News & Blog

"3 PIM features any e-commerce business can benefit from"

Excerpt: We show how a PIM system automatically takes over some of the most important disciplines for companies in e-commerce and helps to save enormous amounts of time in day-to-day business.

As we already mentioned in the article “PIM simply explained“, PIM systems focus on workflow automation, among other things. By minimizing manual processes, the aim is to reduce error rates in data maintenance, optimize cross-departmental collaboration, and accelerate the delivery of data to the relevant channels.

#1: PIM as your reliable data distributor

With a PIM system, companies can quickly distribute all necessary data and media assets to all relevant channels. In this way, they ensure consistent product communication in the onlineshop, on the website, in the product catalog, on the marketplaces and other brand contact points.

“As internet access and adoption are rapidly increasing worldwide, the number of digital buyers keeps climbing every year. In 2020, over two billion people purchased goods or services online, and during the same year, e-retail sales surpassed 4.2 trillion U.S. dollars worldwide. In the year of the pandemic, global retail e-commerce sales grew with more than 25 percent”.

Source: Statista “E-Commerce Worldwide – Statistics & Facts”, 2021

With the ever-growing number of digital buyers, companies must always keep their product information up to date so that their customers have quick access to all the important information for their information and purchasing process. If potential customers are missing important product information, they will quickly leave the channel and jump to the competitor’s offer. In times when customer experience is becoming increasingly important for differentiation, retailers also need to go beyond just selling products and nurture and strengthen their customer relationships with compelling content. To ensure an outstanding product experience, multimedia content such as images, videos, and 3D visualizations are therefore becoming increasingly important for state-of-the-art product communication.

Regardless of the amount of product data to be managed, PIM systems ensure the reliable distribution of up-to-date and complete product information. At the same time, PIM systems bring order to the tasks of teams. Companies agree that data security and monitoring are important. With a product information management system, they can conveniently manage their product data and the access to editing the data. Authorizations can be used to define specific roles in the system for different user groups. In this context, roles can also be managed at combined levels, e.g. for selected product categories, for certain attributes, for editing the original language or for the authorization to publish or delete the data records.

#2: PIM as a helpful sales navigator

To meet the specific needs of e-commerce companies, PIM systems have the important function of easily assigning products to individual groups. This makes it easier to categorize products and simplify the alignment of product attributes. The defined categories and attributes support customers in detailed product searches and product comparisons. The numerous filter options also enable improved navigation in the corresponding output channel. Customers and prospects find what they are looking for more quickly. Furthermore, a PIM system also creates relationships to related products, which makes it easier to exploit additional sales potential in e-commerce:

  • Recommendation of related products (cross-selling)
  • Suggestions for better versions of products with a higher price (up-selling)
  • Offers for spare parts
  • Recommendations for replacing old products with new ones

#3: PIM as your global advisor

“70% of online customers purchase from foreign websites and 80% of retailers around worldwide agree that cross-border trade has been profitable or sellers have successfully increased their sales as much as 1,000% after expanding their marketplace presence globally.”

Source: eMarketer “Global Ecommerce Forecast”, 2021

The globalization of the e-commerce market is progressing rapidly. Manufacturers and retailers should therefore increasingly consider selling abroad and recognize it as an opportunity to increase sales. For small and medium-sized companies in particular, it is also advantageous that opening up new markets via the Internet is possible without high investment and thus without major financial risks. Companies do not need a subsidiary or a sales force on site. Logistics are also not a major problem today, as the major parcel service providers now deliver to almost all countries.

Although economic and environmental factors are an increasingly minor barrier to internationalization, internationalization does present some technical challenges, such as

  • translating thousands of product information and digital assets (images, videos, documents, instructions, certificates, seals, etc.) into multiple languages
  • observing different currencies, scales, dates and times, and data formats for different audiences
  • the distribution of product information to foreign channels and marketplaces
  • the controlled access to specific product information for different stakeholders

The technical challenges listed can be successfully mastered with a good PIM system. The localized product data in the PIM system ultimately forms the basis for efficient expansion into new markets.

