News & Blog

"5 product filters customers expect when shopping online"

Excerpt: The use of product filters in e-commerce is crucial to help customers navigate through your products and ultimately make a purchase decision. In this article, we show which filters you need for an intelligent and effective filtering system.

Product filters are one of the most important factors in designing the customer experience. They allow products to be conveniently narrowed down in the online store and on marketplaces, so that the most relevant products are quickly suggested to customers.

"More than 60% of respondents say product search and navigation, and the ease with which products can be found as a result, are among the most important factors in their online shopping experience."

Source: Statista, The most important factors in online shopping (2020)

Why are product filters important?

Good product filters in e-commerce support buyers (both in the B2C and B2B environment) enormously in their product research, which significantly improves the performance in online marketing. Simple and intuitive product filters have a positive effect on user behavior in the online store or marketplace. Dwell times and add-to-cart conversions increase, while purchase decision processes are shortened. 

"In usability testing of 19 randomly selected online stores and benchmarking 50 major e-commerce platforms on the usability of product listings and filters, we found that 84% of sites provide a mediocre or poor filter experience. The most common reasons for this are a lack of important filtering options, poor filter design, and filter logic that doesn't align with user expectations."

Source: Baymard, Filtering Experience Research

Only 16% of the big e-commerce websites offer their customers a good filter experience. To make sure you are one of them in the future, we present the most important product filters below.

Indispensable product filters for e-commerce

  • Price filter: When making a purchase decision, price is one of the most important factors. In a stationary retail store, customers can get advice from a salesperson and ultimately be presented with products that fit their budget. In the online store or marketplace, this advice is not possible. Product and price filters are necessary here to pre-select the most relevant products from several hundred or thousand products. Price filters allow customers to search online for a specific product range that fits their budget and make comparisons between similarly priced products. Most commonly used in practice are price selection filters or customizable price range filters, as well as filters for selecting from the lowest to the highest price.
  • Product attribute filters: The importance of product attribute filters (size, color, material, weight, country of origin, etc.) depends on the product and the industry. End consumers (B2C) may be interested in different attributes than business customers (B2B). Therefore, retailers should be able to customize filters for the different e-commerce platforms according to the target group. The color filter is particularly popular in the area of fashion, furnishings and others. When a customer searches for a product in a specific color, such as “black jeans,” he does not want to have countless colorful pants suggested. Unwanted search results lead to a frustrating situation for the customer. In the worst case, the customer bounces and switches to the competitor’s offer, which takes better account of his preferences through more relevant search results. Size filtering, on the other hand, is helpful not only for clothing, but also for furniture, industrial tools, electronics, etc.
  • Product type filter: Adding a product type filter makes the search process simpler and easier. Regardless of how many product categories you carry in your e-commerce system, this filter is essential for a better shopping experience. Even if you only carry one category, such as “shoes,” adding product type filters for “running, outdoor, basketball, hiking, etc.” will help your customers find what they are looking for faster.
  • User reviews: Product descriptions and digital assets (images, videos, 360° visualizations, etc.) provide important basic information for online shopping. However, these are often not sufficient to make an in-depth purchase decision. That’s why a large number of online shoppers regularly rely on customer reviews. Product reviews help customers to get a better idea of the product without actually holding the product in their hands. At this point, it should be noted that only genuine, authentic customer testimonials strengthen customer trust. As obvious as this sounds, the greater the discrepancy in practice. According to the European Commission, 55% of websites violate EU law through manipulated and misleading reviews. Companies should therefore make sure to integrate only certified rating systems, such as Trusted Shops or Trustpilot, in their product filters.

"One in two reads online reviews before buying."

Source: Baymard, Filtering Experience Research
  • Brand filter: Since many customers are tied to specific brands or make brand-conscious purchases, it is important to perform brand filtering in the online store or marketplace. Especially for cross-selling and up-selling products, customers start their search with the industry-leading brands.

Conclusion

The relevance of certain selection criteria such as size, color, price, etc. varies from product to product. Depending on the article, availability and product group, product filters must deliver the appropriate results for each search query. Product filters are an important lever for optimizing the customer experience in e-commerce and accelerating the purchase decision process.

