PIM-Systeme (Product Information Management), um Produktinformationen zu zentralisieren und die speziellen Anforderungen der einzelnen Vertriebs- und Kommunikationskanäle zu erfüllen. Daher richtet sich die Einführung eines PIM-System vor allem an Unternehmen aus dem E-Commerce. Aber auch für Hersteller, die Ihre Produkte an zahlreiche Lieferanten, Marktplätze, Online-Kataloge und weitere Kanäle distribuieren, stellt ein PIM-System eine immer wichtigere Rolle dar. Dies hängt unter anderem damit zusammen, dass auch die Einkäufer im B2B-Umfeld ein Einkaufserlebnis erwarten, dass den Ansprüchen aus dem B2C-Umfeld gerecht wird.

Die Zunahme des digitalen Handels über zahlreiche Kanäle verschärft branchenweit den Wettbewerb. In diesem Wettbewerb heben sich die Unternehmen ab, denen es gelingt, ihre Produkte schneller zu vermarkten und ihren Kunden durch vollständige und konsistente Produktinformationen einen Mehrwert im Informations- und Kaufentscheidungsprozess zu bieten. Die verschiedene Datenquellen für technische Spezifikationen, Lagerbestände, Preisinformationen, Produktbeschreibungen, Media Assets, etc. werden im PIM-System zentral gesammelt, bereinigt, angereichert und von dort aus an die unterschiedlichen Ausgabekanäle ausgespielt. PIM-Systeme stellen dadurch kanalübergreifend eine konsistente Produktkommunikation sicher, indem von zentraler Stelle aus sämtliche Touchpoints mit sauberen Daten bespielt werden.

„PIM is growing in importance as more eCommerce professionals are looking for ways to aggregate and manage product content across all channels in order to solve their business challenges. To compete in the age of omnichannel commerce, eCommerce experts need a common infrastructure to centralize their product information and create channelspecific product experiences that are optimized for each channel’s unique requirements and audience.“

Quelle: COMCAP “Product Information Management Overview”, 2020

PIM-Systeme sind vor allem bei Händlern und Herstellern im Einsatz, die Ihre Produktinformationen verschiedenen Marktplätzen (Amazon, eBay, Google Shopping usw.), mobilen Anwendungen, Social-Media-Kanälen (Instagram, Facebook, Pinterest usw.), Online-Katalogen, Printmedien, Lieferanten und sogar dem stationären Point of Sale bereitstellen. Unabhängig davon, ob ein Unternehmen 1.000, 10.000 oder über 1.000.000 Produkte vertreibt, ein PIM-System verhilft langfristig zu Kostensenkungen durch automatisierte Workflows in der Beschaffung, Anreicherung und Verteilung von Produktinformationen. Natürlich skaliert ein PIM-System mit der Anzahl der Ausgabekanäle, den Anforderungen an vollständige Produktdaten und der Anzahl an zu verwaltende Produkte.

Nachfolgend finden Sie weitere Merkmale, die darauf hinweisen, dass Ihr Unternehmen von einem PIM-System profitiert:

  • Datenchaos: Produktdaten werden an unterschiedlichen Stellen, sogenannten Datensilos, verwaltet. Jede Abteilung hat seine eigenen Workflows, wie und wo Produktdaten organisiert werden. Somit stellt sich für Ihr Unternehmen die Frage, wo sich die aktuellsten Daten zu einem Produkt befinden.
  • Hohe Retouren-Quoten: Ihre Kunden und Interessenten schicken Ihnen häufig Anfragen, da sie die Zweckmäßigkeit Ihrer Produkte nicht korrekt beurteilen können? Ihr Innendienst hat mit verhältnismäßig hohen Warenrückgaben zu kämpfen? Je besser die Informationen sind, die Sie in Ihrer Produktkommunikation präsentieren, desto fundiertere Kaufentscheidungen können Ihre Kunden treffen.
  • Herausforderung der Internationalisierung: Sie möchten Ihre Produkte außerhalb des deutschsprachigen Raums vermarkten? Der Pflegeaufwand für weitere Sprachen ist jedoch zu groß? Viele PIM-Systeme haben ein Übersetzungsmanagement integriert, um Übersetzungen einfach handzuhaben. Gleichzeitig kann über das Nutzer- und Rechtemanagement der Zugriff auf marktspezifische Produktinformationen definiert und gesteuert werden.  
  • Hoher Zeit- und Kostenaufwand für Produktkataloge: Sie erstellen regelmäßig Produktkataloge? Die Produktion kann sehr intensiv sein, vor allem wenn die Daten manuell erfasst und aus mehreren Quellen bezogen werden müssen. Viele PIM-Systeme verfügen über entsprechende Schnittstellen, um die Produktinformationen direkt in das Print-Medium, z.B. Adobe InDesign, automatisch auszuspielen. Dadurch wird der manuelle Aufwand in der Produktion und der Zeitaufwand bis zur Publikation drastisch verkürzt.
  • Zeitaufwendige Erfassung von Lieferantendaten: Sie müssen regelmäßig neue Produktdaten von Ihren Produktlieferanten manuell erfassen? Über ein PIM-System können Ihnen Lieferanten und Hersteller genau die Informationen zur Verfügung stellen, die Sie für Ihre Produktkommunikation benötigen. Durch die Definition von Qualitätskriterien lässt sich die Pflege und Qualitätssicherung der Produktdaten beim Lieferanten und Hersteller einfach steuern, ohne Qualitätsverluste befürchten zu müssen.