Find out more now

Feel free to contact us and learn more about how we can support you in your expansion plans in a non-binding online demo.

More articles:

Process optimization between suppliers and retailers using PIM

Manually collecting product data from numerous suppliers and manufacturers can result in very time-consuming and error-prone processes for retailers. We show how retailers can use intelligent supplier onboarding to transfer product data quickly and securely, thereby ensuring scalable workflows.

The leading marketplaces and how to sell successfully on them

Due to their enormous reach, online marketplaces are increasingly being taken into account in B2B and
B2C when designing their own e-commerce strategy. We show which online marketplaces are leading in
Germany and give you tips on how to market your products successfully on them.

How Digital Asset Management can revolutionize your video marketing

More and more companies are turning to video marketing as part of their digital marketing strategy. With good reason, as it turns out. But how can the increasing demands on multimedia content be mastered successfully? And how can the increasing amounts of data be managed efficiently?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

What is the return of experience?

In addition to ROI (Return of Investment), ROX (Return of Experience) is a metric that should play a big role in e-commerce. Customer experience determines up-selling or cross-selling and also post-purchase reviews. The direct link between customer perception, customer experience and actual behavioral changes is quantified by ROX. The engagement of the employees in the service departments of the companies is also included in the consideration of the ROX. A PIM helps deliver the best quality data across all touchpoints.

Experience the benefits live

Find out more about prodexa Cloud for your industry in a non-binding and individual product tour.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Automotive & Vehicles” – download now for free (German version).

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM with marketplace features” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud – “PIM for technical wholesale” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Tools & DIY” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Mechanical Engineering & Technology” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Construction Materials, Sanitary & HVAC” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Commerce & B2B” – download now for free (German version).

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud for the industry “Electronics & Cables” – download now for free (German version).

News & Blog

"3 PIM-Funktionen, von denen jedes E-Commerce-Unternehmen profitiert"

Einführung: Wir zeigen auf, wie ein PIM-System einige der wichtigsten Disziplinen für Unternehmen im E-Commerce automatisch übernimmt und zu enormen Zeitersparnissen im Tagesgeschäft verhilft.

Wie wir bereits im Artikel “PIM einfach erklärt” erwähnt haben, fokussieren PIM-Systeme unter anderem die Workflow-Automation. Durch die Minimierung von manuellen Prozessen sollen somit Fehlerquoten in der Datenpflege reduziert, die abteilungsübergreifende Zusammenarbeit optimiert und die Ausspielung von Daten in die relevanten Kanäle beschleunigt werden.

#1: PIM als zuverlässiger Datenverteiler

Mit einem PIM-System können Unternehmen alle notwendigen Daten und Medieninhalte schnell an alle relevanten Kanäle verteilen. Dadurch stellen sie eine konsistente Produktkommunikation im Onlineshop, auf der Website, im Produktkatalog, auf den Marktplätzen und weiteren Markenkontaktpunkten sicher.

“As internet access and adoption are rapidly increasing worldwide, the number of digital buyers keeps climbing every year. In 2020, over two billion people purchased goods or services online, and during the same year, e-retail sales surpassed 4.2 trillion U.S. dollars worldwide. In the year of the pandemic, global retail e-commerce sales grew with more than 25 percent”.

Quelle: Statista “E-Commerce Worldwide – Statistics & Facts”, 2021

Bei der stetig wachsenden Anzahl von digitalen Käufern müssen Unternehmen ihre Produktinformationen stets auf dem neuesten Stand halten, damit ihre Kunden alle wichtigen Informationen für ihren Informationsbeschaffungs- und Kaufprozesses schnell im Zugang haben. Fehlen potenziellen Kunden wichtige Produktinformationen, werden sie den Kanal schnell wechseln und zum Angebot des Wettbewerbers springen. In Zeiten, in der die Customer Experience immer wichtiger zur Differenzierung wird, müssen Händler zudem über den reinen Verkauf von Produkten hinausgehen und ihre Kundenbeziehungen mit überzeugenden Inhalten pflegen und festigen. Um ein hervorragendes Produkterlebnis sicherzustellen, werden daher auch multimediale Inhalte wie Bilder, Videos oder 3D-Visualisierungen immer wichtiger für die zeitgemäße Produktkommunikation.