Learn how prodexa’s Product Information Management (PIM) system helps you organize your product data and implement relevant product filters in a free online demo.

More articles:

How Digital Asset Management can revolutionize your video marketing

More and more companies are turning to video marketing as part of their digital marketing strategy. With good reason, as it turns out. But how can the increasing demands on multimedia content be mastered successfully? And how can the increasing amounts of data be managed efficiently?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

What is the return of experience?

In addition to ROI (Return of Investment), ROX (Return of Experience) is a metric that should play a big role in e-commerce. Customer experience determines up-selling or cross-selling and also post-purchase reviews. The direct link between customer perception, customer experience and actual behavioral changes is quantified by ROX. The engagement of the employees in the service departments of the companies is also included in the consideration of the ROX. A PIM helps deliver the best quality data across all touchpoints.

Successfully entering the digital transformation with a PIM system 

A Product Information Management System (PIM) makes the digitization of product data much easier and frees up space for other projects. A daring thesis? Yes! We know how it really works and explain in this article how the transformation succeeds.
Digital transformation means, especially for manufacturing companies, the right handling of product information. With a PIM system, workflows are simplified and information is available centrally.

Higher rankings through Product Listing Optimization

We all know that SEO is essential for the success of a product. But Product Listing Optimization (PLO) also makes a significant contribution to the marketing success of a product. It makes it possible to adapt the product content to the algorithm of the various channels in order to achieve sustainably better rankings.

Quick Commerce – the new trend for online commerce

After e-commerce comes Q-commerce. Quick Commerce (Q-Commerce) is all about speed and delivering the best customer experience. And doing so within the shortest possible time. The market is growing rapidly, right now it’s mostly groceries, but pharmaceuticals are the next quick commerce segment.

Experience the benefits live

Find out more about prodexa Cloud for your industry in a non-binding and individual product tour.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Automotive & Vehicles” – download now for free (German version).

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM with marketplace features” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud – “PIM for technical wholesale” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Tools & DIY” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Mechanical Engineering & Technology” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Construction Materials, Sanitary & HVAC” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Commerce & B2B” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Electronics & Cables” – download now for free (German version).

News & Blog

"5 Produktfilter, die Kunden beim Online-Shopping voraussetzen"

Einführung: Der Einsatz von Produktfiltern im E-Commerce ist von entscheidender Bedeutung, um Kunden die Navigation durch Ihre Produkte und schließlich die Kaufentscheidung zu erleichtern. In diesem Beitrag zeigen wir auf, welche Filter Sie für ein intelligentes und effektives Filtersystem benötigen.

Produktfilter zählen bei der Gestaltung der Customer Experience mit zu den wichtigsten Faktoren. Sie erlauben ein komfortables Eingrenzen von Produkten im Online-Shop und auf Marktplätzen, sodass Kunden schnell die relevantesten Produkte vorgeschlagen bekommen.

„Über 60% der Befragten geben an, dass die Suche und Navigation und die damit verbundene einfache Auffindbarkeit von Produkten zu den wichtigsten Faktoren für das Online-Einkaufserlebnis zählen.“

Quelle: Statista, Die wichtigsten Faktoren beim Online-Einkauf (2020)

Warum sind Produktfilter wichtig?

Gute Produktfilter im E-Commerce unterstützen Käufer (sowohl im B2C-, als auch im B2B-Umfeld) bei ihrer Produktrecherche enorm, wodurch sich die Performance im Online-Marketing deutlich verbessert. Einfache und intuitive Produktfilter wirken positiv auf das Nutzerverhalten im Online-Shop oder auf dem Marktplatz. Verweildauern und Add-to-Cart-Konversionen erhöhen sich, während Kaufentscheidungsprozesse verkürzt werden.

"Bei Usability-Tests von 19 zufällig ausgewählten Onlineshops und einem Benchmarking von 50 großen E-Commerce-Plattformen in Bezug auf die Benutzerfreundlichkeit von Produktlisten und Filtern haben wir festgestellt, dass 84 % der Websites ein mittelmäßiges oder schlechtes Filtererlebnis bieten. Die häufigsten Gründe dafür sind das Fehlen wichtiger Filteroptionen, ein schlechtes Filterdesign und eine Filterlogik, die nicht mit den Erwartungen der Benutzer übereinstimmt."