Welche Abteilungen arbeiten mit dem PIM-System?

Innerhalb eines Unternehmens sind es vor allem die Abteilungen Marketing, Vertrieb, Einkauf, Produktmanagement, Data Compliance und die IT, die sich mit der Pflege des PIM-Systems befassen. Über Nutzergruppen kann auch Interessensgruppen außerhalb des Unternehmens, wie Beispielsweise Lieferanten und Agenturen, Zugriff auf die zentralen Produktinformationen gegeben werden.

Ein PIM-System gewährt den unterschiedlichen Abteilungen entlang der Wertschöpfungskette einen schnellen Zugriff auf sämtliche Produktinformationen, wodurch die Zusammenarbeit vereinfacht und interne Arbeitsprozesse beschleunigt werden. Es ermöglicht zudem ein effizientes Onboarding für neue Partner und Lieferanten, indem sie Ihnen Informationen zu neuen Produkten intuitiv und schnell zur Verfügung stellen können.

“Teams that don’t have PIM tools risk palpable competitive disadvantage with content that’s inconsistent, meets only the minimum market requirements, and fails to engage customers. Teams that do use PIM win customers and expand their markets with product content that engages buyers and drives purchase decisions.”

Quelle: Senior E-Business Analyst Bruce Eppinger, Forrester Research

Fazit:

Die aufgeführten Problemstellungen und Herausforderungen im Omnichannel Commerce zeigen, dass ein PIM-System nicht bloß für große Unternehmen und Konzerne geeignet ist. Auch kleine und mittlere Unternehmen profitieren stark von einem zentralen Produktinformationsmanagement und der weitgehenden Automatisierung in der Verwaltung und Distribution von Daten, da sie über knappere personelle Ressourcen verfügen.

Wenn Ihnen einige der oben aufgeführten Herausforderungen im Tagesgeschäft bekannt vorkommen und Sie weitere Informationen oder praktische Einblicke erhalten möchten, wie Sie diese erfolgreich mit einem PIM-System meistern können, dann vereinbaren Sie gerne eine unverbindliche Online-Demo. Unsre Experten zeigen Ihnen die Vorteile eines PIM-Systems für Ihre Branche und Ihr Geschäftsmodell auf.

Weitere Beiträge:

Wie Digital Asset Management Ihr Video-Marketing revolutioniert

Immer mehr Unternehmen setzen auf Videomarketing als Teil ihrer digitalen Marketingstrategie. Zurecht, wie sich zeigt. Doch wie lassen sich die zunehmenden Anforderungen an multimedialen Inhalten erfolgreich meistern? Und wie können die zunehmenden Datenmengen erfolgreich verwaltet werden?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Was ist der Return of Experience? Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Neben dem ROI (Return of Investment), ist der ROX (Return of Experience) eine Kennzahl, die im E-Commerce eine große Rolle spielen sollte. Die Customer Experience entscheidet über Up- oder Cross-Selling und auch über die Bewertungen nach dem Kauf. Die direkte Verknüpfung zwischen der Kundenwahrnehmung, dem Kundenerlebnis und den tatsächlichen Verhaltensänderungen wird durch den ROX quantifiziert. Das Engagement der Mitarbeiter in den Serviceabteilungen der Unternehmen fließt ebenso in die Betrachtung des ROX ein. Ein PIM hilft dabei, die beste Datenqualität an allen Touchpoints zu liefern.

Mit einem PIM-System erfolgreich in die digitale Transformation 

Ein Product Information Management System (PIM) erleichtert die Digitalisierung von Produktdaten enorm und schafft Platz für andere Projekte. Eine gewagte These? Ja! Wir wissen, wie es wirklich geht und erklären in diesem Beitrag wie die Transformation gelingt.
Digitaler Wandel bedeutet, insbesondere für herstellende Unternehmen, den richtige Umgang mit Produktinformationen. Mit einem PIM-System werden Arbeitsabläufe vereinfacht und Informationen stehen zentral zur Verfügung.

Höhere Rankings mittels Product Listing Optimization

Wir alle wissen, dass SEO für den Erfolg eines Produkts unerlässlich ist. Aber auch die Product Listing Optimization (PLO) trägt maßgeblich zum Vermarktungserfolg eines Produkts bei. Sie ermöglicht es, den Produktinhalt an den Algorithmus der verschiedenen Kanäle anzupassen, um nachhaltig bessere Platzierungen zu erzielen.

Quick Commerce – der neue Trend für den Online-Handel

Nach E-Commerce kommt Q-Commerce. Bei Quick-Commerce (Q-Commerce) dreht sich alles um die Geschwindigkeit und darum, das beste Kundenerlebnis zu liefern. Und das innerhalb kürzester Zeit. Der Markt wächst rasant, momentan sind es hauptsächlich Lebensmittel, Medikamente sind jedoch das nächste Quick-Commerce-Segment.

Jetzt Vorteile live erleben

Lernen Sie prodexa Cloud für Ihre Branche in einer unverbindlichen und individuellen Produkttour kennen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Automobil und Fahrzeuge” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM mit Marktplatzfunktionen” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für den “Technischen Großhandel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Werkzeuge und DIY” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Maschinenbau und Technik” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Baustoffe und SHK” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Handel und B2B” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Elektronik und Kabel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.