Unabhängig von der Menge der zu verwaltenden Produktdaten sorgen PIM-Systeme für die zuverlässige Verteilung aktueller und vollständiger Produktinformationen. PIM-Systeme bringen gleichzeitig Ordnung in die Aufgaben von Teams. Unternehmen sind sich einig, dass die Sicherheit und Kontrolle von Daten wichtig sind. Mit einem Produktinformationsmanagement können sie Ihre Produktdaten und den Zugang zur Bearbeitung der Daten komfortabel verwalten. Über Berechtigungen können für verschiedene Benutzergruppen bestimmte Rollen im System definiert werden. In diesem Zusammenhang lassen sich auch Rollen auf kombinierten Ebenen verwalten, z. B. für ausgewählte Produktkategorien, für bestimmte Attribute, für die Bearbeitung der Originalsprache oder für die Berechtigung zum Veröffentlichen oder Löschen der Datensätze.

#2: PIM als hilfreicher Sales-Navigator

Um den spezifischen Bedürfnissen von E-Commerce-Unternehmen gerecht zu werden, verfügen PIM-Systeme über die wichtige Funktion, Produkte einzelnen Gruppen einfach zuzuordnen. Dadurch lassen sich Produktkategorisierungen einfacher vornehmen und die Ausrichtung von Produktattributen vereinfachen. Die definierten Kategorien und Attribute unterstützen Kunden bei detaillierten Produktsuchen und Produktvergleichen. Die zahlreichen Filtermöglichkeiten ermöglichen zudem eine verbesserte Navigation im entsprechenden Ausgabekanal. Kunden und Interessenten finden schneller wonach sie suchen. Ferner stellt ein PIM-System auch Verlinkungen zu verwandten Produkten her, wodurch sich zusätzliche Umsatzpotenziale im E-Commerce besser ausschöpfen lassen:

  • Empfehlung von verwandten Produkten zum gemeinsamen Kauf (Cross-Selling)
  • Vorschläge für bessere Versionen der Produkte mit höherem Preis (Up-Selling)
  • Angebote für Ersatzteile
  • Empfehlungen für das Ersetzen alter Produkte durch neue Produkte

#3: PIM als globaler Türöffner

“70% of online customers purchase from foreign websites and 80% of retailers around worldwide agree that cross-border trade has been profitable or sellers have successfully increased their sales as much as 1,000% after expanding their marketplace presence globally.”

Quelle: eMarketer “Global Ecommerce Forecast”, 2021

Die Globalisierung des E-Commerce-Marktes geht rapide voran. Hersteller und Händler sollten den Verkauf ins Ausland daher zunehmend berücksichtigen und als Chance zur Absatzsteigerung erkennen. Gerade für kleine und mittlere Unternehmen ist es auch von Vorteil, dass die Erschließung neuer Märkte über das Internet ohne hohe Investitionen und damit ohne große finanzielle Risiken möglich ist. Unternehmen benötigen weder eine Niederlassung noch eine Vertriebsmannschaft vor Ort. Auch die Logistik stellt heute kein großes Problem dar, da die großen Paketdienstleister mittlerweile in fast alle Länder liefern.

Obwohl die wirtschaftlichen und umweltbedingten Faktoren eine immer kleinere Hürde für die Internationalisierung darstellen, so bringt die Internationalisierung doch einige technische Herausforderungen mit sich, wie z. B.