Quelle: Baymard, Filtering Experience Research

Nur 16 % der großen E-Commerce-Websites bieten ihren Kunden ein gutes Filtererlebnis. Damit auch Sie zukünftig dazugehören, stellen wir Ihnen nachfolgend die wichtigsten Produktfilter vor.

Unverzichtbare Produktfilter für den E-Commerce

  • Preisfilter: Bei der Kaufentscheidung ist der Preis einer der wichtigsten Faktoren. In einem stationären Ladengeschäft können sich Kunden von einem Verkäufer beraten und schließlich Produkte präsentieren lassen, die in ihr Budget passen. Im Online-Shop oder Marktplatz ist diese Beratung nicht möglich. Produkt- und Preisfilter sind hier notwendig, um aus mehreren Hundert oder Tausend Produkten die relevantesten Produkte vorzuselektieren. Preisfilter ermöglichen es Kunden online nach einer bestimmten Produktpalette zu suchen, die ihrem Budget entspricht und Vergleiche zwischen gleichpreisigen Produkten anzustellen. Am häufigsten werden Preisauswahlfilter oder anpassbare Preisspannenfilter sowie Filter für die Auswahl vom niedrigsten zum höchsten Preis in der Praxis verwendet.
  • Produkttattribute-Filter: Die Wichtigkeit von Produktattribute-Filtern (Größe, Farbe, Material, Gewicht, Herkunftsland, etc.)  ist abhängig vom jeweiligen Produkt und der Branche. Endkonsumenten (B2C) interessieren sich wohlmöglich auch für andere Attribute als Gewerbekunden (B2B). Daher sollten Händler in der Lage sein, Filter für die unterschiedlichen E-Commerce-Plattformen zielgruppenspezifisch anzupassen. Der Farbfilter ist vor allem im Bereich Mode, Einrichtung und Co. beliebt. Wenn ein Kunde nach einem Produkt in einer bestimmten Farbe sucht, wie z. B. “schwarze Jeans”, möchte er nicht unzählige bunte Hosen vorgeschlagen bekommen. Unerwünschte Suchergebnisse führen zu einer frustrierenden Situation für den Kunden. Im schlimmsten Fall springt der Kunde ab und wechselt zum Angebot des Wettbewerbs, welches seine Präferenzen durch relevantere Suchergebnisse besser berücksichtigt. Eine Größenfilterung hingegen ist nicht nur bei Kleidung, sondern auch bei Möbeln, Industriewerkzeugen, Elektronik, etc. hilfreich.
  • Produkttyp-Filter: Das Hinzufügen eines Produkttyp-Filters macht den Suchprozess einfacher und leichter. Unabhängig davon, wie viele Produktkategorien Sie in Ihrem E-Commerce-System führen, ist dieser Filter für ein besseres Einkaufserlebnis von wesentlicher Bedeutung. Selbst wenn Sie nur eine Kategorie, z.B. “Schuhe” führen, wird das Hinzufügen von Produkttyp-Filtern für “Laufen, Outdoor, Basketball, Wandern, etc.” Ihren Kunden helfen, schneller das zu finden, wonach sie suchen.
  • Nutzerbewertungen: Produktbeschreibungen und digitale Assets (Bilder, Videos, 360°-Visualisierungen, etc.) liefern wichtige Basisinformationen beim Online-Shopping. Häufig reichen diese aber nicht aus, um eine fundierte Kaufentscheidung zu treffen. Deshalb greift ein Großteil der Online-Käufer regelmäßig auf Kundenbewertungen zurück. Produktbewertungen helfen Kunden, sich ein besseres Bild von dem Produkt zu machen, ohne das Produkt in der Hand zu halten. An dieser Stelle sei darauf hingewiesen, dass nur echte, authentische Kundenstimmen das Kundenvertrauen stärken. So selbstverständlich das klingt, desto größer ist die Diskrepanz in der Praxis. Laut der europäischen Kommission verstoßen 55 % der Websites durch manipulierte und irreführende Bewertungen gegen das EU-Recht. Unternehmen sollten daher darauf achten, ausschließlich zertifizierte Bewertungssysteme, wie z.B. Trusted Shops oder Trustpilot, in ihren Produktfiltern zu integrieren.

„Jeder Zweite liest Online-Bewertungen vor dem Kauf.“

Quelle: bitkom, Studie zum Online-Kaufverhalten (2020)
  • Brandfilter: Da viele Kunden an bestimmte Marken gebunden sind oder markenbewusst einkaufen, ist es wichtig, im Online-Shop oder Marktplatz eine Markenfilterung vorzunehmen. Vor allem bei Cross- und Up-Selling Produkten beginnen die Kunden ihre Suche mit den branchenführenden Marken.

Fazit

Die Relevanz bestimmter Auswahlkriterien wie Größe, Farbe, Preis, etc. ist von Produkt zu Produkt unterschiedlich. Je nach Artikel, Verfügbarkeit und Warengruppe müssen Produktfilter zu jeder Suchanfrage die passenden Ergebnisse liefern. Produktfilter sind eine wichtige Stellschraube, um die Customer Experience im E-Commerce zu optimieren und den Kaufentscheidungsprozess zu beschleunigen. 

Erfahren Sie in einer kostenlosen Online-Demo, wie das Produktinformations-Management-System (PIM) von prodexa Ihnen bei der Organisation Ihrer Produktdaten und der Implementierung von relevanten Produktfiltern hilft.

Weitere Beiträge:

Cross-Border-E-Commerce: Wieso PIM den Grundpfeiler setzt

Wir demonstrieren die wichtigsten Aufgaben, mit denen Händler und Hersteller bei der Ausrichtung ihres E-Commerce Angebotes auf neuen Märkten konfrontiert werden und erklären, weshalb ein PIM-System die Basis für die internationale Expansion darstellt.

Prozessoptimierung zwischen Lieferanten und Händlern mittels PIM

Produktdaten von zahlreichen Lieferanten und Herstellen manuell zu erfassen kann für Händler in sehr zeitaufwendige und fehleranfällige Prozesse münden. Wir zeigen auf, wie Händler durch ein intelligentes Lieferanten-Onboarding schnell und sicher Produktdaten übernehmen und dadurch skalierbare Workflows sicherstellen.

Die führenden Marktplätze und wie Sie erfolgreich auf ihnen verkaufen

Online-Marktplätze finden im B2B und B2C aufgrund Ihrer enormen Reichweite immer stärker Berücksichtigung bei der Gestaltung der eigenen E-Commerce-Strategie. Wir zeigen auf, welche Online-Marktplätze in Deutschland führend sind und geben Ihnen Tipps an die Hand, wie Sie Ihre Produkte
erfolgreich auf diesen vermarkten.

Wie Digital Asset Management Ihr Video-Marketing revolutioniert

Immer mehr Unternehmen setzen auf Videomarketing als Teil ihrer digitalen Marketingstrategie. Zurecht, wie sich zeigt. Doch wie lassen sich die zunehmenden Anforderungen an multimedialen Inhalten erfolgreich meistern? Und wie können die zunehmenden Datenmengen erfolgreich verwaltet werden?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Was ist der Return of Experience? Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Neben dem ROI (Return of Investment), ist der ROX (Return of Experience) eine Kennzahl, die im E-Commerce eine große Rolle spielen sollte. Die Customer Experience entscheidet über Up- oder Cross-Selling und auch über die Bewertungen nach dem Kauf. Die direkte Verknüpfung zwischen der Kundenwahrnehmung, dem Kundenerlebnis und den tatsächlichen Verhaltensänderungen wird durch den ROX quantifiziert. Das Engagement der Mitarbeiter in den Serviceabteilungen der Unternehmen fließt ebenso in die Betrachtung des ROX ein. Ein PIM hilft dabei, die beste Datenqualität an allen Touchpoints zu liefern.

Jetzt Vorteile live erleben

Lernen Sie prodexa Cloud für Ihre Branche in einer unverbindlichen und individuellen Produkttour kennen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Automobil und Fahrzeuge” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM mit Marktplatzfunktionen” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für den “Technischen Großhandel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Werkzeuge und DIY” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Maschinenbau und Technik” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Baustoffe und SHK” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Handel und B2B” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Elektronik und Kabel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.