  • die Übersetzung von Tausenden Produktinformationen und digitalen Assets (Bilder, Videos, Dokumente, Anleitungen, Zertifikate, Siegel, etc.) in mehrere Sprachen
  • die Berücksichtigung von unterschiedlichen Währungen, Größenangaben, Datums- und Zeitangaben und Datenformaten für die unterschiedlichen Zielgruppen
  • die Verteilung von Produktinformationen an ausländische Kanäle und Marktplätze
  • der kontrollierte Zugriff auf bestimmte Produktinformationen für unterschiedliche Interessensgruppen

Die aufgeführten technischen Herausforderungen lassen sich mit einem guten PIM-System erfolgreich meistern. Die lokalisierten Produktdaten im PIM-System bilden schließlich die Basis für eine effiziente Erschließung neuer Märkte.

Jetzt mehr erfahren

Nehmen Sie gerne Kontakt zu uns auf und erfahren Sie in einer unverbindlichen Online Demo mehr darüber, wie wir Sie bei Ihren Expansionsplänen unterstützen können.

Weitere Beiträge:

Cross-Border-E-Commerce: Wieso PIM den Grundpfeiler setzt

Wir demonstrieren die wichtigsten Aufgaben, mit denen Händler und Hersteller bei der Ausrichtung ihres E-Commerce Angebotes auf neuen Märkten konfrontiert werden und erklären, weshalb ein PIM-System die Basis für die internationale Expansion darstellt.

Prozessoptimierung zwischen Lieferanten und Händlern mittels PIM

Produktdaten von zahlreichen Lieferanten und Herstellen manuell zu erfassen kann für Händler in sehr zeitaufwendige und fehleranfällige Prozesse münden. Wir zeigen auf, wie Händler durch ein intelligentes Lieferanten-Onboarding schnell und sicher Produktdaten übernehmen und dadurch skalierbare Workflows sicherstellen.

Die führenden Marktplätze und wie Sie erfolgreich auf ihnen verkaufen

Online-Marktplätze finden im B2B und B2C aufgrund Ihrer enormen Reichweite immer stärker Berücksichtigung bei der Gestaltung der eigenen E-Commerce-Strategie. Wir zeigen auf, welche Online-Marktplätze in Deutschland führend sind und geben Ihnen Tipps an die Hand, wie Sie Ihre Produkte
erfolgreich auf diesen vermarkten.

Wie Digital Asset Management Ihr Video-Marketing revolutioniert

Immer mehr Unternehmen setzen auf Videomarketing als Teil ihrer digitalen Marketingstrategie. Zurecht, wie sich zeigt. Doch wie lassen sich die zunehmenden Anforderungen an multimedialen Inhalten erfolgreich meistern? Und wie können die zunehmenden Datenmengen erfolgreich verwaltet werden?

Was ist der Return of Experience Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Was ist der Return of Experience? Werden Sie zum ROX-Star!

Neben dem ROI (Return of Investment), ist der ROX (Return of Experience) eine Kennzahl, die im E-Commerce eine große Rolle spielen sollte. Die Customer Experience entscheidet über Up- oder Cross-Selling und auch über die Bewertungen nach dem Kauf. Die direkte Verknüpfung zwischen der Kundenwahrnehmung, dem Kundenerlebnis und den tatsächlichen Verhaltensänderungen wird durch den ROX quantifiziert. Das Engagement der Mitarbeiter in den Serviceabteilungen der Unternehmen fließt ebenso in die Betrachtung des ROX ein. Ein PIM hilft dabei, die beste Datenqualität an allen Touchpoints zu liefern.

Jetzt Vorteile live erleben

Lernen Sie prodexa Cloud für Ihre Branche in einer unverbindlichen und individuellen Produkttour kennen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Automobil und Fahrzeuge” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

GRATIS DOWNLOAD
prodexa Cloud im aktuellen Report (2022) von TGOA: Erfahren Sie im aktuellen Report von “The Group of Analysts”, wie prodexa Cloud im Branchenvergleich abschneidet.
Download Report

prodexa Cloud im Report von “The Group of Analysts” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud “PIM mit Marktplatzfunktionen” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für den “Technischen Großhandel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Werkzeuge und DIY” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Maschinenbau und Technik” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Baustoffe und SHK” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Handel und B2B” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.

Download Whitepaper

prodexa Cloud für die Branche “Elektronik und Kabel” – jetzt kostenlos runterladen.